We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the other caravan park in Normanton”
Review of Gulfland Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulfland Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Murtoa, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go to the other caravan park in Normanton”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hired a cabin- outrageous price $135 per night. A real dump. Noisy, toilet wouldn't flush, lights wouldn't work. Got a much better cabin at Normanton Tourist Park for $95, but they were fully booked this time. Lack of security with people wandering about

Room Tip: Go to the other caravan park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurieb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
16
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Kurumba because we couldn't get into the caravan park there until the next day - booked solid. (Advise to book). We didn't know there were 2 parks in Normanton otherwise we would have compared them. Our guide book indicated one only. Reception was friendly, sites dusty but this is the outback so that is to be expected. The amenities really let this place down. Toilets are "site office" style and weren't properly cleaned. Ladies sanitary bins were too small to do the job properly unless they were going to be emptied more than once a day. With the door closed and the heat building throughout the day, it wasn't pleasant. No water pressure in showers and I'm confident in saying they hadn't been cleaned recently. We are travelling around Australia (10months now ) and this would have to be one of the most disappointing parks we've been in. We stayed a Saturday night and were woken by barking dogs and bins being banged at 4am. The locals are known for helping themselves to your gear in the middle of the night ( there are warning signs up) so lock everything away. The park has no security and little light at night to make it easier for them. This park has the potential to be great, it just isn't. Sad but true.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Siggystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
395 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The Gulfland Motel is one of a few choices of a place to stay. Because Normanton is deep in the Outback, services are limited and a reservation is necessary. Meals can be provided and a small swimming pool is available to the guests.

I stayed in unit #19 which had three twin beds and a bathroom with a shower. Other units had a double and one twin bed. Unit #20 had a small kitchen and seemed to be the best of the accommodations.

The bottom line is if you are looking for luxury, Normanton may not be the best choice. Normanton is the home of the Gulflander Train to nowhere, which is the reason we visited this remote location.

Room Tip: Not a bad option in the Outback. Reservations are needed in the high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had no choice but to stay here as there was literally no other options vacant. Rather than chronicle the lot, let me just say, Air Con really noisy and didn't cool the room at all. Smoke detector missing so sleep with one eye open. Uninvited guests included ants, spiders, a cane toad and numerous bugs I have never seen before. Curtains were moth eaten and smelly and the stains on the carpet we simply avoided without attempting to ascertain their origin. A quaint toilet feature was the appearance of a horizontal jet of water hitting the shower screen when the toilet was flushed. For some strange reason, we did not sample the swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzyrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

1am in the morning. I hear a noise from the other side of the room. I begin to wonder if I could sleep through it but I decide to get up and turn the light on there to my right on the spare bed is two GIANT COCKROACHES!! I clearly (hopefully) picked the right bed. I manage to get one out the room with paper and hairsspray but the other has crawled behind the bed.

Go to the toilet, three baby cockroaches in the toilet.

Needless to say very restless night. No sleep. Never Again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugger_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Very limited options here in Normanton - we tried the tourist cabins but they were full so went to Gulfland. Very dated, tired rooms, and not very clean at all. Incredibly noisy and ineffective air-con (took most of the night to bring temp down from 35 to 22 degrees). Ants were bad, although I asked at reception for flyspray and I was able to spray them. No phone in the unit and the tv was out of order. The pool was filthy when we arrived, but a lot cleaner the next morning, and I was grateful for it in the heat. The management said they had only just taken it over, and they said they had quite a job on their hands to get it up to scratch, but that wasn't reflected in the price. It was far too expensive for what it was, especially compared to accommodation we had had at Mission Beach and Karumba Point. I wish them luck getting it back on its feet.
The Albion Hotel up the road had good meals at good prices, and was clean and airy. Thank goodness!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Tired, basic motel with friendly service, clean sheets and hot shower. Rooms include what you expect you need in a 2.5-3 star motel, just very worn. But nice new quiet split system aircon and ceiling fan, very important in this climate. Eat at The Albion Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gulfland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulfland Motel

Property: Gulfland Motel
Address: 11 Landsborough St, Normanton, Queensland 4890, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gulfland Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gulfland Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing