We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phileas Fogg - the place to be”
Review of The Phileas Fogg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Phileas Fogg
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you come to Brussels the Phileas Fogg is a wonderful place to stay!
We got such a warmhearted welcome and directly felt at home.
The old Belgium townhouse has a special flair and design and there is so much of art you can discover all over the house.The different rooms are very nice decorated and most of them are with kitchenette and a nice big bathroom.
We staid for several days and got a huge breakfast which was included in the price. This was always a great get together with all the persons in the house and also a good opportunity to get insider tips about the city.
Karin tries to help you with everything and is able to switch in one minute from another between the 7 languages she speaks. This was making the stay very comfortable because it is easy to communicate.
On top the location is very close to the city center, 5 minutes from the botanic garden,the Manneken Pis...

This B&B really fits into the multicultural environment of Brussels - so if you come to Brussels I definitely recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauliii032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have had the pleasure to stay at The Phileas Fogg this Aug 2013 and I found that not only it is a beautiful house that is well furnished in a great location for an affordable price; but it is mainly a melting pot. All guests are having breakfast together with the owner Karin and her most interesting daughter sharing experiences from travelling and from life, getting recommendations, and more. It is amazing what you can learn during a breakfast ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

It felt so wonderful staying here. Our host Karin was very obliging and breakfast on the patio was lovely. Our room with kitchenette was perfect for our needs and we were walking distance to the Grand Place and Botanical Gardens. Would definitely recommend this place to other travellers. Katie and Ken from Australia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freeburgh_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

What seemed at the beginning to be a nice stay went out a frustrating, terrible and more than expensive one. The owner changed prices and didn´t adhere to what was said before. Additionally the owner totally violated privacy: without informing us she went during the day inside two of our rooms (which we actually couldn´t lock), packing our personal stuff inside our luggage and putting all outside the rooms! At night she only said, that she had bookings for the rooms and couldn´t wait that we are coming back to pick our stuff! Actually we were a group, which had booked several rooms/nights! So, she obligated two of us to change the rooms; I had suddenly to share the room with someone else! Lust but not least, rooms are overpriced (keeping in mind that most rooms are without bathroom) and for those prices you should also expect a good breakfast, but breakfast was quite poor; furthermore toilets/bathrooms had no soap.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
5  Thank Caminante578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phileastalk, Manager at The Phileas Fogg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Utterly surprised by this review. First, we never had a group of Spanish people staying for more than one night during the month of June. So the date mentioned is false. So if these guests claim the rooms were expensive, I wonder then if and what they were charged.

Second, all of our rooms carry soap.

Breakfast is : Nespresso coffee and as many cups as the client wants; cheese, eggs, superb croissants and whole wheat bread, jam and speculoos pasta and more importantly : freshly squeezed juice, right there and then. If this is a poor breakfast, I pass.

We expect rooms to be cleared by noon, and our guests are clearly told. Guests can always leave their luggage in the depot till when they are ready to take off. So if we find the rooms still occupied at 18 h of the day of departure, so yes, we feel entitled to empty the rooms and pack the suitcase where our guests should have done this themselves. All the more so since our arriving guests would expect their room to be ready upon arrival.

Why did the guest wait for two months to place his/her review... we wonder.

We work daily on making our guests feel at home and serve them at the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Let me start by saying this is a really neat Brussels town house that has been thoughtfully decorated. The wifi worked well, and the breakfasts were lovely. We found our host to be gregarious and welcoming. The location is pretty easily accessible to central Brussels by a long walk or by the subway (Madou), and it's in a quiet residential neighborhood.

However, we were very unhappy with our room. My husband and I were having a last hurrah before our first baby arrives, and I thought I'd gotten a great deal (47.50 euro/night rather than 125) on a really nice, romantic hotel. Like others, I'd neglected to check TripAdvisor this time, and got burned. We were put in the basement room, the "Studio Henri". The water pressure was pretty good, and the room was thoughtfully decorated. However, there were many basics expected of even the most bargain-basement hotels that hadn't been taken care of:

-Decent pillows (ours were small, thin, and lumpy, and we had exactly 2 - I haven't had a worse pillow since staying at the YHA in London - and this did not make things comfortable for my 7-months-pregnant self. We made do by rolling up the duvet under our heads and scrounging for a sheet to cover our legs, which we mercifully found.)

-Toilet paper holder (I was always searching for the TP in the middle of the night)

-Ventilation (exposed wiring where the bathroom exhaust should have been, and no way to open windows) - the room was very hot and stuffy as Studio Henri is where the water heater is located.

-Hand soap

-Housekeeping (no one touched our room in the 4 nights we stayed)

It was also very strange and *not* in the least bit romantic to have glass on the door to our room with nothing covering it. We were given our privacy, but it still felt like anyone could look in at any time.

There were other inconsistencies... we had a tea kettle and a very nice coffee maker, but no cups or spoons - however, there was a colander, a frying pan, four plates, some salt, and some coffee in the kitchenette. I was able to ask for tea cups from the kitchen, but it was just sort of odd.

To be fair to the hotel, I never complained, because I felt we were paying a fair price for the quality of the room we got. But it also looks like ours was definitely not a unique experience. Needless to say, this ended up being just a place to crash rather than a fun romantic getaway. With a few tweaks, this place could really satisfy its customers and live up to its web site's claim to be a boutique hotel, but I feel like the owner has certain things she cares about (decor, breakfast) while ignoring the practical, boring things that customers expect (decent pillows, finished electrical works).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ebmargit1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

For us, we hungry and tired travelers that had already done 1500km in bike to get to Brussels! We had a great time in Brussels (too much for all the cycling left...) and thanks to Karin and Omar we were able to leave fast. The rooms were perfect, location too but the best part of our stay was how nicely we were treated: they even made us sandwiches for the road !! 20/20 thats all ive got to say. I hope to return one day,

Philippe and Vincent

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Spent 2 nights with a good friend of mine, and we both agreed that the place is ideal for couples. Place is beautiful, great interior decoration by the owner, and it's only 10min walk from the city centre. The host is very nice and accommodating.

Only issue we have is the bathroom, not the best experience to take shower in the bathtub. Otherwise definitely recommend to anyone spending some time in Brussels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Royale
Hotel Villa Royale
#6 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phileas Fogg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phileas Fogg

Address: Rue Van Bemmel 6, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Phileas Fogg 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phileas Fogg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phileas Fogg Hotel Brussels
The Phileas Fogg Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing