We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, averagely decent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well located, averagely decent business hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed on 24th Floor - the water pressure to the basin was so low it was hard to tell if the tap was actually on. Brush your teeth with the complementary water instead - not the end of the world. The shower could have been used to strip paint - seriously, the pressure was incredible - which matters more to me.

WiFi was OK around 4-5MB and stable, the TV was OK with some British channels. The standard of fixtures and fittings in the room was OK for the type of hotel (weird gap on the side of the bath panel - room 2401) but generally clean and usable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The fitness centre was basic but seemed to get better during my stay - a water dispenser arrived at some point in the week but wasn't plumbed in. I thought maybe a TV or some music would have improved it but I guess having a fitness centre in a budget hotel at all is pretty good.

Noise wasn't too bad so high up, but you definitely are aware that you are in the middle of everything with distant sirens. That said, location for Rogier Metro station is ideal and there are a number of places to eat in the vicinity. Breakfast was fairly standard fare, lots of choice. For some reason the milk was always warm which I found a bit offputting!

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid the noise, the lifts are pretty quick so no hardship
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nidieu_nimaitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your objective feedback on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We verified the water pressure in your room. Indeed, the tab in the sink wasn’t running correctly due to the filter in the tap. This was replaced by our technical department. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception if you notice these things during your stay, so that it can be fixed straight away by our technical department. We are aware the rooms should be impeccable upon arrival, unfortunately some things do escape the attention of the floor supervisor. We will inform our Housekeeping Manager, so that in the future a better follow up can be done.

The water pressure of the showers has been verified and adjusted as well by our technical department. It is now running at a lower pressure and it can also be manually adjusted by the mixing tap.

The fitness was indeed recently renovated and we decided to re-open it before the water dispenser was delivered. Unfortunately our supplier did not deliver all the pieces, so it could not be installed right away. This has been resolved in the mean time.
There was a TV before the renovations. We intend to re-install it, the new flat screen was ordered, but we are still awaiting delivery.

We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast. Nevertheless, we are sorry to hear that the milk wasn’t properly cooled. It is kept in the fridge before serving, so we’ll take it up with our F&B manager, so that he can verify why the milk container does not keep it cooled. We do apologize for the inconvenience and will do the necessary follow-up.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your visit to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    516
    235
    61
    38
See reviews for
98
325
47
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Came to Brussels for a long weekend break to take in the Christmas fairs, light show and to visit Brugge (3 nights 4 days).
The hotel is ideally sited for this and is a 5-10 minute easy walk from the train station after a 12 minute journey from the airport and then from there a nice 20 min walk along a boulevard to the main areas and markets. There is a metro station right outside the hotel if your lazy.
Hotel is clean and colourful, not a great fan on the seating which where mainly plastic and not comfortable. The staff were excellent and David on the desk especially was a commendable asset to the hotel giving us good information about places we wanted to visit and was a friendly face throughout our stay, nice chats on our returns in the evening.
The room was small but fore-filled all our needs great tv with stations from home (uk) and with a good alarm built in. Shower excellent, clever soap and shampoo dispensers - hairdryer - small fridge.
Hotel is highly commended for its environmental policy - by hanging a tag on your door you can request your room is not serviced in exchange for a 5 euro voucher for use at the hotel bar. So a free beer for picking your own towel up and quickly arranging your own bedding. Bed excellent but pillows too soft, needed to have more.
Did not use but fitness centre and sauna on top floor looked good.
Access to free internet by using one of the two computers in the hotel lobby.
Pet hate is why all hotels insist on charging extra for wifi and the thorn was no exception. If must just add it to the overall cost and then say free!
Good breakfast in the mornings with really excellent coffee but my only real complaint from our stay was that the food was warm at best. During my stay they were serving small sausage balls and I was at the service when they topped up the heated container - they were put in stone cold right from the fridge is my guess relying on the heater to heat them - very bad practice!
Had the food been hot would of been a real joy. Lots of options.

Would we stay again ?

Despite the lukewarm breakfast Absolutely if only to say Hello to David again and because overall the hotel was in the perfect location for a weekend break when sightseeing the christmas markets which is why we came.
Thank you, I'm hard to please but you did it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your positive evaluation on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are delighted to see you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff and that you appreciated the location and infrastructure of the hotel. We will definitely pass on your appreciation to our receptionists, as encouraging words are always nice to hear.

Nevertheless we regret to hear that the food at the breakfast was not properly heated and we do apologize for this. We will inform our F&B manager, so that he can take it up with the kitchen. This is definitely not acceptable and the food should be hot when served. The serving plates are only there to keep the food warm on the buffet. We thank you for pointing that out to us.

We have 4 lobby computers in total, all with free internet, 2 at the entrance of the restaurant and 2 more in the conference area. The WIFI is for free the first hour, afterwards it is with a daily fee of 6,95 EUR. If you book your stay through our own website, the WIFI is included for the entire stay. But we will look into your suggestion to include the WIFI for everyone.

Extra pillows or bedding can always be requested at the reception. We recently ordered some new pillows with another supplier, so that we'll have a wider variety of thickness of pillows.

As you have noticed during your stay, we are concerned about our environment and take specific actions. One of these actions is indeed to invite our guests who are staying for more than one night not to have their room serviced. In exchange, a 5 € voucher is given which can be used at the bar. But you can also donate this voucher to GoodPlanet. This organisation teaches youngsters to live in a sustainable way.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to our capital.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a hotel in central Brussels, just next to all the other big hotels. I found the hotel clean, service was friendly, but the overall image was a bit on the more worn side. I was disappointed that WiFi was not included in the room price - I think network access should definitely be included for any business oriented hotel these days.
The sound isolation could be better as well, the traffic was quite noticeable even with ear plugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are sorry to hear we were not able to convince you of the efforts we've made to pimp up the hotel by the recent renovations of the bar, restaurant, reception and rooms. Only some meeting rooms remain still to be renovated, but this should be done next year .

The internet is free of charge. We have 4 computers in the lobby with free internet. The WIFI is free in the entire hotel for the first hour, afterwards it is indeed with a charge. If you book through our webpage, the WIFI is for free during the entire stay. Our corporate and MICE clients have also the WIFI included in their package. We’ll look into the possibility to include the WIFI in the room price of the remaining reservations.

The hotel is situated in the centre of the capital, therefore outside noises can not be avoided, unfortunately. The hotel has 29th floors, the higher your room is, the lesser you here from the outside noise. We started up the project to have the single glassed windows changed into double glassed windows, which should improve the sound isolation.

We do hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon a next occasion, so that you can see we continuously work to improve our guest's comfort.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Thon Hotel is in Brussell's centre .Hotel is very nice and clean.Service is good,personnel kind.
Rooms are comfortable,you can see a nice scene from hotel,especially at evening.Price is also suitable,not expensive. Breakfast is exellent,you can also find everything what you need,even an umbrella.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1103Fatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your positive comment on your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

It is always a pleasure to see that the efforts we make to improve the hotel are well appreciated by our guests.

Your feedback regarding our staff will certainly be shared with them as your words are very encouraging and stimulating.

Breakfast being an important meal, we find it our task to offer a wide choice of hot and cold items. We are pleased to see you appreciated your breakfast at our hotel.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next visit to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as part of a group of 20 business travelers. Overall impression was positive and would hapily stay here again. Its a fairly standard business class hotel, with a very modern clean layout to the foyer/bar/restaurant area (which is one large open area).
The rooms are average size, nice simple layout. Clean, functional, quite and comfortable. The desk space is on the small side for business travellers who are working and the in-room safe isn't large enough for a bigger laptop. Also internet was expensive, but thats a common complain in many Brussels hotels.
Breakfast was a fairly standard affair, with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. Being a business hotel, I had expected queues at 7.30-8.00am breakfast, but its big enough area, so no problems.
Hotel location is very good, close to many commission offices and most importantly a metro stop at the hotel, and a taxi stand just outside to the left.
On the whole, I would happily recommend and return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your positive comment on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.
We are happy to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay and that you would recommend us.

The rooms and public areas of the hotel were recently renovated and we are pleased to see that you appreciated this.

Our safes are indeed not big enough to stall away laptops, but you can always leave your laptop in the care of the reception, if you do not trust to leave it in the room. Nevertheless, we maximized security in the hotel, so that not everyone can access the different floors and the rooms can not be entered by unauthorized persons.

The internet on the 4 lobby computers is free. If you want to use the WIFI, it is free for the first hour, afterwards it is with a daily cost of 6,95 EUR. As from the beginning of 2014, our corporate clients, who reserved through our MICE department, have WIFI included, as well as our Thon members.

May we point out, that besides the standard rooms, we also have superior rooms and suites, both rooms which are reasonably bigger than the standard room. If you value the spaciousness of your hotel room, these rooms would be more suitable for you the next time you should stay with us.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next visit to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel wasn't among the cheapest ones, and breakfast and wifi was not included in the price.
I stayed there for 5 nights, attending a conference the first 3 days.
The food was excellent, lunches with a lot of tasty food, and breakfast with a really great selection.
The room was spacious enough, clean and nice. I like the option to skip cleaning of the room and towels every day, environmental wise, and you actually get a 5 euro voucher to use in the bar for choosing this option.
The conference center was really nice, with good facilities.
The location is good, only across the road for a really great shoppingstreet leading you down to the Grand Place. The hop-on-hop-off bus has a stop right outside the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaia Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your positive feedback on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

We are happy to see that you had a nice experience in our hotel and that you appreciate our breakfast. We try to offer a wide variety of different products, so that everyone finds what he/she’s looking for in a good breakfast.

May we just point out, that we only do lunches upon reservations, such as for conferences. We do not have a la carte restaurant open for our guests. But there are some good restaurants in the direct neighborhood, if you do not belong to a group reservation. Our reception staff Is happy to help you with some suggestions.

Our room prices follow the offer and demand on the market. During fair periods the room night is more expensive than normal. We are sorry to hear that you believe the price was too high.

We are concerned about our environment and take specific actions. One of these actions is indeed to invite our guests staying for more than one night to not have their room serviced. In exchange, a 5 € voucher is given which can be used at The O Bar. But you can also donate this voucher to GoodPlanet. This organization teaches youngsters to live in a sustainable way.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next conference in Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senglea, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The receptionists are wonderful, the facilities are wonderful, Breakfast was superb. The location is also quite central and close to the various important buildings in Brussels. It is highly recommended for short business trips in the centre of Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElkeCeulemans, P.A. to the General Manager at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear traveler,

We thank you for your comment on your stay with us at Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre.

It is always a pleasure to read that you, as our guest, enjoyed your time with us and that you were happy with the service and infrastructure.

We highly appreciate your recommendation.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again upon your next business trip to Brussels.

Best regards
Elke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
2,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#41 of 199 in Brussels
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre

Property: Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Address: Avenue du Boulevard 17, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium (Formerly Tulip Inn Brussels)
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre is a hotel that offers infrastructure in keeping with both the requirements of business travellers and tourist alike. The hotel is located in the Brussels city centre and possesses 13 function rooms of which the largest has a capacity of 400 persons. It is also the first Thon hotel which offers express check-in/check-out kiosks that provide the ultimate level of self-service automation, privacy and convenience for hotel guests.Express Check-in / Check-out:This solution has been installed to leverage your comfort level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing