We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best customer service in Portugal - a unique place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best customer service in Portugal - a unique place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Having been a regular visitor to Northern Portugal over the last 6 years I can only say I wish I'd found João and Quinta Bouca d'Arques sooner! João has made the farm an amazing place to stay and his hospitality and help have been fantastic on both of our visits.

I was impressed with the service before we had even arrived as João and his colleague had sent a text message so I had a mobile number to phone should I get lost on the way...It is a bit tricky to find, in fact I ended up stopping at a pharmacy a few miles away and after a lengthy debate with almost the entire village a very kind lady insisted we follow her all the way to the Quinta! The friendliness of the people here is quite special, as is Quinta da Bouca. João's colleague was there to greet us when we arrived and was so friendly and helpful that we instantly felt at home.

On both occasions we travelled with my daughter aged 8 and on the second visit we invited friends with 2 young children to travel with us. For a peaceful family holiday it was idyllic. The children loved the swimming pool and kept themselves busy all day playing and swimming. The gardens are beautiful and we had use of the farm's BBQ and had some gorgeous evenings sat out sampling the wine from the local vineyard! João's attentive yet unobtrusive manner meant that we felt we had been looked after like VIP guests!

This is the kind of place you can really relax - the rooms are great; spacious, clean and I love the design of the modern wing. Easy to see why it has won awards for design. There are lots of great places to visit nearby - Ponte de Lima is a favourite of mine, but you could easily spend a whole weekend relaxing at the Quinta. It is a unique blend of traditional Portuguese charm and modern day convenience - free Wifi is a real bonus as is the DVD player if you are traveling with young children. The breakfast delivered to your room is fantastic and we looked forward to sampling the different jams etc each day.

Overall a place that I cannot fault. My favourite place to stay in Portugal. We loved it and really look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadyneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
112
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

What a place!! Really, this small lodge is perfect for spending some quality time with your friends, very unique. The gardens are very beautiful, the woods that surrounds the place are perfect to do some exercise, they even have bicycles for the guests. The rooms are very cozy (in a charming kind of way) and the owners are very friendly and always available for helping in whatever we need. We're already planning in coming back this year after the summer :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Driving along after coming from Porto we were searching for a place to stay rather than a common hotel. The staff confirmed availability and offered a good rate (even though we only stayed for 2 nights).
Cozy environment and a remarkable living room with music to be played by us and a coffe machine, available all night.
The rooms are not rooms... are houses! Each one with a different name and decoration. We stayed at a pink one with typical decoration, but highly trendy.
Beds are large and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos-martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Looking for a place to stay at an "non-touristic" place in Portugal, we found Quinta Bouça D'Arques. The rooms are spacious, it is located between vines and a magical wood and it tasted lovely to stay at a modern and highly cared place. A small hotel unit has we wanted... Attentive staff bringing us breakfast to our house at the desired time, massage service on request, small shop with tradition products and a swimming pool I will definitely will try next Summer.
The garden, located at the centre of the houses offer great sense of tranquility and invites you to enjoy a glass of wine wrapped in blankets.

Really... the unknown hidden places with such huge spectacularity are the ones that feel better to discover!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catarinavarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
6.1 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#4 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
5.3 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#7 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bouca d'Arques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bouca d'Arques

Property: Quinta da Bouca d'Arques
Address: Rua Abreu Teixeira, 333 | 4905-641 Vila de Punhe, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Bouca d'Arques 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please change our classification to 4 stars ! Quinta da Bouca d'Arques is a beautifully restored Manor House in the Minho region of Portugal. The owners of this small chic hotel Ana and Joao have taken the road less travelled in renovating this beautiful house; they have moved away from traditional materials and have used iron, glass and concrete throughout the property creating a modern fresh feel in all of the 7 casas.AccommodationQuinta da Bouca d'Arques has 7 casas, all one-bedroom apart from the two-bedroom Casa da Lavanda. Antique wooden and wrought iron beds are mixed with power showers and contemporary colour palettes. Each casa has its own balcony, living room, outside area and kitchenette and all come with LCD TVs with Satellite, CD & DVD players and WiFi. Two of these luxury cottages have air-conditioning. Breakfast is prepared and left in the fridge and fresh bread is delivered every day to the room. This ensures that guests can enjoy breakfast at their leisure wherever they like.ActivitiesIn a corner of this small hotel there is a charming small wooden house where children can play. Beaches are just 15 minutes away by car and are just as good as the beaches in the South of Portugal. The swimming pool is in the garden and is treated with salt rather than chlorine. Mountain bikes are supplied to guests and there are 3 great golf courses within 30 minutes of Quinta da Bouca d'Arques. For those who wish to be pampered, take a relaxing massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta da Bouca d'Arques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing