We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the core traveller needs met here”
Review of Hotel des Colonies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Colonies
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a very comfortable and reasonable hotel. We paid approx 55 euros per night, and for that very good price we got possibly the most comfortable hotel bed ever, lots of hot water at any time, a quiet and convenient location (approx 15 mins walk from the Grand Place, and only 100 meters from the nearest metro station), and free WiFi. Yes it looks a bit tired overall, and there is some flaking paint in places, but overall this is a very comfortbale and good value hotel. One other tip - don't spend 15 euors per head on breakfast - there are literally dozens of cafes across the road for a lot less.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear paulspod,

First of all I would like to thank you for your very kind comment about your stay at the hotel Colonies.

I am glad to read that you appreciate the rate you paid for your stay, the location of the hotel and also the Wifi we offer to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you at the hotel Colonies during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Just spent a few days here for a visit to the Christmas markets and local hostelries.
There is an interesting history attached to this hotel and some of the features from years gone by can be seen particularly in the foyer. Yes the rooms are slightly tired but very clean and comfortable. This is a 3 star hotel reasonably priced for this time of the year so I don't mind seeing a bit of woodchip on the walls.
The staff were very helpful, prompt and polite. I only took breakfast on one morning and as is an increasing trend in 3 star hotels these days the coffee is from a machine which puts me off. The food was OK but my prefernce was to go towards the city centre for pancakes or waffles.
It was only a 15 minute walk to the grande square and I was able to walk to most parts of cental Brussels.
Overall I would certainly stay again, ideal for a short break.

Room Tip: My room was fine on the 5th floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Mark P,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your very kind and detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel Colonies.

I am glad to read that you appreciated the historic style of our hotel, the cleanliness of your room and also the good location of the hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as our priority is to satisfy our guests during their stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel Colonies for your next stay in Brussels.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Room has peeling paint & wallpaper. Hallway noise is very loud as doors slam hard and walls while thick, are poorly insulated for sound. Extremely slow WiFi, especially in the evenings. Beds are soft in the middle and pillows are lumpy. Outlets? Two, and one is for the lamp across the other side of the room from where the beds are. The hotel confuses "historic" with "too cheap to fix up." Location is good, which for the price, this is likely what you get.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

Room has peeling paint & wallpaper. Hallway noise is very loud as doors slam hard and walls while thick, are poorly insulated for sound. Extremely slow WiFi, especially in the evenings. Beds are soft in the middle and pillows are lumpy. Outlets? Two, and one is for the lamp across the other side of the room from where the beds are. The hotel confuses "historic" with "too cheap to fix up." Location is good, which for the price, this is likely what you get

Réponse:
Dear Louis C,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time to share your stay with us at the hotel Colonies.

I am plesed to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the price you paid for your stay.

A lot of guests come to enjoy the special atmosphere of the hotel Colonies and are generally satisfy of what we offer. I am sorry that you did find it too cheap for you.

We offer the free WiFi to all our guests. We don’t’ know how many of them will use it and it is probably because a lot of person where using the wireless in the same time that it was slower than normal.

Despite this, we hope to have the luck and the pleasure to welcome you again in the future at the hotel Colonies for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

stayed in a triple room with 2 kids. Although first impressions are that the rooms are a bit "shabby" , Service was good, the stay was comfortable in a good location near Rogier Metro & well worth the price.

Room Tip: There is an extra tourist tax of 4 euros per night ,payable on the final bill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenon308daily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear xenon308daily,

We would like to thank you for sharing your kind feedback of your stay at the hotel Colonies with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your comfortable room, the good location of the hotel, which is near a metro station, and the service offered by our staff during your stay.

We hope that all of you enjoyed your stay in Brussels and we would be pleased to welcome you at the hotel Colonies in the future.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

A nice enough hotel but bathroom needs upgraded. Shower on a hose from the bath taps. We visited Brussels for the football and found some nice pubs. The locals are not what I expected though a lot of North African people or of that decent. It seemed to be a bit of a split. Some strange looks as if we were being watched all the time. Not a place to walk alone for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Chris M,

I would like to thank you for taking time in order to share your recent stay at the hotel Colonies.

I am pleased to hear that you found some nice pubs as you came in Brussels for the football and I hope you enjoyed it.

I am glad to hear that you liked the central location of our hotel and I took well note of your comment about our bathroom. Be sure that we will do the necessary in order to improve the satisfaction of our guests.

I thank you once again for your comment and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you at the hotel Colonies for your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Old fashioned design and features in public areas. Rooms are pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Close to North Station and the main shopping drag. An understated place, but worth a look. Service is minimalist but ok. Linked internally to two neighbouring hotels.

Room Tip: Can be noisy at the front. Some rooms modernised, others less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Rasmie,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your stay at the hotel Colonies with us.

We are glad to hear that you liked the rooms as well as the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in Brussels.

We have taken carefully note of your comments concerning the service which was minimalist for you. Be sure that we will do the necessary in order to improve the satisfaction of our guests.

During your next stay in Brussels, we really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel Colonies.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

stayed here in march 2012.good clean hotel.central for everything.staff very friendly.shops bars restaurants very near by.rooms clean but small. stayed in a triple room all right for the price for 4 nights

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Phiton,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience at Hotel Des Colonies.

We are very glad that you enjoyed especially the central location of the hotel, the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff.

We assure that we will continue in this direction in order to always improve our customers’ satisfaction.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at Hotel Des Colonies very soon.

Kind regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siru
Hotel Siru
#6 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#76 of 199 in Brussels
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £51 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing