We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Colonies
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Siru(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
NH Brussels Bloom(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western City Centre(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Progress Hotel(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hilton Brussels City(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel New Galaxy(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Albergo(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chao Chow Palace(Saint-Josse-ten-Noode)
US$73
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
38
154
177
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
154
177
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget staytrain stationminute strolltwin bedswonderful hotelcity centreconvenient locationsiriluggagenoord
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is extremely central. The room for 3 was very well sized. We also had a big bathroom. We opted not to book breakfast as one of us was a Coeliac and from talking on the phone there was hardly any knowledge of Gluten free products. Other than this I will use this hotel again as its also walking distance to both the Metro and the train station. Only an hour away from Bruges and 2 hours from Ipres. Also very easy to get tours. And of course for those shoppers its 5 minutes across the main avenue and you are into the shopping centre. Just don't forget your plastic money!

Room Tip: first floor room 131. no outside noise at all, with a large window onto a wide ibnternal shaft so ample natural light
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian140857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Christian140857,
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the size of your room and its equipment. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect, close to the center, shops and restaurants and with all the public transportation (metro, bus, taxis…), in addition the train station is only 7 minutes far by walk.
Our American buffet style breakfast is the best way to start your day in the capital. We offer a wide range of bread, pastries, fruits, cereals and hot dishes accompanied with a hot beverage or a fresh fruit juice.

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night in May 2014...if I had not been with a group, I would nit have even stayed the one night. Our room was filthy, there was a drainage problem that meant every time you ran water in the tub/shower, the sink, or flushed the toilet, water and other debris would back up into the toilet. It was disgusting and smelled. I have stayed in numerous old, small hotels throughout Europe and have rarely, had any problems. This one was simply terrible and the staff was rude. Do yourself a HUGE favor and book a room across the square at the Hilton, which is what I ended up doing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsazsa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear zsazsa17,
First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing up this matter to us. We would like to apologize for the issue you encountered in the room and the inconvenience it caused.
Please be sure that the concerned departments will be informed and actions will be taken.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nicely located in mid center of Brussels, at 5 min walking distance to Brussels Nord railway station, 15-20 min walking distance to the main historic center it's the right place for a decent value to spend some days in Brussels.
Clean rooms, professional concierge (despite the fact that they missed to wake us up in the last day). In a word it's a place where I'll like to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for inside facing rooms- you're avoiding the normal traffic street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Cristian C,

First of all I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Concerning your stay, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the professionalism of our staff.

The location of the hotel is indeed ideal, close to the center and with a lot of public transportation and taxis around. It is the place to sleep if you want to have a quick access to all the main area of Brussels!

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have staid in this hotel up to three times a year but have not been recently for quite a,few years. Lovely hotel great staff and friendly. Clean rooms and very good continental breakfast. Will definitely go back maybe this year.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Kath R,

It is always a pleasure to read great comments from our guests even if they stayed long time ago.

We are glad to see that all your stays were a success and that you enjoyed everything.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon, again.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The poorest value I've encountered in the last three or four years of European travel (during which I'm typically on the road at least two nights out of seven). I was unlucky enough to book ten double rooms at this hotel for the group with which I was travelling, and therefore am in a position to confirm that its deficiencies are systemic throughout the establishment. The rooms are grimy, thoroughly down at heel, full of dust and, seemingly, only recently converted from residential use by the simple expedient of thrusting the cheapest obtainable bed into what appears to have been somebody's drawing room. Several of my party found insects -- dead, fortunately -- scattered across their own rooms, or in the inadequately cleaned bathrooms. Every indication tends to the conclusion that the proprietors of this hotel are bent on extracting the maximum amount of revenue from it while putting as little as possible into it. I can think of no reason why anyone who has had the misfortune to stay at the Hotel des Colonies should ever wish to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Businesstraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Hotel des Colonies, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Businesstraveller5,

We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

I dearly apologize to you and your group for the inconvenience and bad experience you had.

Please be assured that we have taken immediate action in order to avoid any reoccurrence in the future.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews