We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa C Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila do Conde
Reviewed 29 July 2011

In fact, we stayed in this hotel in February'10, and only for a night. It was a romantic escape. We enjoyed the room, it was confortable and nice. The bathroom is basic. There was no hot water, so we claimed. They said that there was a problem and they were trying to fix it. They told us to wait... but the time was passing and still no hot water. So, we had to take bath in cold water! My husband claimed, he wrote an e-mail, after leaving the hotel. The director was comprehensive and refund us in the half of the value we had payed. So, in the end we were satisfied. We also used the indoor swimming pool and relax facilites. The area is nice but it was crowded with families, kids and persons with only made noise!! It was disturbing try to relax in such an ambience. Although they call the surrounded area of the pool "Relaxing Area", it's impossible to get some rest there.
We had breakfast in the room, it was nice. The staff is very nice and there is a zen scent in the halls going to the rooms. We appreciated that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

The hotel is locares in the outskirts of Vila do Conde.. It is new, well appointed. hás a very Nice índoor pool
Excelent service.
Best choice in vila do conde

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed several times at this hotel as we absolutely love the quietness of Vila do Conde for a weekend "detox" from routine, stress... And we also love this hotel, despite some not so important inconvenients we had in the past (and that's why we always come back ;)).

Everything ran smooth and nice this time: quick check-in/out as usual, cleanliness, variety of food for breakfast (I loved the fruit brochettes this time, there were different combinations with raspberry, strawberry, pineapple, grapes, blackberry...).

I don't remember very well but it seemed to me that the gym had more workout machines, although there weren't any mats around for floor exercises (I think there were previously...).

This time they gave us a sea/river oriented room (twin). It seemed bigger than the road oriented rooms we usually stayed in. As other reviewers noted, the rooms are starting to show some signs of wear, but in any case, there are small details here and there and the general impression is great. The only con with the river oriented rooms is that when the weather is hot (we had fabulous days, 27ºC and more) the building accumulates a lot of heat due to sun orientation during the day, building materials and design, so you'll need to have air conditioning on thorought the day and even in the night, as the heat doesn't go anywhere ;) But you wouldn't stay there for too long if you the weather is nice, wouldn't you? ;) So it's not such a biiiig con. The good thing is that you have much more intimacy as you're not overlooking the road so you can just sit there wearing a robe they provide and simply enjoy the views and the quietness... also beautiful at night, as the moon reflects in the sea.

Walking in the surroundings was also very nice; interesting houses, a chapel and nature...

We enjoyed every moment there and had a wonderful stay; I would definately recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This hotel is conveniently located opposite Vila do Conde, across the Rio Ave (less than a mile away from the city center). It offers nice views of the the city and the ocean.
The outside of the hotel is definitely contemporary, painted in dark grey, and does not reflect the local architecture unfortunately. It is for sure the most modern facility of the neighbourhood.
The access to the hotel is not convenient due to permanent heavy traffic. Coming out of the hotel alley by car was dangerous day and night.
The building is equiped with all the services of a four star hotel: fitness room, spa, swimming pool & whirlpool, fancy restaurant, a large bar with tv screens & a terrace, a large breakfast room in the basement. A private underground parking is also available for the guests.
We regretted the lack of frames & paintings on the walls, that could have added a personal touch to the contemporary shiny gold and silver furniture, in all areas.
The rooms are of a good size, and include a small balcony with a chair. The bed was ok. We suffered from heat and condensation at night. It seems there was no ventilation system. Despite this problem, we enjoyed the quietness of our room.
The breakfast buffet included in our room package was various but not the best we had ever have. The coffee was terrible, as well as the fruit juices drownded in water. The rest was fine: fresh bread, fruits, cereals, cheeses & delicatessen, scrambled eggs, yoghurts etc.
We were very disapointed with the swimming pool, since it is the first time we were asked for a bathing cap in a hotel! but most of all, because the only time we decided to have a dive one evening, we did not know that the hotel had arranged several aquafitness courses for the locals along with loud techno music, making us unconfortable to stay. We regret the staff did not advise us. We felt like strangers instead of hotel guests with the privilege of use.
One room out of two did not correspond to our original reservation (we had 2 twins instead of one twin and one double) and it took us a lot of energy to negociate a change with the front desk staff, being assured the hotel was fully booked. We could move to another bedroom only the following day. This gave us a bad feeling since we barely crossed two or three couples during our 3 nights stay.

Our global apreciation is that some efforts must be made to turn this hotel into an international four stars hotel. We do confirm that in terms of service, it only reaches 3 stars which is in adequation with the low prices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed here as part of a wedding party in August 10. On arrival it doesn't look that special, but once inside it is very impressive. Staff were very helpful and efficient. The spa area was good although a little expensive, an outdoor pool would be nice (especially in the summer), but you do have the beach about 10 mins walk away. Rooms very plush and comfortable, ours overlooked the river and sea. Good choice at breakfast and reasonably priced drinks at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HERTSHEROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The Hotel has got a nice view to City / River and Ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

My partner and me been here in July and December 2008 and some other time in 2009 (can't exactly recall!). Because it's a great place to come back!

If you want to have a relaxing time, this is your hotel. It's not big as in quantity of rooms, but spacious and comfortable enough for the guests. The whole place has a modern look.

The location is at the other side of the bridge of Vila do Conde, in Azurara. It's a great place if you have a car. If you don't not sure, especially if you want to go to the Vila do Conde's beach, which is QUITE far. I know there's a metro station to Porto (20 km) somewhere near, but not sure where :)

The rooms are spacious enough, with very light lightening; maybe a bit more optional lightening would do better, but it has a romantic ambient as it's intended.
Room has a small flat TV, minibar, air conditioning and heating, safety box, spacious placard, desktop and a table. You are given some very comfy robes. The bathroom has hair dryer and very nice smelling products (gel, shampoo, soap...). There's anything you might miss as a regular hotel user.
You can have breakfast in your own room if you want (for 2€ extra/person).
Personally, I would never book the "River view" rooms (more expensive). You can't even see the sea, and the river view is not something spectacular either. All you see is houses and a green space and a bit of river, a bit away...

The buffet breakfast is very good in my opinion: you have different kinds of breads, cakes (chocolate, plain with nuts, plain...), whole fruit and freshly cut, yoghourts, water, cereals, feijoada, coffee, chocolate, tea, ham, cheeses and other cold cuts, even champagne! The breakfast room is kind of dark but relaxing due to the very wide windows.

We never used the jacuzzi or the pool (someday we will) but they look quite fine! We did use the gym, which is small but enough for some typical mantainance. It has treadmills and static bikes, crunches platform, a very weird aparatus (where you can hang and do all kind of stretchings), maybe a couple of things more. As I said, enough to don't have the feeling of "I'm missing my session!" :) It was all clean and top condition, everything we used, worked.

Never tried the restaurant as we know of some very nice in the town. The bar looks nice but a bit sad, we never seen anybody crashing in there.

The staff was attentive, but that time in July 2008 was a bit of a mess.
Next day from our arrival, we go to the gym, leave the "clean the room" hanging sign on the door. The cleaning lady was in the room of the front of ours, and seen us leaving and hanging the sign. When we go back, one hour after, room was still undone. Ok... we got our shower and left to the town. When we go back after having lunch like 4 hours later, room was still undone!!! We just wanted to relax, what a shame. Didn't they have time enough to do it? We had to talk at reception and fortunately 15 minutes later it was done. In the meanwhile, we used the wireless connection, can say it doesn't work very well (very slow and most of times it doesn't connect, so I wouldn't take my laptop there).

The day after, the gym was supposed to be open at 8.00 am. We went at 8.30 am, the entrance door (to the spa, where the gym is) was closed. Nobody around. We go back to the room, make a call to reception and ask about that (because the plan was gym-shower-breakfast). The woman said we could go downstairs again, as they were cleaning the pool and everything else could be used. We go back again, and STILL CLOSED! We go to the reception, and the same woman at the telephone said we can't still use it, they were cleaning, we reminded her what she told us before... She says she'll see what she can do (it was about 9 by that time), we kept waiting for about 10 minutes!! No respect at all, we went to have our breakfast, they broke our plans >:(

Seems that when they're quite or fully booked, the cleaning service is not up to the task. We went in more calm times and there weren't any problems.

All good and bad has to be said :) We still love the hotel (especially when we can get those 60 or 70€/night fares) and highly recommend it to everybody.

Just one thing: is not an appropiate hotel for children. Guests going there do not appreciate the lovely kiddy noise, nor the ambient is calling for "family time". It is a SPA. Maybe you can do with the Santana Hotel or other for that kind of plan.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jet242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila do Conde
0.3 mi away
Santana Hotel & Spa
Santana Hotel & Spa
#3 of 3 in Vila do Conde
347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach H...
#3 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
575 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Quinta das Alfaias
Quinta das Alfaias
#2 of 3 in Vila do Conde
54 reviews
23.0 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa C Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa C Boutique Hotel

Address: Avenida Mouzinho de Albuquerque s/n | Estrada Nacional 13, Vila do Conde 4480-151, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila do Conde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila do Conde
Price Range: £68 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa C Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure and business in Vila do Conde In the center of Vila do Conde, near Ave river and the sea, Discovery Hotel Management opens its first unit further north. A boutique hotel that will be the center of the city, with 41 rooms and 2 suites with balcony, a À TERRA restaurant, a bar, a spa with suana, Turkish bath and indoor pool, a gym, and lots of events and entertainment. Located on the south bank of Ave river in Azurara, Villa C Boutique Hotel is the ideal place for leisure or business. Located on the south bank of the Ave river, Villa C is the ideal place for leisure or business. 27 km from Oporto and 2 km from Vila do Conde city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa C Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing