We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey place to stay”
Review of The Phileas Fogg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phileas Fogg
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I had to find a place to stay while working in Brussels and found that getting a flat was a poor option because the landlords always wanted a 1 year lease and my stay was only a few months. I decided to stay at a B&B to keep it simple, and stayed at the Phileas Fogg, an old house built in 1888 with a huge kitchen and a pretty garden and a variety of rooms. Karin, the owner, was a gracious host always ready to provide help and advice whether it was directions, sightseeing, where to get the best bread, chocolate, coffee or antiques, and even getting help from the Police for my residency permit.
She was always so very helpful, generously taking care of my laundry each week herself when her in-house laundry machine broke down, and even buying my favourite beer at a much lower price than I was getting at the shops I knew. She even gave me a ride to the train station when I was leaving Brussels, something she certainly did not have to do.
Her adorable and energetic young daughter Nerjis was always loads of fun, drawing -even singing and dancing to entertain guests at dinner at times- what an amazing talented young lady she is.
Her loyal dog Nefi and I bonded, I enjoyed taking her for walks around the neighborhood.

Karin has recently rennovated several rooms in the house and they are quite spectacular now- making me wish I could have switched to one of them and stayed longer. I believe she is ultimately going to be rennovating the whole house but right now she already has several amazing new rooms that are quite beautiful.

Her dinners were always a treat, and when the house was full and the dinner table crowded with people from all over the world it made travelling all the more enjoyable- after-all, that's what it's supposed to be about.

Some important information for those who don't seem to get it when it comes to staying at a B&B:

It's not a hotel, so don't expect room service, TV, a pool or a bar or a 24 hour concierge.
There's no cafe, table service, restaurant or typical 'North American' menu. Your breakfast is continental- and that means a cup of coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice with bread with jam- not a customized breakfast with eggs and bacon however you want it, like what a Hotel catering to western travellers might offer.
I always just went to a grocers and got my own food and prepared my own breakfasts lunches and dinners, unless of course Karin had a house with guests and I arrived home from work in time for dinner! Then it was always a treat to join the table and sample something new.

You need to provide your own toiletries such as soap and shampoo, although towels are provided.
A B&B is NOT a hotel. It's a home away from home you live in temporarily and as such you take care of yourself as if it's your home and I think this is something many people fail to comprehend, and where those who don't enjoy their stay are missing the point.

Karin has recently brought in a manager to help take over much of the B&B's operations and this lovely young lady named Marta brings more energy to the house, and I believe she too speaks at least three languages.

If you travel to Brussels and want to have all the conveniences of a typical North American Hotel with your pay-per view, HBO, swimming pools, 24 hour room service, non- Belgian meals, lock yourself up in your room and never even meet your fellow travellers in the Hotel then you are unlikely to enjoy this B&B.
But if you like to take care of yourself when you travel, want to meet people from all over the world and stay in a charming rustic two centuries-old house and meet an amazing hostess who speaks a staggering seven languages [yes, seven] and feel like a real world traveller meeting people from around the world, cooking dinners together and making new friends and having great conversations together then this is the sort of place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small while others are larger, and not all rooms have a in-suite bathroom so if that...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aurore_de_Blois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for The Phileas Fogg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

It was the most awful experience we had with my wife during our stay in Brussels last September. No one to welcome us..one towel (not very clean..) for two persons, one spare and spent toilet paper, no soap for hands, no shampoo, a broken soap dispencer...a poor breakfast and totally misleading photos in the internet. Spider webs hunging above our heads too!!! Please read the reviews before booking. The woman responsible charged our debit cards although she should not do it according to the rules stated in the site venere,com. She also took the money in cash and told us that she should cancel the charge in our debit card. After a month of plenty of mails and call phones, she finally returned our money. What an attitude!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Alexis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

i stayed at the phileas fogg for 3 nights and it was great family atmospher
the price is reasionable..karin got great language skils.the breakfast was nice
the place is very clean
i would highly recomend it for singles and famillies
khaled elio

Room Tip: the blue room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

For a few years I regularly visit Brussels and always stay at Phileas Fogg in various rooms for shorter and longer times. Every room has its own atmosphere. No noise from the city, however all the nice places are in walking distance. The manager lets you feel at home and does not mind you act as such. Make your own tea in the kitchen if you arrive at curious times. The beds are fine and the breakfast is how I am used to at home. The Eurocontrol bus stops at Madou only minutes away. Also the Minstry of Transport (North Station) is close by as is the centre and the Central Station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertLunteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

For years I have travelled to Brussels two or three times for business and always stay at Phileas Fogg.

If you are a traveller who wants to feel that you are visiting friends and not feel like an anonymous visitor in a sterile hotel chain, then this is for you.

Like the character after whom it is named, Phileas Fogg is full of eccentricity and quirky humour- and most of all human character.

You can share breakfast with opera singers, models, musicians, artists and bureaucrats as well as wise tourists from around the world (Karin's skill with languages is a wonder to experience).

Every city needs a Phileas Fogg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professor_tournesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed two nights in the Blue room, decorated with a lot of style, with bathroom and toilet attached. Good bed! Had a lovely sleep on the futon, and quiet, because oriented towards the garden with a small terasse.

I found the location convenient, it was close to the seminar I attended in the European quarter, not far to the metro, and there are several restaurants nearby on the place next to the church (viva "La Mamma"). Sure, St. Josse is not "postcard" Brussels, it is an ethnic neighborhood, slightly off the beaten track, but friendly with several fruitshops around the corner.

Karin is a personality, warm and full of stories. She does not live on the spot, so I met her and the daughter next morning for breakfast. No 24-hours service but this is by far outweighted by the warmth of the owner. And yes, there is one tail-wagging dog.

Service and value are ok, I spent a good time and really liked "my" room. The place definitely has character.

Room Tip: The room towards the garden is the best (Blue room)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieT340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a very nice small hotel well kept and with great amenities, close to the center of Brussels, which is only a walk away. The place is charming, every room has its distinctive character, and the whole is well kept by its friendly owner and manager. This is not a 'typical' hotel with spa and gym, but a small hotel where you will feel at home, away from home.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, especially the one at the penthouse level.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliya_LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Royale
Hotel Villa Royale
#6 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phileas Fogg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phileas Fogg

Address: Rue Van Bemmel 6, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £61 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Phileas Fogg 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phileas Fogg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phileas Fogg Hotel Brussels
The Phileas Fogg Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing