We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Progress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Progress Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Nice and clean room, very helpful receptionist who helped us to make a table reservation at a restaurant and even printed out the directions for us. The location is very good, close to Rogier metro stop and just 15 min walk to Grand Palace.

Did not book breakfast, as it seems to be way overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glemmy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Glemmy87,

Thank you for sharing with us your stay at hotel Progress.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room, the professionalism of our employees, and the central location of our hotel.

We truly hope to welcome you back at hotel Progress, during your next stay in Brussels.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    94
    49
    14
    10
See reviews for
4
52
29
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

The hotel is located about 5 mins walk from Rogier metro station and about 7-8 mins from Brussels North train station. It's easy to locate. The facilities provided are comparable to those of 4-5 star hotels. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean as well as the common areas throughout the hotel.The receptionist and officers are not very friendly but there's not much fuss about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank py0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear py0188,

We would like to thank you for having shared your experience at hotel Progress, with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoy the hotel’s central location.

The satisfaction of our guests is a daily work and be sure that such comments are very appreciated by all the employees who do their best to make you feel comfortable and happy.

We really hope to welcome you soon at Progress Hotel.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. It is close to the train stain Gare Nord, which can be reached from the airport within 15 minutes. Nice design, good location, friendly staff. Rooms are adequate for the price and clean. I asked the staff for train connections back to the airport. I am not sure if they did not understand my English, but for some reason the friendly staff printed out completely wrong information. Thank good I had free internet (slow) in the rooms so that I could find the right departure times. In summary, I can recommend this place if you are looking for a room to sleep, need internet access to check your e-mails. I did not eat or have breakfast in the hotel since there are many cafes in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room, rooms facing the back are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear To 16,
First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience during your stay at Hotel Progress.
We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room and the value for money.
We have taken carefully note of your comments concerning your disappointment about your inquiry.
We truly hope to see you soon.

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have stayed in a few hotels in Brussels and this is the best yet.

The location is where I like to stay, around Place Rogier. It is 5-10 minutes from Gare du Nord with a train service to the airport. This avoids expensive taxi fees from the airport. It is close to the city centre and there is a metro station nearby. I like to walk most places and then pick up my suitcase from the hotel before heading to the airport.

My room was a very good size and perfect for getting some work done with a large desk with a bright desk lamp and good chair. There were two additional armchairs with a table. I liked the free wifi though the signal was a bit weak in my room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. The room was modern, nicely decorated and so clean I wondered if it was recently painted. I couldn't hear anything from other rooms but unfortunately the air conditioning system did make a noise all the time even when switched off. A helpful member of staff came to help and while he did make it quieter, it was still noisy enough to need earplugs.

Breakfast was pleasant, a good selection of bread. I would like some more hot food, the only thing hot was boiled eggs. A quibble is I was not allowed sit down for breakfast until I got a breakfast voucher at reception. I was not told this when checking in and as I had just walked past reception it was slightly irritating having to go back.

Overall this hotel had everything I want in a business hotel, (except for an independent locking system on the door, ie chain). The price was reasonable for Brussels (which is more expensive than any other city I travel to). I will try it again and hopefully find a room without air conditioning noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubbie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear dubbie99,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your very kind and pleasant comment about your stay at the hotel Progress.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed that much you stay with us and especially that you liked the location of the hotel, the cleanliness and the size of your room and also the free Wifi.

We hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you again in our hotel Progress during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three times and it was always pleasant to stay there: clean design, good location and friendly staff. It has a convenient snack house just outside, with internal access for a quick meal.

Helpful?
Thank Rui G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Rui G,

I would like to thank you very much for your very kind comment about your stays in our Progress Hotel.

I am glad to read that you always enjoy the clean design and the good location of our hotel.

We always do our best in order to satisfy our guests and I am pleased to know that you also appreciate the staff of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Progress Hotel during your next stay in Brussels.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Located within a short 10 minute walk of the Nord Gard train station and very near the Rogier metro stop. The Hilton, Sheraton and Crown Plaza hotels are all located nearby. Check-in was quick and we were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready at 10:30 am. The room that we were assigned faced a courtyard and was very functional with a small work area. A coffee machine, kettle and small fridge were situated in a small sitting area which had an end table between two arm chairs.
The wireless internet worked well and the room also had a small safe. We also restocked the fridge with items purchase at the corner store. The price of breakfast was really steep at 15E – we just visited the nearby pastry shops or you can eat a nice breakfast for 5E next door.
A comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatharineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear CatharineB

Thank you very much for your very kind and detailed comment about your last stay at the Progress Hotel.

It’s a pleasure to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel as it is next to the metro stop Rogier and also that you enjoyed the fact we offer coffee in the room.

I am glad you appreciated that our wireless worked well during your stay and also the fact there is a safe in the room.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you at the Progress Hotel for your next stay in Brussels.

Best Regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My luggage was delayed 24 hours, no possibility of loaning me an adapter =12 euro.
Making plans on the telephone by calling another Brussels hotel, 56 euro.
Small SINGLE (TWIN) bed, whoa.... really? A bigger bed, another fee.


The location is decent, but for the price, travelers should get a little closer to Grand Place. There is a nice benefit of being close to the Nord train stop, so that might help you, but I'd rather be amongst the older buildings.

When booking this hotel, I was considering the Atlanta vs Progress, I'd make a different choice next time....

Room Tip: Facing the road, top floor, noise was not an issue as noted by other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear kyle m,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your stay at the hotel Progress with us on TripAdvisor.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is near the North Train Station. The Grand Place is only 10 minutes walking so it is not that far from the hotel.

In case you had booked the other hotel, it was nearest from the Grand Place of course but you have to know also that it is located on a very noisy street.

We really hope to have the pleasure and the luck to welcome you again at the Progress Hotel for your next stay in Brussels in order to show you how much we wish to satisfy our guests.

Best regards,
Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,680 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Progress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progress Hotel

Property: Progress Hotel
Address: Rue du Progres 9-13, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Progress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Progress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Progress Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing