We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flor de Sal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flor de Sal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent one night here for my husband's 40th birthday after a two week trip through Portugal. Staff: extremely friendly and surprised us with a bottle of champagne for his birthday, very thoughtful. The room: beautiful, exactly like the photos, modern, clean lines and amazing ocean view from the balcony. Huge bathroom and huge comfortable bed. Free wifi and parking. the hotel restaurant was extremely good. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engela001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    94
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
106
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oleiros, Spain
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel located in Viana do Castelo. Ask for a room with sea views. Clean with excellent staff & right on the beach. The hotel is also located within a 10-15 minute walk of the two best restaurants in the town tasquinha da Linda & Valentin.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruaolmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Good view to the sea. The social areas are very confortable. The rooms seams to be missing something...the bathroom is big, but is very basic.
The beakfast could be better. For the price i woul expect a little better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio_cf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stay at this hotel just because it is very close to the place where I go to work when I am in Viana do Castelo. I came here for the first time in 2009, and I stayed for periods ranging from 3 days to 2 weeks, 2 or three times per year, but never during summer months except the last time. Reading the other reviews, I agree on some points but I completely disagree on others. Eventually, I can state that:
01) having a sea-view room is much, much better than the others rooms whose price should be halved ...
02) the rooms are larger than other 4-star hotel in which I stayed.
03) the furniture is simple and essential but I like it.
04) the bathroom is large and comfortable.
05) the staff is kind and polite (no sign of rudeness, even if I noted that there were some changes from a staying to the other, so I can't exclude that ugly guys had been working at the hotel for some time).
06) I never took advantage of the spa tough it is true that "locals" are there.
07) the restaurant is very good but in my opinion is too expensive and the menu does not offer many options. Back in 2011, it was possible to choose the self-service/smorgasboard. There was a lot of food to try and taste and the price was very reasonable. However, that time has gone ...
08) the breakfast is one of the best I have ever experienced.
09) I am not able to judge if this is a 4-star hotel or a 2-star: what I know is that it is clean and quiet.
10) it is expensive with respect to other non-Portuguese hotels in which I stayed. I want to highlight that my Portuguese experience is limited to this hotel.
11) the beach in front of the hotel is rocky. You had better go to the beaches not so far the hotel.
12) the hotel is not close to the city center but it is not such a long walk.
13) the hotel could be a "base-camp" while exploring the many interesting places of the Minho region.
14) Take into account that Viana do Castelo is not a sea-oriented city as Rimini in Italy, for instance. The wind blows continuously and if you like to sun-bath, then you have to arrange some tent or tarpaulin as the locals do. Besides, the Atlantic Ocean water is completely different from the water of the Adriatic Sea, for instance. It is much colder, having a bath may be a freezing experience. If you have children, pay extra attention!

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms, no doubt. The second-floor rooms are the best. The other rooms offer a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItOughtaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great views from the rooms, when we wake up we have a fantastic view over the ocean. A very nice and a good place to dine. The public palces are quite nice and the hotel have modern lines and very welcoming. Whenever the Viana do Castelo, will be sure where I stand, advise the hotel and the city for a weekend with the family, with your girlfriend or wife.

Room Tip: Sea view, but I believe all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hanging over the sea cliffs, a modern and good taste hotel with a a giant spa with everything you need.
The restaurant could be better but the people are nice and anyhow ther's lots of GREAT restaurants in Viana de Castelo.

You should visit Gil Eanes a former boat hospital of the portuguese fishing fleet

Room Tip: Choose 114 Is the best one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espinho, Portugal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This 4 star hotel is far better than some 5* hotels I know.

The location and facilities are very good, comfortable and modern.

The balcony in the rooms is a great place for sunset.

The restaurant is also great in quality and price.

Room Tip: The rooms in the top floor have a wider view to the sea coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viana do Castelo hotels
1.1 mi away
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Charming Hotel
Pousada De Viana Do Castelo Char...
#3 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel
#6 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel
#4 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Laranjeira
Hotel Laranjeira
#5 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rali Viana
Hotel Rali Viana
#9 of 27 in Viana do Castelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quinta do Monteverde
Quinta do Monteverde
#1 of 1 in Castelo do Neiva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor de Sal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor de Sal Hotel

Property: Flor de Sal Hotel
Address: Avenida de Cabo Verde | Praia Norte, Viana do Castelo 4900-568, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Viana do Castelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Viana do Castelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Flor de Sal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flor de Sal is a 4 stars Hotel located in the beautiful city of Viana do Castelo, 70 kms north of Porto. The Hotel is on the coast, facing the Atlantic Ocean and benefits from superb sea views. Located within breathtaking surroundings, the Hotel offers quality accommodation and a great variety of leisure activities. The interior has been carefully decorated to include a number of touches of modern design. Opened in December 2004, Flor de Sal Hotel has 60 bedrooms, including a luxury suite, two executive suites, six Junior suites and two rooms suitable for guests with disabilities. All rooms are comfortably furnished, and equipped with a mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, air conditioning, cable TV and direct telephone line. Flor de Sal has 32 rooms with sea view, all with their own private balcony or terrace. For business meetings or company events, the Hotel l has 3 conference rooms facing the Atlantic Ocean and an auditorium which seats 150. The Hotel also has a 2000 square meters Health Club & SPA, with hairdressers, gym, massage facilities and two heated salty water swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Flor de Sal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing