We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Flor de Sal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flor de Sal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Great views (do not forget to book a room with sea view!), very clean and comfortable. Plesant meals at a reasonable price. Very nice staff! A place to rest and share with people you love. Loved it!

Room Tip: Always book sea view rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OportoSpring2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Flor de Sal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

It's very very good in all aspects

Maria from Portugal

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We spent 4 nights in this Hotel, in order to relax and to visit Viana do Castelo and neighboring cities. Viana do Castelo is a very beautiful city and deserves a visit, undoubtedly! But....Flor do Sal Hotel NO!! You pay a lot and receive almost zero! The builiding is modern but very basic...almost no decoration, no charm, no refinement, no added value.

Room: very basic, all the room is white and monotonous. The furniture is uggly and it seems very cheap! The bathroom, basic too! I didn't understand how the charge that prices for such a so poor thing!!!

Breakfast: very poor, always the same things every morning. The satff is rude, unwilling to serve or help the client. Dislike a lot!!

Dinner: In the first night, we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant. First, they made us wait a lot for a table, even though we were seeing free tables in the room. And the waiter hadn't any kindness with us! Rude!! Second, the menu was very poor, the food wasn't good and the orange juice as AWFULL!!! Third, the ambience of the restaurant is decrepit and sad! The uniforms of the employees are so ugly! they're brown and old....employees seemed all but one restaurant of a four star hotel!! Terrible!! The other nights we went also for dinner outside.

SPA/Fitness center: I dind't like it. It's a gym, frequented by locals. It's not private for the hotel's guests!! And the sea front area, with the swimming pool and jacuzzi is very narrow and a litlle dirty! Lots of people there! And you MUST PAY if you want to use the water jets and thalasso facilities... The impression we took was that the orientation is only to make money, instead of give the client a added value experience. The staff here is rude too.

The only good thing is the view, the hotel is sea front. But if you don't stay in the ocean view rooms, you get no advantage of it. You can either do beach here, there's only rocks.

Overall, I will never come back to stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Ocean View room
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I cant understand the prices.
The hotel is awfull, the rooms are sterile and the staff is extremely rude. I cant even understand why the hotel has 4 stars. It should be a 2 stars hotel. I would never recomend this hotel to anyone. It's really awfull

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anti200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

The hotel is very modern, trendy and at seafront. Together with the hotel is a sports club and wellness, which is frequently used from outside people (locals). The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a good standart. For Dinner you have better choices in the area. The only and big problem is the location. Around the hotel, there are no residences or nature, only industrie, schools and a restaurant. Also the coast walk in front of the hotel is concret and not very nice. For beaches, you need the car. If you are traveling for leisure and holiday, this part of viana do castelo isn't worth to stay. We stayed two nights at different dates, both times we could smell a bad air from the nearby industrie. This was a very bad experience. If you are traveling for business, we can recommend the hotel. The location of the hotel must be at least 10km up or down the coastline, then the Flor de Sal Hotel would be first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Wonderful hotel with a magnificent view.

the staff is very helpful and the my room was something astonishing.

i'm sure i 'll get back

ps: a bit expensive

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Costa_Alves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

You have the sea at your feet!
The hotel is very beautiful. Big room with a good bathroom and an amazing terrace with a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. The breakfast could be better and the eggs were always running out and not filled again. But overall it was a very good stay in a very beautiful city. I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
1.7 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#7 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
Pousada Viana Do Castelo
#4 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#3 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel FeelViana
Hotel FeelViana
#5 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
Casa Melo Alvim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#13 of 26 in Viana do Castelo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor de Sal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor de Sal Hotel

Address: Avenida de Cabo Verde | Praia Norte, Viana do Castelo 4900-568, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range: £103 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flor de Sal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flor de Sal is a 4 stars Hotel located in the beautiful city of Viana do Castelo, 70 kms north of Porto. The Hotel is on the coast, facing the Atlantic Ocean and benefits from superb sea views. Located within breathtaking surroundings, the Hotel offers quality accommodation and a great variety of leisure activities. The interior has been carefully decorated to include a number of touches of modern design. Opened in December 2004, Flor de Sal Hotel has 60 bedrooms, including a luxury suite, two executive suites, six Junior suites and two rooms suitable for guests with disabilities. All rooms are comfortably furnished, and equipped with a mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, air conditioning, cable TV and direct telephone line. Flor de Sal has 32 rooms with sea view, all with their own private balcony or terrace. For business meetings or company events, the Hotel l has 3 conference rooms facing the Atlantic Ocean and an auditorium which seats 150. The Hotel also has a 2000 square meters Health Club & SPA, with hairdressers, gym, massage facilities and two heated salty water swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flor de Sal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing