We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in peaceful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bajo La Maroma

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canillas de Aceituno, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Roam51798...
2 reviews
“Lovely house in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely slow week at Bajo La Maroma doing very little other than swimming in the pool, enjoying the beautiful view and cracking open the delicious almonds from the tree.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
I agree, that's the joy of being at Bajo La Maroma, a chance to really unwind; swim, read and enjoy the fabulous scenery. I wonder if you explored the old village too and tasted some of the delicious food?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine R
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm in busy Andalucia”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a fantastic location! The windy mountain road up to the house took a bit of getting used to, but was worth it for the stunning views.
The house itself is great - plenty of space for 6 of us. The rooms all had fans (essential - it was scorchio), the kitchen had everything you would need, including a bit of food to get us started. No that we really spent any time inside, except to sleep - the pool and the Moorish seating area were our favourite spots. We didn't eat or shower inside once in our 2 weeks there! Mike and Heather were really helpful and looked after us well.
The local area is beautiful, with some lovely towns, caves, beaches etc. to explore nearby. We also drove further afield and visited Malaga, Antequera and Granada - it really is worth making the trip to the Alhambra and having an early start - a must see.
Had a lovely meal at Frigiliana which, along with Competa, are lovely towns within easy driving distance to wander round. And chocolate and churros at Café Central in Torre del Mar was another highlight!
We had the nicest holiday - thank you Sheila, it was a fantastic base from which to explore Andalucía.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Elaine. You certainly seem to have packed it all in and enjoyed exploring this part of Andalucia.
Also thanks for taking the 'al fresco' showers, that will certainly have given the plants below the pool wall some much needed water in the 'scorchio' summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebrob201...
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location....”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is the absolute ideal location if you are looking for a wonderfully peaceful haven of tranquility....
We enjoyed a week of peace and quiet, a fantastic idyllic villa that retains its Spanish charm.
We particularly loved the spacious wrap around veranda, the different areas of the garden, the clean, refreshing pool and the BBQ area.
The nearby village is a quaint location that has an abundance of original whitewashed buildings, narrow cobbled streets and friendly locals. The La Maroma restaurant is a lively, happy, family run establishment that offers exceptional dishes at great prices!
The views from the Villa are beautiful and the private pool was a welcome opportunity to cool down in the hot weather.
This is a great place if you enjoy hill walking or just being completely lazy and relishing the surroundings.
No TV, dishwasher or built in oven, but we didn't miss any of these as we enjoyed the warm hospitality of the local lady who made sure we had a lovely welcome, the man who looked after the pool and the little touches that made us feel at home..
We have booked to return already, and look forward to many visits in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful and gracious review; the villa and location were obviously a perfect choice for you.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip.
Hasta pronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa S
1 review
“Stunning View, Very Relaxing!”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The perfect place for a relaxing weekend away from the city. The views are stunning, admiring them with my morning coffee on the terrace was the best way to start my day. There are also some great walks if relaxing is not what you want to do :)

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thanks for your review Teresa. I agree it is a fabulous place to unwind and get away from all your normal routines. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and hopefully you returned to the city refreshed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla L
2 reviews
“Very Peaceful, and gorgeous”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I stayed for a whole weekend with some friends, it's super quiet and relaxing, I loved the decoration and everything is in perfect conditions, you also have stunning views of the villa and a looot of terrain to go hiking!! We absolutely loved it, would love to go back there again.

PS: the owners are lovely!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you Karla, I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed your down-time at the villa, and thanks for leaving it in tip-top condition on your departure. You're welcome any time and we look forward to your next booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose386
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I stayed here with my husband and we had the most amazing time. The house is full of character and the master bedroom with ensuite was fantastic. The outside area is very spacious with panoramic views of the mountains. There is plenty of outside eating areas and our favourite was in the 'Arabic themed' corner. It was so peaceful here and very relaxing. The house has its own private pool which we used all the time. We took some country strolls and the village is close by. We drove to the beach and water park which I would also recommend. We will definitely be visiting here again. Thank you Sheila for all your help and information you provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the trip and it looks like you made good use of local places of interest.
We look forward to welcoming you back with loyalty discount!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joesteven...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic villa, amazing views, wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fantastic holiday here. With two young kids, 1 & 2, we enjoyed the spacious villa, the beautifully refreshing pool and the breathtaking surroundings.
The villa is up a great windy mountain road (you get used to it), just a few minutes from the village. Less than half an hour from the nearest beach, less than an hour to Malaga, this is an ideal location to escape the business of life and regroup.

So grateful to Sheila for letting us stay, Heather for all her help and fun conversation, Mike and Colin for their hard work in keeping the place clean, tidy and the pool working well!

This place is well worth the visit and at a very reasonable price for what you get.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Joe, you're a star! Thanks and please visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing