We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel A Ponte(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Calatrava(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Castrum Villae(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flor de Sal Hotel(Viana do Castelo)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laranjeira(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pousada Viana Do Castelo(Viana do Castelo)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel(Viana do Castelo)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quinta da Bouca d'Arques(Viana do Castelo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta do Monteverde(Castelo do Neiva)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
32
58
18
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
58
18
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Tripadvisor reviews helped me choose this hotel for a 2 night stay. In a good central location to the old town this was a gem of a hotel lovely room great views the only fly in the ointment was that we had to fix the shower in the room so it would hold up so we could have a shower. the breakfast was good too. when we booked in there was a large stage almost opposite and sound tests were being held. We waited with bated breath but a band played into the night it was free and was finished at about midnight, this was an added bonus to our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bashbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiSousa81, Manager at Hotel Jardim Viana Do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thanks for you rate in Trip Advisor. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

This really does the job and ticks all the boxes. Yes, it is quite traditional and a little old-fashioned. But it's also rare that you see such large, airy and well-appointed rooms. Absolutely everything works and the place is spotless. The location by the river (and the wonderful Dolce Viana pizzeria) is great and it's close to the children's playground too. Its a great place if you want to do what the locals do and enjoy a late evening stroll. The rooms are very quiet and well sound-proofed (double glazing and shutters) All the staff at the hotel were friendly, cheerful and extremely patient with me whenever I tried out my basic Portuguese! We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigger42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We arrived by train (from Spain on our way back to the US) and had no idea where the hotel was. Turned out it was a block from the train station. Great location in a beautiful old city. The people were so nice and helpful. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are basic, very clean, and kind of small. Very inexpensive! Great restaurants nearby. I would go back should I ever return to this charming little city!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni57_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I really liked the Residencial Jardim. It's an old building along the riverfront, a little bit quirky, but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Staff are pleasant and helpful. While they don't speak English we communicated with ease in school French. Our room was larger than average and overlooked the river-front in the pleasant, historic town of Viana do Castelo. The bed was very comfortable and the room was old-fashioned but in a cheerful way, with dark wood furniture and shutters, welcome safeguards against the heat. There is very efficient air-conditioning there too. I never thought I'd take to a bathroom with porcelain in shades of mango, but somehow, it was appealing. Breakfast was decent too. Well-located and very good value; I'd definitely recommend it.
A word of warning, and nothing at all to do with the hotel, but if you're staying in Viana, don't get hustled into eating at the 'Bingo Café', further down along the waterfront. It masquerades as a good fish restaurant but these guys are at best amateurs and at worst crooks trying to make a quick buck. They present you with two different menus with complicated combinations and pricing systems. We fell for it and had the most expensive and worst meal of our two week tour of Portugal here, nearly sixty euros for what amounted to a few grilled sardines and some squid with salad and boiled potatoes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingmaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We spent 3 days during the 2012 summer. Nice and very cleaned room, a little bit to small the bathroom but in general it worth the cost because it's cheap. You can have the hill view or the ocean view. Perfect position (anyway Viana it's really small so all the lacations might be ok) and fair breakfast. No wi-fi but free use computer in the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getamove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews