We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep away!”
Review of Hotel Botanique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Botanique
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Having cycled over 90 miles to get here on a 10 hotel tour of Europe, this was the last one and the most dissapointing.
When I finally found it on a back street at the poor end of the city, my heart sank to see a terraced house with no sign on the front of it. When I finally got in the place, it was no better on the inside looking like a poor hostel but having an extortionate price of €55 for room only, no breakfast or drinks.( this was one of trhe dearest in 5 countries!)
The room was basic with an old 14" tv (no remote) and a shared bathroom.
On the back of the room door there was a notice saying free coffee in the morning but when asked about it the man shrugged his shoulders and had no idea what I was talking about!!!!
I suggested that a €25 price would be more realistic but got nowhere, paid in cash as I didn't trust these people with my card details.
AS I SAY KEEP AWAY!

Room Tip: any room not in this 'hostel'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

I arrived at 11:30pm as previously arranged. They did not have a room for me, gave me a subway map and sent me off across town to find another place where they had arranged me a room. Hotel Botanique was absolutely stinking, I was only in reception for 10 minutes and I could still smell it on my clothes the next day. The place they had arranged me a room was a bit less smelly but definitely a hostel not hotel, and the internet didn't work.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank doogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Advertsised as a B&B/Hotel the Botanique is a shabby hostel. The location was horrific, did not feel safe at all. Would not recomend to anyone, especialy familes and small groups.

We got to the room to find that it did not have a bathroom and that there was a shared bathroom, this was when we found that it was actually a shabby and overpriced hostel.

I would not trust these with my credit/debit details. Please stay clear of this place.

Room Tip: Rooms at other hotels couldn't be worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

When I first arrived at the hotel in the morning, the doors were locked and no lights were on. I then tried to call the hotel, but the number was disconnected.
I then went to the hotel in the afternoon and it was open. The man told me my reservation had been cancelled, and that there were no rooms available.
Meanwhile another man came into the hotel, and was informed the exact same thing.
I have a feeling this isn't a hotel, but a front for a credit card fraud scheme.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1jamielloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

There have been some previous reviews that have negatively commented on the damp/mold smell in the stairwell and common areas. It is valid. Very much so. To the point your may wish you had not booked this place. The saving grace was the room. It did not smell, the paint was fresh and furnishings were adequate (rather spartan). The shared bath was ok until the 20 year old children showed up. They trashed it pretty good. Thankfully we were done before they got up. The common area/breakfast area was locked most of the time. Didn't look very special. Only saw a couple eating there once. We did 3-night stay. Location is fair. A couple of blocks from one of the main streets. A long walk to the Grand Place area. We are walkers/hikers so no issue for us. I would think most people would rather be closer to center of town. Taxis are no bargain in Brussels. Note: the B&B is near the midi train station. Was useful for us. Not sure it would be for non backpackers or independent travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isle 'n Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

I've stayed in budget hotels all over Europe and this is by far the worst I have ever been in. To start, the area is a bit sketchy. The whole building stinks. The curtains are paper thin and there is an extremely bright light outside so it looks like daylight in your room at night. The walls are very thin so every time someone goes to the tiny shared bathroom you can hear everything and it sounds like they might as well be in your room. There was a cigarette burn in the bedding. Wear shoes because you may well get a splinter from the flooring. If you're looking for an upside to this place its relatively close to a metro station and about a 15 minute walk to the city center. The problem is that it is quite difficult to find, we had to ask 4 people where it was before we finally found the place and we did have a map. The beds are not as bad as some we have had. I would never stay here again even if it were half of the cheap price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hikeaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,958 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanique

Address: Rue Traversiere 32, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Botanique 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanique Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing