We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Plaza the Palace Brussels - Great to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As a member of the Intercontinental chain I decided to stay at the Crown Plaza the Palace for one night. I must say that the reception was very friendly and they upgraded me to a suite on the side of the Botanic Garden. The Hotel itself has no parking, but you can park very cheap at the Place Rogier Parking. Around the hotel there is some building construction going on but this did not bother me.
It is a stroll of about 15 minutes to the Grand Place through a interesting shopping street. You also can take the Metro right in front of the hotel. But this takes only two stops.
The breakfast is very good, so to be short - GREAT TO STAY.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabai77Pijnacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear sabai77Pijnacker,
It was a real pleasure to have you with us as our guest. Thanks a million, for your 5 star rating and that you recommend us as "Great to stay"! This is the feedback that makes our day because we love to service our guests. for sure, your feedback is shared with all of our team.
Kindest regards from Brussels
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I usually stay at the Holiday Inn chain of hotels and this really didn't feel like a Crowne Plaza. The hotel is adequate and in a good location but not what I was expecting. The room wasn't very clean, with hair in the bathroom. We were on the first floor and the view was of a concrete wall with an array of cigarette butts and pigeon poop outside the window. The positives included free water, a comfortable bed, and a large bathroom with a good shower. When we went to check out the computer was down and the elevator took so long we skipped it. Luckily it was just one flight of stairs. I still haven't received the bill they were supposed to email me. It wasn't a terrible experience but for the price and the name, I was expecting something nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear NCtravelz,
I'm really sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. We're going to do everything we can to fix that, as cleanliness is on top of our priority list and should be impeccable, therefor I've shared your review with our team members and learn from it. I apologize as well for the inconveniences due to the hotel software that was down and for not sending you the invoice yet. It's not possible to trace you, based on your Tripadvisor user name, so could you please send me your email details (rogier.hurkmans@cpbxl.be), so we can send you your invoice immediately. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again, when you visit Brussels in the future.
Best regards
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I came to Brussels for a conference and stayed at this wonderful property with my Wife. After an overnight flight, we arrived at 10:30 am. The staff was concerned that our room was not ready even though we never expected it to be ready and we were staying on points. We were even upgraded to the Club Floor. The front desk staff were all very friendly and attentive as was the housekeeping staff. We went to the bar every night to have a glass of wine together, alone. The bar staff were friendly and attentive. They treated us with kindness and respect and recognized us as soon as we came in the door. The restaurant manager went out of his way to make us feel at home. The location of the hotel is across from the pedestrian mall leading to the Grande Place. Than you for an incredible stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawtraveler084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Lawtraveler084 ,
It was great to have hosted you and your wife for the conference you've visited. We are really pleased that we could provide you a memorable stay. I've shared your 5 star review and comments with all of our team members and they are very appreciative. This is why it's great to be in the hospitality business. It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
With very best regards
Rogier M. Hurkmans and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is in a nice central location to Brussels city. Be advised that the Grand Palace and most other attractions are a good walking distance. Best to take a cab or Metro if you are not accustom to walking the busy streets. There is a bit of construction in the area, but was noise or congestion was not a problem. Parking is in an underground garage across street from property 14 Euro a day. Nice park across street also. Restaurant was very good and surprisingly affordable. I had the dinner special which was only 25 Euro. Menu is on an IPad.....pretty cool. The staff at restaurant and reception were excellent and very accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mark M,
Thanks a lot for choosing our hotel and for your nice comments. Construction to upgrade the area around our hotel is indeed going on, but the main works will be finished within a few months (scheduled end Sep 14). We are in close contact with the contractors to limit the inconvenience for our guests to a minimum, and I'm happy to experience that the works didn't disturb your stay with us at all. It's also great to hear that you liked our restaurant and our service in general so much. This is exactly why we are in the hospitality business.
We look forward to your next stay!
Mit freundlichen Gruessen nach Muenchen
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Pros : Great location seconds away from Rogier metro and shopping district. Decor and style of the hotel was very nice. Large room size, with plenty of storage, fantastic gym and sauna, wi fi signal average in room. Good service from staff . Large bathroom with adequate supplies.

Cons: Poor lighting, best to ask for a window room. Sofa bed was uncomfortable, asked for a extra matress topper but they had non available. Issues with room key, had to be reset a few times . Asked to clean room but wasn't cleaned. Also beware of city tax charge around 7 euros a day, ask before you book.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 26Benson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear 26Benson,
Many thanks for staying with us and for your constructive feedback. We will surely work on the improvement points you mention, as we aim to provide our guests a memorable stay. Thanks for sharing the issue with the City Tax, which is charged at EUR 7 per room/per night in our hotel. On the IHG / Crowne Plaza hotels website, this is always clearly stated, but unfortunately there are internet portals that don't mention this. Their offered rates look cheaper, and guests assume they book a better rate....., apart from this, our own website offers many more advantages.
We really look forward to welcome you back.
Best regards
Rogier M. Hurkmans
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel itself is quite nice, it's a little older which in Europe means character and reminds you that it's not a bland American hotel despite the brand. The water pressure in my room was abysmal but more than made up for by a decent size room.

What inspired me to write this review was the breakfast. I just got back from it, and after they charged me an extra EUR 37.50 I was expecting something decent - no such luck. Baked beans and insipid scrambled eggs - even the coffee and pastries were lousy - in Belgium! Save your money and grab a coffee and pastry from a coffee shop instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherwood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rm_hurkmans, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Sherwood2014,
It was our great pleasure to have you as our guest and it's nice to see you like our hotel. I'm am really sorry to experience that you were not satisfied with the value for money of our breakfast buffet, which we charge at EUR 27,50. I am fully aware, that this information reaches you too late now, but when booking your stay on our IHG website, we offer rates including breakfast and there is also the possibility to add breakfast to a room booking, at a discounted price of EUR 15. I hope you get to our side of the world again and it would be our pleasure to be your host again. You can always contact us directly at info@cpbxl.be and we can assist you with a rate including breakfast.
Kindest regards
Rogier M. Hurkmans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

In a central location and right next to Rogier metro station - lines 2, 3, 4 and 6 (which is also a bonus). Once the current construction outside the hotel is complete, the area will no doubt be reasonably presentable again (which it isn't at the moment).
I had room with a very disappointing view of another room that seemed to be only a few feet away. I'm pretty sure this is down to the older style construction of this hotel and it wouldn't bother some people, but I guess I like a bit of a view.
The room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom and a very large hand basin.
Lighting in the room was relatively poor for working, but perfectly acceptable for lounging around or watching TV (lots of international channels by the way including several in English)
I had a room service meal that was pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask about the view from your room if you are concerned about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#45 of 199 in Brussels
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace

Address: Rue Gineste 3, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £61 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Northern Quarter, Crowne Plaza® Brussels - Le Palace hotel adds elegance to business trips. Built in 1908, our hotel is fully renovated and offers the most contemporary, business-ready amenities. Ideal for corporate travel and events, our hotel is located near Brussels Airport and the city centre. Guests can get to the European Commission and NATO – as well as major companies like Procter and Gamble and BNP Paribas Fortis – via the Rogier metro station, just next to the hotel. Most of our guestrooms overlook the Botanical Garden of Brussels, where visitors can find art exhibitions and concerts, or simply stroll the grounds. Within our historic hotel, you can work or work out anytime; Wi-Fi, Business Centre and Fitness Centre facilities are available around the clock. Guests can also benefit from a discounted rate at the InterParking Rogier, situated at the back of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brussels
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing