We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business travelers - stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Progress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Progress Hotel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“business travelers - stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The internet is advertised as free. But it does not work. A poor hotel for a business traveler.
Breakfast is very poor quality. Hot food is cold.
Air conditioner is turned off at night so it gets very hot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Softcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Softcrab,

We are dearly sorry for all the inconvenience you have been through. Striving for a constant improvement of our services, please be assured that I will forward all your concerns and comments to the appropriate departments.

Our Free wifi service is available in the common areas and in the rooms. Depending on the time of the day, the service might get a little slower.

Concerning the air condition system in the room, they are customizable manually from the room and if needed our 24/7 reception team is always happy to help.

We are sincerely hoping to get the chance to welcome you back and show you what our hotel is really all about.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    96
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
4
53
29
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Had a 2-night stay for business meeting. Check-in was delayed due to fully booked hotel. Beyond this; - central location, friendly reception staff, clean and neat room with recently renovated bathroom. Breakfast basic, but sufficient. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiBr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear TiBr2014,

We would like to thank you for your time and your positive comments regarding your stay at the Progress Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed being in one of our 4 meeting rooms. Having friendly and welcoming staff is essential but it is even better when it is recognized by our guests.

The location of the Progress Hotel is indeed ideal with easy access to the center either by foot, bus, metro or taxi. Our buffet breakfast is the best start for a day full of visits or meetings and we are glad you liked it.

We are looking forward to welcome you again for your next business or leisure trip in Brussels.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The smallest shower I have ever had. Although I booked a larger room but the shower is NOT convenient in this hotel, and I don't have a big body.
Internet is fast but if you have to use VPN to connect to your work computers, you're at the wrong spot.
Staff are friendly. Location is OK and I didn't find it noisy.
Value for money? NO

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EverFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear EverFreedom,

We would like to thank you for the time and your comments regarding your stay at the Progress Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wifi connection, the friendliness of the staff and the quietness of the hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience and it is with a great attention that we have taken into account your comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip in Brussels and show you what Progress Hotel can really offer.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponferrada, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Good location and nice hotel. I got an upgraded room and it was really nice and clean. My colege's room was a little bit smaler. Good breakfast and very nice service. Nothing bad I can recall. I will repeat

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nafadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, Directeur général at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Nafadi,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Progress.

We are pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay with us for your trip.
We are glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of you room and it’s always a pleasure to upgrade our guests if it’s possible. It’s a pleasure to see that you enjoyed our full American buffet with a large choice of fresh juices, hot and cold dishes, a large variety of bread and pastries.

Your encouraging comments give us great motivation on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels. Thank you for trusting us to host your stay.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Entering the room was a great positive surprise: the single room was small but with a big desk, a very comfortable desk chair, water cattle and expresso machine for the quick morning coffee. Internet was fast and the room with its light colored walles and dark brown wood furniture create a very comfortable atmosphere. It met my needs exactly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biancasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Biancasec,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay at Hôtel Progress.

We are pleased to see that you had a pleasant stay with us for your business trip.

Your encouraging comments give us great motivation on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels. Thank you for trusting us to host your stay.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Selected this hotel as it was close to my meeting. Website looked good and reviews looked promising. Room was spacious and clean although the toilet had not been flushed! Wanted to do some work so tried to hook up to the free wi-fi. Another reason why I booked this hotel. There is a reason that the wi-fi is free, it doesn't work! I have 3 wi-fi enabled devices and none of them could connect. I called the reception desk and the very pleasant girl rebooted the wifi. Still no joy. Went down to reception and the gentleman's solution was to sit me in the bar. Still no joy and the nice man had disappeared. Great customer service. I returned to my room and thought that I would take solace on watching TV. My thumb now has repetitive strain syndrome from having to press the buttons so hard to get the channels to change. The remote control has clearly seen better days.

Oh, did I mention the smell of incence? You better like it because the foyer stinks of it.

Would I stay here again? Not a snowball in hall's chance

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Athollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Athollman,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your stay at Hôtel
Progress.

We are dearly sorry for all the inconvenience you have been through. Striving for a constant improvement of our services, please be assured that I will forward all your concerns and comments to the appropriate departments.

We are sincerely hoping to get the chance to welcome you back and show you what our hotel is really all about.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our first impression was not very good; we were asked to pay up front for the next 4 nights before seeing the room, but we were able to store our luggage well before check-in. The hallway carpets are in need of a good cleaning; the carpet in our room was dirty-looking, so we were given another room facing the street on the 4th floor. Other than the carpets, we were very pleased with the Executive Double room. It was spacious and clean. The traffic-noise was not a problem, the bed was extremely comfortable, the step out of the shower was dangerously high, so be careful. The room had a safe, fridge (mini-bar), hair dryer, hot water pitcher, and coffee dispenser with one regular, one decaf coffee packet and 2 black tea bags. There were several electrical outlets by the bed and in the bathroom. We didn't have breakfast because of the high cost, but there are plenty of bakeries close by. The location was superb since we arrived at Nord by bus and then day tripped by train to surrounding cities. Rogier Metro is less than 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Request a room well above street-level or in the back to eliminate traffic-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG71229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor C, General Manager at Progress Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear MJG71229,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hôtel Progress.

We are happy to see that you have spent a pleasant stay with us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the Executive Double room and our central location near the Grand Place, as well as a various choice of shops and restaurants.

We apologize about the inconvenience and it is with a great attention that we have taken into account your comments and transferred them to the Housekeeping Department. Our American breakfast buffet includes a wide selection ranging from fresh fruits and yogurts, over fresh baked pastries, spreads and cheeses to warm dishes such as eggs and bacon.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for trusting us to host your stay.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le Palace
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brussels - Le...
#2 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Progress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Progress Hotel

Property: Progress Hotel
Address: Rue du Progres 9-13, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Progress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Progress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Progress Hotel Brussels, Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing