We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected!”
Review of Royotel Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royotel Brussels
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My friend booked the hotel for us and wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews on here however I was pleasantly surprised by it.

The hotel isn't amazing but at the same time it isn't bad especially considering how cheap it is. The room was pretty clean and quiet during the evenings.

The breakfast was a bit bland but adequate considering it was free (I have had worse where you had to pay for the breakfast).

It's a bit out of the city centre but there is a tram stop just outside the hotel and Metro five minutes walk away.

The negatives were that there isn't much parking around the hotel and whilst the front of the hotel is on a main road, it backs onto the red light district of Brussels, which seemed a bit sketchy (Google Maps led us down here when we went to find a restaurant).

Don't expect much from it but it isn't bad considering how cheap it is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josefft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Royotel Brussels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Unfortunately, for some unknown reason, We didn't check this place out on tripadvisor before we booked, rookie error.

After the feeling of dread subsided after 15 minutes of being in the room, we went out & bought some sleeping bags. The room was so dirty, musky, smelly & damp that we spent as little time as possible in there, if only we could have got our money back.

Area is quite ghetto, though it felt safe.

It really does pay to do your research. They couldn't pay me to sleep here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruseclues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Despite the beds being surprisingly comfortable the hotel was terrible. The breakfast was chemically orange juice and stale bread, the headboard was leaning off the wall exposing a thick layer of dust, the balcony door didn't lock properly, and the parking was just the street outside with a camera pointed at it. I fully regret not spending a little more for a better hotel. Thankfully we only stayed one night

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turboweevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My two brothers and I stayed here for one night in Brussels. The man who greeted us tried to scan four different credit cards (Amex, Visa and Mastercard) and got none to work. We finally payed in cash and were given a key ... to the wrong room, which already had someone in it. The first time we used the sliding door that closes the bathroom, it fell off, then fell into pieces. We shared a balcony with another room and couldn't get it to lock totally, which gave us security concerns. Lastly, breakfast was worse than mediocre - some slices of bread, mediocre cheese and bad orange juice. Also, location was terrible, a 20-minute walk from anything worth seeing. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAdler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

staff is not friendly.
bad and uncomfortable room on the top floor with a nice view.
Avoid breakfast if you can.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Not expensive, good city communication near, kitchen only mornings, problem with parking a car...

Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
Thank HelenaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

The rooms were very big, clean and spacious and the bathroom was clean and well equipped.

The breakfast was mediocre (avoid the coffee!) but it was free so I guess you can't really complain - and the overall room price was good so I didn't mind.

The hotel's location is a bit far from the city centre, but is very close to Brussels-Zuid station (although you do have to walk up a steep hill - not fun with bags!) You can get on a tram to the city centre/old town pretty easily - the staff will try to tell you that you can walk but it's too far.

There's also no free or paid WLAN as was advertised, but there is an internet cafe around the corner which opens until midnight.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hellofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,911 reviews
3.1 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
5 reviews
1.6 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Anderlecht
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
715 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royotel Brussels

Address: Rue Royale 312, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range: £42 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Royotel Brussels 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Royotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royotel Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing