We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We chose this hotel for its location, only a 5 minute walk from the North station down 1 road, it is also at the start of the main shopping street and 10-15min walk or longer if you stop at a bar to get the Grand Place.
The room was very nice and well appointed, staff were friendly ish, I've had better service but it wasn't poor either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aptimbrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Perhaps a twenty minute walk to grand place but lots of shops and bars to distract the journey. the Metro is just outside if you cant walk.
Quick check in that came with a free drinks voucher at the bar. Surprisingly there were absolutely no restrictions so we have champagne. The waiters are excellent. Rooms are modern, clean and tidy. Didn't use any of the other facilities. Check out was also fast. Any assistance we needed was dealt with very well indeed. We like the walk into the square and its literally across the main road and straight down. I would stop here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyesteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is about 10 - 15 min walk from the main touristic attractions in Brussels.
We got the deluxe room, which is a little bigger but somehow the air conditioning / heating was not working properly.

For a 4-star the amenities were pretty standard but good quality. The food options were good but there are some better options outside, down a block from the hotel.

Even though the location is good, it can be very noisy and too many street lights and buildings with psychedelic neon everywhere. Try to ask for a taxi with some time in advance.
Staff seemed to be overloaded with work and were a little on edge but still very polite.

Rooms always clean. There is no food in your room mini fridge, you have to buy at the reception desk.

We also asked how safe was it to walk at night in that area, the concierge said after 11pm things were not so safe. We took a walk on Brussles Grand Place at 5am and it seemed ok, if you can take care of yourself, you'll be fine.

There are 2 huge parkings very close to the hotel. Both are 15 EUR/night and very safe.
Also very close to the metro.

Room Tip: Check if the ventilation is working properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was our first stop of our Europe trip and it was really memorable for us. The hotel is located very closely to Rogier Metro station and once out of the Metro station, you can spot it very easily from any exit. It was slightly drizzling when we arrived in Brussels so to spot the hotel easily was really welcome as we wanted to get out of the rain as soon as possible. The hotel is wheelchair friendly and this was also very welcome as we could drag our luggage on wheels up the ramps.

Check in was seamless and we were given our room keys. The hotel provides free maps and the receptions very informative about the nearby attractions and sightseeing spots. The wifi internet is exceptionally highspeed so it was really good for looking for attractions around Brussels as well as a quick Skype to our loved ones back home and making dinner / attraction reservations over email in Brussels. If you have different mobile devices, you can log in multiple devices at the same time - iphone, ipad, laptop without being logged out.

The room we stayed in was really clean and spacious. There was ample space to put and lay out our luggage, there were nice chairs for us to sit on, and amenities were sufficient. We wanted more and the reception was readily available to bring any that we requested for. Disposable razors are not part of the standard kit provided for in the bathroom and you have to request from the housekeeping. Room temperature was suitable and very comfortable for us. Temperature of the water from the shower was very consistent (warm water can sometimes be lack in supply in other hotels) and this was good as you don't have to suddenly repel from the shower head when a stream of cold water suddenly hits your skin.

One thing that I thought could be improved is the city tax that was imposed on us. It cost 7 Euros a day and this was deducted from the initial 50 Euro deposit that I paid upon check in. This must have been written down somewhere in fine print when I first booked the hotel, but I felt that the reception could have reminded me during check in that there's a 7 Euro additional charge per night for the stay and this would be deducted from my deposit. No such reminder was communicated to us, so I was a bit taken aback when upon check out I only got back 29 Euros (21 Euros deducted for the city tax).

Another thing I thought could be improved was the breakfast hours. It was communicated that breakfast would last until 10.30am. On the first morning we had our breakfast, there were people still streaming in at 11am. So we thought we could do so the next morning. On our second morning there, we arrived at 10.30am and were flatly turned away, leaving us hungry for the morning. When we asked if we could have just a takeaway cup of tea from the breakfast table, we were told that we would be charged for the tea! I felt that there could be a bit more consistency in their policy of allowing people for breakfast and not give a false impression of the breakfast hours. A bit more flexibility would also have been warmly received on the cup of tea.

This hotel satisfied our expectations in general. 4 stars overall for a memorable stay. Good internet connection, clean rooms, consistent water temperature and good convenient location to the main shopping belt Nieuwstraat, less the breakfast encounter. Would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear greasystains,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us in detail. I'm very happy to read, we've made your stay memorable. I've shared your experience with the way we handled the charges for the City Tax and the breakfast restaurant opening hours with the team, so we can learn from it. It would be great to have you back with us.
Best wishes for 2014
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Visited Brussels for a Christmas getaway. Spent 2 nights in this property before taking the train to Paris. The staff recognized that we had just come off of our flight from the US and worked to find us a room that was available for immediate check-in (4 hours early) in order for us to rest before exploring the city. We were allowed to check-in and they made sure we were familiar with the area and gave us some suggestions on places to see. Had dinner at the on-site resto. Food and service were great and reasonably priced for the area and quality. Hotel is over 100 years old and has lots of character and has been fully renovated. High quality amenities and environment with the older charm and feel. Highly recommend this property for your next trip to Belgium.

Room Tip: If you are an IHG Rewards Club member, you should request the IHG Rewards Floor if you are not autom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleMike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear SeattleMike2013,
You made our day, as these are the comments that makes us proud of what we do! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for highly recommending us to other travellers. It's nice to experience that you valued the character and style of an over 100 years old property - we are not just another modern hotel buidling. I've shared your positive remarks on our service with my Team and they are very much looking forward to be your host again.
Wishing a prosperous and healthy 2014
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Crowne Plaza is clean, well decorated and apportioned hotel. The location is good for a tourist or shopping visit (about a ten minute walk north of the Grand Place). It is but a few minutes from the main shopping street, the Rogier metro stop and Brussels Nord. The rooms are as you would except for a good hotel - nothing more or less. The gym is a useful addition (7-8 cardio machines) as is the sauna. At about Euro 80 per night, it is very hard to complain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Much to like here but our stay was disappointing due to the temperature control in our guest room. It was far too hot the first night and only somewhat better after the hotel made some adjustments. The Crowne Plaza is wasting money and energy providing this much heat.

We arrived by train at the Nord station, walking three blocks south to the hotel. The surrounding area is under construction, so entry can be difficult or convoluted. We came in the back door and found our way to the front desk. The strange inward circular desk does not leave enough room for the guests -- this should be changed. Our clerk was efficient but not personable. We mentioned our IHG status and he gave us drink coupons.

We went up to the room, unpacked and cleaned up for dinner with friends later on. The hotel is an older property completely renovated. The very colorful carpets contrast with the older walls and ceilings. Our room had hard wood floors, a large desk and just enough space. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large enough with limited shelf space. Everything was clean. Our in room safe was broken - we did report this to the front desk.

After taking advantage of our free drinks, we walked a few blocks south for dinner with friends. We arrived back at the hotel later that evening. We had adjusted the temperature in our room and it was still hot. Not knowing how the system worked, I turned it down and opened the window. Later on I woke up -- I was very hot -- turned the thermostat down and pushed the window all the way open. Still woke up again later on.

We reported the issue to the hotel first thing in the morning and they did make some changes. The next night the room was cooler, but still we had to leave the window open. No need to heat the outside, if they could fix this problem.

The hotel was hosting a number of large meetings and the facilities looked good. We did not try breakfast here but can say the bar tender was friendly and the bar a nice peaceful area.

Overall, a good property in an excellent location (trains, Metro and bus service). They have remodeled an older hotel with some quirks that could be improved - heating and the front desk design. I would go back, as I am sure they can solve the heating issue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railhistoryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Railhistoryfan,
I'm really sorry that we were not able to fully fix the problem with the room temperature control system, during your 2 night stay with us. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest comfort levels possible - my apologies that we were not able to do so in your case, It's nice to read that you liked our hotel (apart from the shape of the front desk) and amenities. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back - I can assure you that the heating issue is solved.
A lovely New Year
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#45 of 199 in Brussels
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace

Address: Rue Gineste 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £68 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Northern Quarter, Crowne Plaza® Brussels - Le Palace hotel adds elegance to business trips. Built in 1908, our hotel is fully renovated and offers the most contemporary, business-ready amenities. Ideal for corporate travel and events, our hotel is located near Brussels Airport and the city centre. Guests can get to the European Commission and NATO – as well as major companies like Procter and Gamble and BNP Paribas Fortis – via the Rogier metro station, just next to the hotel. Most of our guestrooms overlook the Botanical Garden of Brussels, where visitors can find art exhibitions and concerts, or simply stroll the grounds. Within our historic hotel, you can work or work out anytime; Wi-Fi, Business Centre and Fitness Centre facilities are available around the clock. Guests can also benefit from a discounted rate at the InterParking Rogier, situated at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brussels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing