We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, but basic”
Review of Hotel Siru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Siru
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, for a total cost of €100 per person. I wasn't expecting much for this but the hotel was just great. We stayed at the back of the hotel in room 715 which apparently was quieter and more spacious than the room of our friends staying at the front of the hotel.

We didn't get breakfast as part of the stay as having lived in Brussels for a while, we just dined out everyday. Admittedly there wasn't a kettle in the room, and I'm assuming you need to pay for use of the safe, but the fridge was fine, and our room was cleaned to a high standard everyday. The beds were perfectly comfortable.

The lift is tiny, as other reviewers have mentioned, but this was hardly an issue. Location was excellent, right next to Rogier metro, next to the Sheraton and opposite the Hilton. A basic but perfectly nice hotel. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 715 at the back of the hotel was both big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittylouise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear kittylouise85,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Hotel SIRU with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the central location of our hotel. Such nice comments are always a pleasure to receive and we have forwarded them to all of our staff.

Please note that the safe is free of charge and that even though there is no kettle in the room when you arrive, our reception staff would have been pleased to provide you with one.

We hope to welcome you back at Hotel SIRU for your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Room is very small but ok. Bathroom needs a fresh up: shower curtain was dirty; tile joints are not white any more... No airco: it was super hot in the room this summer. The room on the street side was very noizy.
Breakfast buffet is good, but no hot food.
Price was ok if you compare with other hotels in the neighborhood.
Location: 5 min walk from Brussels North railway station; 15 minutes walk to the old city center and grand Place. Shopping center City 2 and shopping street Rue Neuve is just 5minutes walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back side if you don't want street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schrampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Schrampa1,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Hotel Siru with us.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet, price range as well as our central location.

Please be assured that your comment concerning the bathroom has been taken into consideration and communicated to our housekeeping department in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

Our reception staff is at your disposal for any requests, such as a room on the back of our building for a quieter surrounding.

Concerning the hot food on the breakfast buffet and the air conditioning in the room, had you wished for a higher standard of service than the 3-star service we offer, we would have been pleased to welcome you in our 4-star hotel, Hotel Progress. You will find more information at www.progresshotel.be.

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Hotel Siru for your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July en route to an Andre Rieu concert in Holland. The hotel was part of a package organised by tour company.This hotel was more like a hostel, the room was quite small,the window looked out at a wall,the bar was freezing cold,many people walked out because of lack of staff,breakfast was ok but you had to go to an adjoining hotel for it as no restaurant on site.Also a very noisy water system which did wake you up. But the hotel was very convenient for local attractions, and there are numerous bars and eating places nearby.Would i stay again, no if i had a choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Paul F,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share with us your experience at Hotel Siru.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location as well as our breakfast offer.

Being a three-star hotel, our services match the category and budget we are offering. However, had you wished to benefit from further services and bigger rooms, we would have been pleased to welcome you in our four-star hotel, Hotel Progress. You can find more information at www.progresshotel.be.

Concerning the view from your window, had you wished a view on the street, our reception staff would have been pleased to accommodate your demand.

Actually, our breakfast area is located just next to the recreation/games room and is shared with our other hotel called “Hotel des Colonies”.

At the bar, our reception staff is always at your disposal to serve you a drink.

Please be assured that we have taken your comments concerning the temperature in the bar and the water system into consideration and communicated them to our maintenance department in order to be able to always improve our service.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in Hotel Siru for your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

the rooms are compact and clean no kettle so you must wait for breakfast .breakfast is supplyed by the hotel nextdoor and if you stay more than 2 days this runs out .we arived by coach and was shocked by the lift no more than 2 people at a time so you can imagin the time it takes to empty 104 people so if you are on a coach trip bewere

Room Tip: lower floors can be reached by stair case ;/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Mick F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Siru with us.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms.

At Hotel Siru, upon arrival, the guests can access their room by using 1 of the 2 elevators, which have a total capacity of six people, or the stairs, easily accessible.

The Continental Breakfast buffet is composed of a large variety of bread and pastries as well as cereals, cheese, delicatessen and scramble eggs.

Actually, our breakfast area is located just next to the recreation/games room and is shared with our other hotel called “Hotel des Colonies”.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at Hotel Siru.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Although good location in Brussels, the hotel is quite average and nothing special. The room was nice and clean, but I was freezing (although the heating was on!). At moments, it looked as if the hotel is not finished, because there are so many little things broken or old. The breakfast was good and the service was ok, but the staff is generally not very interested in making your stay better.
Ok if you're in a hurry through Brussels and stay for one night, but I would not recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuffieLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear YuffieLeo,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at the Siru Hotel with us.

We are glad to read that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the central location.
Please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and have talked to our front office department concerning the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon at Hotel Siru for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

After reading the reviews from other users of the hotel I thought I should give this place a try. I had already prepared myself for a 'noisy' night as some reviewers had warned. Well, it was quiet, comfortable and pleasant. Although I had not requested a specific room before my arrival, I was given a non-street facing room and this was the best. I could not hear any noise from the passing traffic and the night was very peaceful. The only noise was from the plumbing pipes when my upstairs neighbor flushed the toilet and used the shower - but really, this was okay.
I would stay here again, especially when in Brussels for business - it is central, easy to reach, accessible to public transport and near a very good shopping centre. Thank you Hotel Siru :)
Nthabi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Nthabi,

First of all, thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience at Hotel Siru with us.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Siru as well as its central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Siru for your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is is a quite small hotel with not too many facilities but with a large enough clean room with sufficient bathroom and wifi. Ideal if you stay there for business or any other activity such that you just need to use the hotel to rest and sleep. Is near the Sheraton and the Hilton but at a fraction of the price so decide on what you spend your money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel Siru, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Fir54,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at hotel Siru.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness and the comfort of your room, and also the central location of our establishment.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Siru during your next visit in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Progress Hotel
Progress Hotel
#5 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,963 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siru

Address: Rue des Croisades 2, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £57 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Siru 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUDGET – TRENDY – BUSINESSThe Hotel Siru Brussels is a unique property, convenient for your business visits, family and lovers city breaks, and for all your leisure trips. The history of this hotel goes back to the 18th century, when coaches and barouches stopped at the Saint-Jean Hotel which served as a love getaway for Arthur Rimbaud and Paul Verlaine. The building is today one of the oldest buildings in the city of Brussels, and more particularly one of the oldest hotels still in activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Siru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brussels
Comfort Inn Brussels
Hotel Siru Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing