We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Hotel BLOOM!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel BLOOM!
Dendermonde
1 review
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good location to visit the centre of Brussels. Very friendly personnel. Only when we started to talk flemish, we had to continue in english or french. There was plenty of space in the rooms with a very nice decoration and a good bed. However, we had no door at the bathroom with the toilet! Excellent breakfast. The maximum height of the parking garage was lower then they told us by phone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    1,738
    480
    118
    72
See reviews for
350
1,571
218
1,091
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Because of an early morning flight, we wanted to be close to a train station so we could get to the airport easily. It was about a 15 minutes walk to the train station and a reasonably short train ride to the airport. We also didn't want to spend a fortune. Hotel Bloom satisfied these requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very nice hotel nearby metro,bus,tram and city! Rooms are royal and very artistic. Nice and helpful staff/reception.
We had a little problem with temperature/air-conditioning - for us, it was a little bit to warm for the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Agnes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Bloom! for four nights last month. If the following incident had not occurred I may have given it 3 or 4 stars. Big modern funky rooms. Not into the wall to wall carpet. Great free breakfast buffet. Slow WIFI in my room.

The incident was unpleasant but I'm giving only one star for how poorly the management handled it (or didn't handle it) and for the subsequent realization that this hotel does not have good security. They did finally refund the cost of my stay a few weeks after.

I was in Brussels for work with no days off and only one free hour in the mornings. Day two, I left my room to hit the buffet before exploring. On my floor a man was waiting by the elevator. I thought it was weird that the elevator button was not yet pushed but when he saw me he pushed it and I said thanks. I figured maybe he got there a second earlier. We got on the elevator and stood a few feet apart. I sensed he was staring at me, I turned my head, met eyes, he looked down, I followed his gaze, saw that he was exposing himself to me. He looked back at me and I looked forward pretending to ignore it. When we got to the lobby I thought he would exit the hotel and I didn't want to be alone on the street with him so I turned to the right and entered the restaurant. I was eager not to let this ruin my one hour to explore the city during museum and business hours but I wanted to make sure he was caught. I regretted not yelling when the door opened but I was shocked and scared.

I waited in line behind people checking out and finally asked a woman at the desk to speak in private. She slid one foot down the counter from the other employee and guests. I told her what happened and said I was in a rush but wanted to give details. She seemed shocked because she just stood there speechless for a few seconds but then took out pencil and paper. I gave her a precise 5 minute window when it took place and told her the floor we were on when we got on the elevator so they could check cameras and I gave her my room number to contact me.

During the day I was surprised not to hear from the hotel. When I got back to the hotel the front desk was deserted so I waited at Smoods (the hotel lounge). When I saw people at the front desk again (around 10pm) I asked to speak to a manager. I was told the manager was gone for the day. I told the man at the desk that I had reported an incident in the elevator earlier and wanted an update. He said he knew about it and that the video technician had checked the footage and seen nothing- with an attitude implying that it didn't happen or else, that's that, so what do you want me to do about? I said I felt scared because the man saw what room I was in. The employee just nodded and I felt stupid.

I went upstairs thinking management must have left a message at least telling me that the video technician had not seen anything, but there was no message. I also thought, since my boss booked the room that maybe they had used her contact info but no one had contacted her either. I phoned back to the guy at the desk I had just been talking to and said if the technician couldn't see full bodies in the elevator, he needed to see my face so he could then identify who was next to me and that I wanted to go meet him or send a picture. He said the technician didn't work on weekends (it was late Friday) but that he'd leave a message. I was scheduled to leave the hotel Sunday night and was very disappointed that I might not be able to help catch this guy and that he would have plenty of time to get away. I was also surprised that there was no one to look at security video for 2 days out of the week.

Next morning I was afraid to leave my room but wanted to make it in time to a museum before work. I considered calling down to ask for an escort but the indifference of the night employee and no contact from management made me feel like they didn't care. I still felt scared so I waited until I heard the cleaning women in the hall and then literally ran to the elevators and was very nervous who I would find when the doors opened - the elevator was empty so I was still on edge thinking the guy could find me in there alone if he entered from another floor, until I got to the lobby.

Saturday passed with no follow-up from hotel management.

Sunday before work I again waited in line behind people checking out and then asked to speak to a manager. A few minutes later a woman came out of a door and I had to ask to speak in private. She led me down the lobby steps to a lounge where others sat nearby but out of earshot. It was the same level of privacy as being at a restaurant. After three days of feeling on edge where I was sleeping alone in an unfamiliar city I burst into tears.

I said I was upset that no one from the hotel had contacted me and I wanted to send my picture to the video technician so he could identify the guy in the elevator. Since the night employee had told me the technician had checked and seen nothing I assumed there were cameras but that they didn't show full bodies. This manager said things like "this must have ruined your stay","as a woman I imagine this was very scary","the fact that he knows where your room was" and she was disappointed no one contacted me or offered to escort me from my room but didn't take responsibility herself so I still felt like I was not speaking with someone in charge. She never said I'm sorry "I" didn't call you. It was still unclear who was supposed to have reached out.

She said she would speak to her manager and now that she knew my face she would watch the video herself and try to identify the suspect. She said that once they had an image of his face they would send it to police, every hotel in Brussels and ban him from their hotel, all of which is their policy. That made me feel better. I gave her my cell and e-mail and asked to be kept in the loop, whatever happened. I was leaving that night and would be back in Los Angeles early Monday. She said someone would contact me Monday if not with an update then an apology.

Home in LA, no contact until Tuesday, a manager e-mailed me to apologize that no one followed up about the incident during my stay and asked if there was anything she could do to assist me further. She sent surveillance images from the incident but said they were unfortunately not clear.

From her e-mail I was SHOCKED to learn that Hotel Bloom! has NO cameras in the elevators and NO cameras in the halls where guests sleep. They only have cameras in the far corners of the lobby. When the elevator got to the lobby the man stepped out for a second and then back in, and was only recorded from afar. From the picture they sent me all you can see is it's a human with a white shirt.

He could have been staying at the hotel or not. You need a key card to go up in the elevator, not down, but often when I went up one guest swiped their card for others out of politeness. Once, when I was in the elevator I swiped my card for the 6th floor and then another guest wondered allowed whether she needed to swipe her card to go to a different floor so before swiping her card she just tried pressing the button for the other floor and it did light up and the elevator went to her floor and then mine, with just my card swipe.

I wrote back to the manager urging her to add cameras to the elevators and halls and asked for a refund though it would go to my boss, on principle.

She wrote back defending the hotel's security, basically saying that it IS safe and she did not seem to have any intention of adding cameras. She ignored my request for a refund and offered me to come BACK to the hotel to stay for free. I thought the idea that if I was ever able to go all the way from Los Angeles to Brussels again that I would stay at Hotel Bloom! after three days of feeling totally ignored and scared was ridiculous and insulting and I told her. She apologized and said she had only wanted to offer me something instead of my boss but because I was offended she would refund the money. I get now that she meant well and I do appreciate that she gave the refund in the end.

If the hotel has the nerve to respond to this review while it took me three days of reporting the incident in person before a still untimely response, I will be disgusted again.

P.S. I wrote a similar review on Yelp but Trip Advisor allows more words so this one is a little more detailed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank rebsrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Bad neigborhood but close to city center and nice rooms.
Staff was not "overwhelmingly" motivated but still ok. Breakfast very nice.
Price too high in my view even for Brussels and given that it is more or less in the red light district.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oliver Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very friendly, helpful and fast reception.
Good breakfast.
Good beds.
Central location.
Makeover of bathrooms suggested (e.g.: Shower-Curtains are not quite in line with cool & artsy image.)
Greetings,
Johannes


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johanes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hausen am Albis, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This could have been a so different and yet 6% of all the reviews give it a poor or terrible rating. that's simply too many. I can only talk about my personal experience. I arrived at 10pm on a Sunday night. One person on reception and a queue of 10 people in front of me. 30 minutes to check in. I wanted something to eat and drink. There is no room service and the "restaurant/bar" was reserved for a private business function which meant it was off limits even though by that time there was no one left at the function. I was however able to grab a sandwich from the "food to go" bar by reception. and queue again...When I got back to my room IO discovered that the bread was very soggy and I should have thrown it away. I didnt I ate it. I woke up at 3am and lets just say it wasn't pretty. I had an upset stomach for the rest of the day. I heard that breakfast was very good but I could only face some toast. I like hotels that have this kind of style but I cannot recommend somewhere that has such poor levels of service and makes you ill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxy B, Manager at Hotel BLOOM!, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hello Neil P, we apologize for the wait at the reception; our staff always do their utmost to minimize the wait. We are very sorry the sandwich was bad and you got stuck with an upset stomach, we will definitely have a talk with our supplier! We sincerely hope to see you again so you can enjoy our breakfast. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
991 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#12 of 199 in Brussels
1,451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#24 of 199 in Brussels
1,373 reviews
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BLOOM!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BLOOM!

Property: Hotel BLOOM!
Address: Rue Royale 250, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BLOOM! 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLOOM! is a unique hotel in the heart of Brussels where no two rooms are alike. Each light-filled room is decorated with a unique hand painted fresco created by a young European artist. You can pick a room to your own taste. From sober to crazy: the choice is all yours.Whether you’re here to work or to have fun, at BLOOM! you will immediately feel a creative vibe that will inspire you and bring you new ideas. Stay with us and live a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel BLOOM! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloom Hotel Brussels
Hotel BLOOM! Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing