We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa in an amazing setting.”
Private solar heated pool and one of two  34sq.m. en suite bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private solar heated pool and one of two  34sq.m. en suite bedrooms
2nd floor dining terrace;  feast your eyes on the views to village, hills and sea + great sunsets Ground floor bedroom, 34 sq.m. with en-suite bath and separate shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Private solar heated pool and one of two  34sq.m. en suite bedrooms
2nd floor dining terrace;  feast your eyes on the views to village, hills and sea + great sunsets
Ground floor bedroom, 34 sq.m. with en-suite bath and separate shower.
Another view of Ground floor bedroom from bed to chaise and dressing table area
First floor bedroom, 2 juliette balconies + window, en-suite bathroom, super comfortable.
First floor bedroom with silk/linen curtains and black-out lining, air-con and underfloor heating.
Ground floor bedroom en-suite with separate shower cabinet, bath, double basins.
Luxurious en suite bath/power shower, double basins First floor.  There's a separate shower room too
Living area & dining zone of spacious open-plan 2nd floor + terrace.  WiFi, Sat.tv, dvd,ster
Part of open-plan living/kitchen  to dining terrace. Log burning fire for winter.. Views all year
Living space (inc. sofa bed if needed) to well-equipped kitchen zone with huge fridge
Living to stairs to roof terrace & kitchen complete with cargo lift for shopping/logs etc.
Indoor Dining area if needed, with extendable table for 6 people. Artwork by owner
Private pool patio from large sunbathing roof terrace reached by spiral stairs from living room
Solar-heated private, romantic pool with fountain spout, in its own patio with shower
Large rooftop sun terrace with shade canopy, shower and National Park behind!
Casa Convento from street;  3 mins walk down to village centre. National Park walks start behind
Breathtaking first sight of Canillas de Aceituno below La Maroma mountain from lovely drive to it
Many little streets are lined with vertical gardens!
Evening light over village;  the African Riff mountains can sometimes be seen!
Magnificent scenery is all around
My daughter and I on a beautiful walk near the village in March
Bahia de Tanit Beach 'club' at Torre del Mar; a favourite beachside find with great sunbed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
a_parry9
Wirral, Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in an amazing setting.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The villa was beautifully decorated and was a home from home. My teenage girls loved it and were very happy staying there. The kitchen was very well stocked and had everything we needed. Suzanne's instructions were brilliant and she had thought of everything.

The village is lovely and the locals friendly, great to be away from the tourist area. All places to visit were within an hour/ hour and a half. We went to a couple of beaches and the stunning Lake Bermejales.

Sitting on the balcony having meals was fab and I loved seeing the bats flying past at night. We were at the villa at the time of the festival which was fun and the foam party in the plaza was great fun. We would happily revisit this gem!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Great to know you all enjoyed the holiday! Hope to hear from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy O
2 reviews
“Beautiful property in fantastic location”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This year marked our third visit to Casa Convento which obviously speaks volumes. It was, as ever, blissful. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished with a well equipped kitchen. The views from the various balconies are stunning. The village has all the basics you need if you want a restful holiday to recharge your batteries. Suzanne the owner is extremely helpful and easy to deal with. The property is only about an hour from Malaga airport which makes it very convenient even for short breaks. I would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gargoMelb
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful villa in a gem of a village”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in Casa Convento over Easter and had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The villa is situated in a gem of a village tucked away in the hills near Velez-Malaga. The villa has all of the modern creature comforts and is well designed and decorated. A highlight is the outdoor dining table on the balcony - eating fresh seafood and drinking wine whilst the sun sets over the picturesque landscape is a truly relaxing and memorable experience.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falcon376...
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A stylish casa in a classic mountain village”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We chose Casa Convento and Canillas as an alternative to our usual option of the well trodden path towards Marbella, seeking something more traditional and cosy, and certainly found that. The other reviews on here together give a very good picture of what to expect, so these are just some observations on top of those
- This is a very attractive casa which is perhaps even better in real life than in the pics. We thought the furnishings and decor were very stylish but since some are antique, you do need to take a little bit of extra care.
- We went in winter so I can't speak for the pool or even outside (though the view is indeed lovely). We partly chose it because we thought it would be much cosier in winter than the usual modern apartments and villas on the coast. This was definitely the case. The underfloor heating is effective, the water is piping hot and the wood burner was much appreciated and can be lit with minimal effort.
- A word about the roads, streets and parking. The road up the mountain is fine really, you just need to keep an eye out for cars in the other direction which can tend to be in the middle of the road. The route through the village to the casa is more challenging. It is seriously steep at times, very narrow, potholed in places and required a certain degree of mental fortitude for the first ascent. However it's much less intimidating once you have done it once. Parking was not a problem for us, but might be in busier times. There are three non allocated places by the villa in, as you can imagine, a fairly compact space. If all three were occupied when you reach the casa, it might be hard to turn around. Don't book a car any bigger than a Golf. However provided you are competent driving, do not be deterred by the above. Your reward is great views and a degree of privacy. And once you get used to the journey, the motorway is only 25-30 mins away so you are not as as isolated as it might sound.
- Being in a village was a big attraction for us. There are butchers, bakers, fishmongers, a chemist, banks/ATM's, grocery stores, several restaurants and various bars. In other words, other than maybe one trip en route from the airport, you can steer clear of the hypermarket. Hardly anyone in the village speaks English but they're friendly, helpful and patient when you cannot offer much more than gracias. The restaurants are fairly priced but pretty rustic cuisine, although the wine lists had some seriously good and well priced bottles. The walk back from the village is indeed steep but the centre is really hardly any distance from the casa.
So in a nutshell, go and enjoy a bit of real Spain in a lovely house. Suzanne, the owner, is very helpful and will deal with any queries you have that are not dealt with by these reviews.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunaighea...
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing sunsets in a stunning location”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We, a family of 4 including girls aged 10 and 12, had a truly super week at Casa Convento. We have done many self catering holidays across a number of countries and our stay in Canillas de Aceituno has been one of the best. The house was amazing and the location a treat. Casa Convento was stunning throughout. The interior design was beautiful. We especially loved the North African and Andalusian blend. The living area opens out onto the terrace with the stunning views over the village and across the valleys to Comares. We spent most evenings with glass in hand watching the sun sets. The sunrises were just as beautiful. Functionally the house was very well kitted out, with an excellent set up in the kitchen together with many other facilities throughout. The welcome/information pack was excellent. The restaurant tips were spot on and we found the assortment of maps very useful, especially when we decided to climb the La Maroma Mountain just behind the house. We did day trips to Granada, Nejha, Comares and Torre del Mar.

There was a buzz in the village every evening, with all the generations coming out into the squares as the sun was setting. We enjoyed tapas at several bars and tried out a couple of the restaurants too.

I prefer to try out new experiences and so look to avoid going back to the same place twice when choosing holidays. However, I would be delighted to return to Casa Convento and Canillas de Aceituno.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the accomodation, in particular the layout of the living area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPnuts59
Loughborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

House wonderful, even better that the description. Views to remember for ever. Village friendly will all amenities, plenty of small shops restaurants and bars. !00% recommended, especially suitable for 2 couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything, it was just wonderful.
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thompson...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super accommodation”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a super holiday at Casa Convento. The view from the house was something else. We hope to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Needed a little more shade on roof terrace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing