We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At least we were able to get our 2nd night money back!”
Review of Royotel Brussels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royotel Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At least we were able to get our 2nd night money back!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had originally booked 2 nights at this hotel, and made the mistake of pre-paying. Luckily, we were able to get our money back for the 2nd night after checking out the room. There was an unpleasant smell, the bead spread had a cigarette burn in it, the tapestry was peeling off the wall, and there was a large, mysterious stain on the curtains. The patio door indeed did not lock properly, and the bathroom was far from inviting.

The worse part though was the total lack of security. Anyone could access the stairwell to the rooms without even going through security - let alone have to use a key. Overall, I just didn't feel safe.

At first we thought the breakfast was OK, but it was our first night in Europe and after seeing what other similar hotels offer, this was definitely not up to par.

The man at the reception was however kind enough to reimburse us for the 2nd night...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meebes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    22
    21
    34
See reviews for
17
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My friend booked the hotel for us and wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews on here however I was pleasantly surprised by it.

The hotel isn't amazing but at the same time it isn't bad especially considering how cheap it is. The room was pretty clean and quiet during the evenings.

The breakfast was a bit bland but adequate considering it was free (I have had worse where you had to pay for the breakfast).

It's a bit out of the city centre but there is a tram stop just outside the hotel and Metro five minutes walk away.

The negatives were that there isn't much parking around the hotel and whilst the front of the hotel is on a main road, it backs onto the red light district of Brussels, which seemed a bit sketchy (Google Maps led us down here when we went to find a restaurant).

Don't expect much from it but it isn't bad considering how cheap it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josefft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Unfortunately, for some unknown reason, We didn't check this place out on tripadvisor before we booked, rookie error.

After the feeling of dread subsided after 15 minutes of being in the room, we went out & bought some sleeping bags. The room was so dirty, musky, smelly & damp that we spent as little time as possible in there, if only we could have got our money back.

Area is quite ghetto, though it felt safe.

It really does pay to do your research. They couldn't pay me to sleep here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruseclues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Josse-ten-Noode hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Despite the beds being surprisingly comfortable the hotel was terrible. The breakfast was chemically orange juice and stale bread, the headboard was leaning off the wall exposing a thick layer of dust, the balcony door didn't lock properly, and the parking was just the street outside with a camera pointed at it. I fully regret not spending a little more for a better hotel. Thankfully we only stayed one night

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turboweevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My two brothers and I stayed here for one night in Brussels. The man who greeted us tried to scan four different credit cards (Amex, Visa and Mastercard) and got none to work. We finally payed in cash and were given a key ... to the wrong room, which already had someone in it. The first time we used the sliding door that closes the bathroom, it fell off, then fell into pieces. We shared a balcony with another room and couldn't get it to lock totally, which gave us security concerns. Lastly, breakfast was worse than mediocre - some slices of bread, mediocre cheese and bad orange juice. Also, location was terrible, a 20-minute walk from anything worth seeing. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAdler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

staff is not friendly.
bad and uncomfortable room on the top floor with a nice view.
Avoid breakfast if you can.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boleslawiec, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Not expensive, good city communication near, kitchen only mornings, problem with parking a car...

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HelenaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
1.7 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#100 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royotel Brussels

Property: Royotel Brussels
Address: Rue Royale 312, Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Royotel Brussels 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Royotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royotel Brussels Belgium

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing