We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous period features”
Review of Welburn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welburn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Welburn B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous period features”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had a great weekend stay at this lovely B&B,furnished to a very high standard with period features perfectly suited to the old building,however the bathroom was very modern with a fantastic shower.Steve and Stella were perfect hosts,nothing was too much trouble for them,gave us great advise on local restaurants and places to visit.Great choice for breakfast and all cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
122
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have just arrived home after a enjoyable two nights at Welburn Lodge you cannot fault anything STELLA and STEVE are the perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble .The cleanliness and attention to detail in the rooms and an amazing breakfast what more can you ask for away from home .their is such alot of places to visit dont miss CASTLE HOWARD only ten minutes from WELBURN lodge

Room Tip: all three are spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckworth644363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have never written a review before but after the wonderful weekend my husband and I have just experienced at Welburn Lodge I felt compelled to break the habit of a lifetime.

Both Stella and Steve were amazingly accommodating of our last minute break (about 7 hours notice!!!), they did everything they could and more to make our stay special and we will definitely return again. I can see why they have a gold award for their breakfasts but am baffled as to why they don't have a 5 star gold rating full stop!!!

Everything about our stay at Welburn Lodge went over and above what we expected, Stella, your breakfasts are beautiful (in particular the sausages) and Steve, the little information sheets/maps for visiting nearby places, York, Malton, etc, are a godsend, thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianr78
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at Welburn lodge for 2 nights to attend a wedding at castle howard. I spoke to Stella on the phone during the booking and nothing seemed to be to much of a problem from a late arrival to offering to book us a taxi to and from the venue.

We stayed in the Minster room and it was gorgeous, a very comfortable bed, great bath room and immaculately clean. We were a bit worried about the road noise, but found it not to be a problem at all.

The breakfast was superb and set us up on both days. Stella and Steve were on hand both days to offer tips on what to do during the day and couldn't have been more friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for two nights at Welburn Lodge and loved every minute. Stella and Steve are fantastic hosts. Two of the friendliest, most genuine people we have ever met running a B&B. The room was immaculate and the attention to detail was exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and hearty. We'll definitely like to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from a short stay mainly to visit Castle Howard. Excellent B and B with super breakfasts and delightful, thoughtful hosts. Stella and Steve even bought my husband a birthday card together with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A truly warm welcome from Stella & Steve upon arrival, despite being some three hours early!
We booked primarily to visit Castle Howard and found so many other places nearby, from a walk to Kirkham Priory to Fish & Chips in the local pub.
The Welburn Lodge, a unique B&B at the entrance of Castle Howards former private railway Station.. Period details abound the property to its exterior where upon you are greeted by two stone griffins at the gate and a pretty secluded garden beyond.
We booked the “Priory” room as we requested a en-suite with a bath and shower so we could have a long soak after having walked around the various attractions during the day.
The decor of the bedroom is in keeping with the style of the Lodge There is also the inevitability of the 20th Century from the flat screen TV & DVD player & internet access. Steve and Stella have a wealth of DVD’S to choose from, why not watch Brideshead Revisited before you go to Castle Howard.
There is abundant information of places to visit and eat in the local area and Steve & Stella will gladly guide you dependent upon your own preferences.
Breakfast is served in a quaint breakfast room with enchanting furniture matching the gothic architecture of the lodge with framed pictures of the Victorian Era of surrounding sites. There are some lovely pictures of the lodge back in the days before Welburn Lodge became a Luxury B&B.
Every combination of a full English breakfast is catered for with local produce black pudding and bacon from Castle Howard Estate. Why not try the Kippers from Whitby... with scrambled eggs and bacon. My only regret we didn’t try the homemade porridge laced with “Baileys” a must on our next visit.
Looking for a reason to Visit again Soon is a must
Nick & Sue
Stockport
Greater Manchester

Room Tip: Slept like Lord, Breakfast Like a King
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yeti710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welburn
4.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
4.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
Suddaby's Crown Hotel
#4 of 4 in Malton
21 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ham & Cheese Country Inn
4.9 mi away
The Cresswell Arms
The Cresswell Arms
#1 of 14 in Malton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welburn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welburn Lodge

Property: Welburn Lodge
Address: Welburn Lodge Castle Howard Station Road, Welburn, Malton YO60 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Malton > Welburn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Welburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Castle Howard and only 13 miles from the City of York Welburn Lodge is in an enviable location for most of the major visitor attractions of North Yorkshire. Welburn Lodge is a grade II listed property and a fine example of gothic revival architecture. Unlike most B&B's the guest and owners accommodation are completely separate including the enchanting guest garden. Beautifully furnished rooms have individual styles with modern and spacious ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welburn Lodge North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing