We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as usual”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Royal Orchid

Thai Royal Orchid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newbury
Level Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as usual”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We hadn't been for a year and were looking forward to this thia meal. And while good it was not as good as it usually is. Main course (yellow chicken curry, pad Thai and stick rice) was very good but the mixed starters were disappointing. The restaurant was not busy but we had to wait for drinks orders and no one came back to ask if we wanted anymore or if the meal was ok. I would recommend, as food is good and we may have hit it on a bad day. Not sure if we will go back next year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just don't do this”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you want to get a bad experience about Thai cuisine go there. Food was cold, tasteless and to pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely flavour”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We came here last year and decided again to come it was very good food with excellent flavours not large portions but really enjoyed so much going back tonight

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elviria, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We eat here everytime we are on vacation in the area. Good real thai food, nice place, very good service. Try it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yagoart2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Real Thai”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We always visit this restaurant when in La Cala. Typical Thai welcome and excellent food. Not the cheapest place in La Cala but excellent food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Royal Orchid also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to Thai Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing