We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Royale
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

For the price and previous reviews I wasn't expecting much from this hotel. The room was decent but a bit small and the shower head didn't work properly. However, very close to botanique metro station and walkable to Gare du Nord. Also walkable to Grand palace.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Asam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    143
    162
    47
    34
See reviews for
34
162
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reaading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

At first me and my fiancé arrived early from flying in, and first impressions were of a clean well thought out hotel in a nice location.

Unfortunately what was to follow was not what I would have expected from a 3 star hotel, for starters it was a struggle to manuver our bags around the cleaners trolley in the narrow passages, the toilet not properly fixed to the floor was filling with water all day and night. Then there was the shower I like a power shower but my god a very hard to use skin ripping or dribbling burning or freezing. Another top point was looking onto rue royal and having an unbearable road and tram noise all day and night with draufty I'll fitted old windows. We now come to my last nights stay where we were not under the impression that you have to be woken up by a decorator with a paintbrush and filling knife in his hand despite having a do not disturb sign on the door. After being rudely awakend we chose to pop Down for some breakfast we were rudely told we had not paid for breakfast and we should immediately go to reception, because couldn't be put on the room of course, it then became clear why they wanted money upfront stale bread, with nasty ham and cheese, enough said worst continental breakfast ever. One redeeming thing about this Fawlty towers of a hotel was the friendly receptionist who helped with getting us back to the airport and were to go whilst in Brussels. If I ever go again I will certainly be avoiding the hotel with the promising a name

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is the epitome of horrible. The carpet is dirty, the showers are growing MOLD and the furniture inside the room is soiled. The heat also in the room didn't work. My wife and I, changed rooms 3x, we had to warm the room with a blow dryer. My wife left a piece of jewelry in one of the rooms we were transferring from, we asked for the key to get in the room to get the jewelry, the staff swore up and down that within an hour after midnight someone had occupied and we were NOT allowed to go in the room to retrieve our jewelry. I CHECKED OUT OF THERE INSTANTLY. I would suggest staying across the street at Hotel Bloom! Excellent staff and VERY GREAT HOTEL.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DreEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

For reference: I stayed on room 504

* Pros: Big room, big bathroom with a bathtub, minibar, tv with good options, nice comfortable bed (more on the soft than firm side, but no complaints my overly sensitive spine), good pillows, clean carpets and outstanding overall cleanliness. Less than 5 minutes walk from Botanique station, which connects you to the city center and Midi Station. If you don't feel like walking, there's a tram station which stops on the corner of the hotel's entrance. Wifi worked perfectly on my room. And despite of other reviewer's experiences, I encountered a very friendly staff and the heating worked perfectly=)

* Cons: There was a big (5-7cm) space between the door bottom and the floor. Although it was really nice and quiet at the time I stayed, I imagine it'll be noisy with other guests around. Also, the light from the corridor leaks inside through it.

Tip: Den Talurelekker is a good nearby option for a hearty belgian meal

Room Tip: Stayed on 504 and was not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I did like the hotel and is well locate for public transport and nearest the city I will be using this hotel each time I will travel to Belgium. The only problem was the wifi connection was not good from the room.

Room Tip: Single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Mambueni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I'm not particularly familiar with Brussels or, indeed, Belgium so I've no idea how this compares with its peers, whether it was value for money and how many of the odd things I noted would be found at any hotel. Nevertheless, as a British reviewer and business traveller, these were my thoughts:

Firstly, the hotel is very dark. The rooms, the lobby, the dining area. They all have plenty of lights, but are lit in a dim way that does not inspire. The light is not the only thing that's minimal. No kettles in rooms and, while the storage space was ample, just three coat hangers seems a bit odd.

I was staying with a number of colleagues and our experiences of our rooms varied from identical to mine to completely different. My room (Room 101 no less) opens into a bit of roof. You can see nothing from the room, but that doesn't stop the sound from the road carrying in. Colleagues facing the road reported greater noise. When someone, somewhere, smoked the smell quickly carried in the window. The temperature in the room was awful. Some radiators were behind screens meaning you couldn't turn them off easily. When you did, the room cooled so quickly you needed them on again.

The bathroom had a tub with a shower attached but no way of mounting it on the wall, no shower curtain, but also no plug to use the tub as a bath. The TV has a fair choice of international TV channels though, unusually, no BBC or Sky News.

The breakfast here was very good, with the exception of the coffee. Despite the dining room being painfully small at busy times, the choice is quite extensive and has something for most tastes.

The WiFi is free, but you wouldn't want to pay for it. It was utterly unreliable at seemingly random times.

Those moans aside, it was a really comfy bed, a spacious room, a good location and what seemed a fair price. Would I stay here again? Yeah, why not. Would I book this hotel as a first choice? Probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 unless space is your main priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_cw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I travel for work everyday and I have been in many hotels.
The receptionist told me that he had to charge me for hot water. The room does not even have a kettle. His excuse was that this is a three star hotel (so don't expect anything)

I've been in much worse hotels before but I get treated better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmarinnnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.0 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#100 of 199 in Brussels
703 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#4 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Royale

Property: Hotel Villa Royale
Address: Rue Royale 195, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Hotel Brussels
Hotel Villa Royale Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing