We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Royale
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Small hotel in a good location at a fair price.
Stayed for one night at end of September.
Room was spacious and clean staff helpful and friendly.
Close to Metro and tram and short walk to some good restaurants etc.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    139
    156
    45
    31
See reviews for
34
158
51
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Staying in the Villa Royale for two nights on October 1st and 2nd while attending a conference was a bit of an experience. While the hotel was clean and central the room was really tiny. I have lodged my cat in a cattery for a short time while I am having home refurbishments done and I have to say the cat probably has a bigger suite than I had. the room was located on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel and was extremely noisy. I had the window open but closed on second night and the air con was a mystery. while I do appreciate the importance of conserving energy it was a little disconcerting that the lights had a life of their own and switched themselves off at crucial points....such as when I was half way through applying my eyeliner! Breakfast was fine and average. the bar service was eclectic and we had to do a lot of blagging to persuade the desk clerk to serve us a drink when we arrived back in at 10 30 pm. Staff generally were less than convivial and the computer at reception seemed to take a long time to process anything. While trying to manipulate one of the shower heads I accidentally wet my hair and the hairdryer didn't work. there was nowhere to hang the towels. It was quirky. Cheap and central but I expected basil Fawlty to appear at any minute

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bermb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I got this room from online reservation offers. It really worth every penny. Or should I say every Euros! The room was big, can fit a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids) at the price of twin sharing. Very clean, facilities seems like new. Or maybe they have just refurbished it. There is a tram stop just across the hotel and a train station by walking distance. A convenient shop and restaurant nearby. Just not advisable to go out wandering at night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorianoSecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tver, Tver', Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in Villa Royale for 2 nights in august 2013. We had a room with windows facing Rue Royale. It was a little bit noisy if windows are open, but there is a/c in room. Room service is ok. Location is also convenient. 100 m from botanique metro station and 2 km from Grand Place. Near the hotel there is a Carrefour mini-market. Nearby you can find some nightshops and diners.
Price is also god for Bruxelles

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

To start with the good: the hotel is OK, decent price, decent location, free wireless internet that actually worked  and the bed had a good mattress (that is pretty important for me). Now for the “not so good” part: the room is very small (so small that I had no space to even open the luggage) and the stuff is not very… welcoming (don’t get me wrong I had no problem with them but they did nothing to make my stay any better, no helpful information when I need it, no smile, no hello, no goodbye). Overall it is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariusNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very average hotel in Brussels. We stayed there for few days for New Year's Eve, so prices were of course pretty high. People on the reception were ok I guess, but we didn't feel very welcome as nobody said good morning nor goodbye. Location is also quite ok, especially if you don't want to pay extra just for the fact that a hotel is closer to the city center, most of the attractions are in a walking distance anyway. Wi-Fi only worked in the lobby, so it wasn't very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shade4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

At the begenning of cheking in, front desk person started strange complainig for Asian customers. Was that joking, or testing me? It was a first and last strange experience during nice trip in Bergium.

Room Tip: Noizy in the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Centre
BEST WESTERN City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Royale

Property: Hotel Villa Royale
Address: Rue Royale 195, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Hotel Brussels
Hotel Villa Royale Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing