We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, clean and cozy place to stay in Brussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel des Colonies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Colonies
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A nice, clean and cozy place to stay in Brussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nicely located in mid center of Brussels, at 5 min walking distance to Brussels Nord railway station, 15-20 min walking distance to the main historic center it's the right place for a decent value to spend some days in Brussels.
Clean rooms, professional concierge (despite the fact that they missed to wake us up in the last day). In a word it's a place where I'll like to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for inside facing rooms- you're avoiding the normal traffic street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Cristian C,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Concerning your stay, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the professionalism of our staff.

The location of the hotel is indeed ideal, close to the center and with a lot of public transportation and taxis around. It is the place to sleep if you want to have a quick access to all the main area of Brussels!

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    135
    149
    45
    21
See reviews for
46
85
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have staid in this hotel up to three times a year but have not been recently for quite a,few years. Lovely hotel great staff and friendly. Clean rooms and very good continental breakfast. Will definitely go back maybe this year.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kath R,

It is always a pleasure to read great comments from our guests even if they stayed long time ago.

We are glad to see that all your stays were a success and that you enjoyed everything.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon, again.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The poorest value I've encountered in the last three or four years of European travel (during which I'm typically on the road at least two nights out of seven). I was unlucky enough to book ten double rooms at this hotel for the group with which I was travelling, and therefore am in a position to confirm that its deficiencies are systemic throughout the establishment. The rooms are grimy, thoroughly down at heel, full of dust and, seemingly, only recently converted from residential use by the simple expedient of thrusting the cheapest obtainable bed into what appears to have been somebody's drawing room. Several of my party found insects -- dead, fortunately -- scattered across their own rooms, or in the inadequately cleaned bathrooms. Every indication tends to the conclusion that the proprietors of this hotel are bent on extracting the maximum amount of revenue from it while putting as little as possible into it. I can think of no reason why anyone who has had the misfortune to stay at the Hotel des Colonies should ever wish to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Businesstraveller5,

We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I dearly apologize to you and your group for the inconvenience and bad experience you had.

Please be assured that we have taken immediate action in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is nice, if a little dates. The hotel shares a reception with Hotel Siri which can result in a long wait where you would like to speak to you anyone on reception.

The rooms are clean, and the staff are friendly. The hotel is in a good location and you can get a taxi back from the centre of town for around 10 euros, if you don't want to walk.

I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmackay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Jmackay87,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize for the waiting time that occurred in the reception and we hope it did not affect your day. Concerning your stay, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the professionalism of our staff.

The location of the hotel is indeed ideal, close to the center and with a lot of public transportation and taxis around. It is the place to sleep if you want to have a quick access to all the main area of Brussels!

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

As I travel on my own quite often its useful to find a single room. Small and basic but there's nothing wrong with that if you're out all day. The shower was old, tired looking but worked great. The shower gel didn't pump correctly so had to break the bottle open. There's a TV in the room with BBC 1 which is decent enough. My balcony looked out onto some pretty terrible sights. The hotel is very old, open since 1901 and hasn't been renovated since the 1950s and you can tell. Its a real old experience with a shoddy lift and there's a stale smell throughout the hotel but actually if you just need a place to sleep it suffices. Staff are OK I guess.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Crazy_Jim_83,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay in Brussels.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our room category and our TV channel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Hotel des Colonies. Thank you for trusting us to host your stay.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

For a hotel that is so central for about £40 a night it is brilliant. It had a secure 24 hour parking centre across the road for 15EURO a night. The hotel was basic without any tea/coffee facilities but we only had one day to go around Brussels so it was perfect for us a young couple. It takes 15 minutes approx to walk to the centre of Brussels to see The Grand Square and shops. You can walk around to see other sights and we noticed a metro system but we were happy to walk. Cannot fault this hotel as it was so cheap and so central.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RoxyC22,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay in Hotel des Colonies.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our central location, two steps away from the Grand Place and various shops and restaurants.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon at Hôtel des Colonies.
Thank you for trusting us to host your stay.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have stayed with a group for 3 nights on November'13. I was really satisfied with everything. A perfect breakfast, a kind staff and a nice renovated room. Very good location: in front of metro Rogier and not far from the Grand Place. The room was very clean and nice, quite spacious and comfortable, good equipped. No noice. A good choice for travellers of various interests. Would come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Daina V,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay in Brussels.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our service quality, the staff, location and the comfort in the room.

Your encouraging comments give us great motivation on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will meet your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon at Hôtel des Colonies.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siru
Hotel Siru
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
1.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#99 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Colonies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Colonies

Property: Hotel des Colonies
Address: Rue des Croisades 6-10 | Sint-Joost-ten-Node, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Colonies 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Colonies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Colonies Hotel
Des Colonies Brussels
Hotel Des Colonies Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing