We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Blarney Pub La Cala Mijas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blarney

The Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Blarney Pub La Cala Mijas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited La Cala as a large family group plus friends and headed for The Blarney Irish Bar where we found the new owners Tom and Gerri to be one of the most welcoming friendly couple we have ever met. The Meals were amazing and the atmosphere in the pub was fantastic. They have free wi fi and sky tv for the football.. Even when games clashed they were kind enough to set up all games on different tvs nothing was ever too much trouble for this couple they made our holiday special..We would like to thank them for their hospitality and wish them all the best for the future of the bar..We will definitely be re visiting next year xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi Nicola,
Sorry for the slow response, a massive THANK YOU for the great review, we were glad to be part of your holiday:) All going well since, summer is already kicking in, its getting hot hot hot.... nothing a few cold beers can't fix ;)
Give our regards to the family ;)
See you soon ....???
Tom and Ger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    30
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Simple food, but very nice, friendly service. Can be tricky parking up in La Cala, but keep trying and you'll be rewarded with plenty of good eateries. You wont be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
H Robisaa :)
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us;) '
We are glad you enjoyed the food.
Tom and Ger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, simple food, friendly owners.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very friendly owners, simple food but very tasty. Open all day so you have the choice of breakfast, lunch or dinner. The kids really enjoyed the food and we had the added bonus of watching the All-Ireland Hurling Quarter Finals!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank babsrIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi Babs,
Thanks for the review, imagine its almost GAA seaon again !!.
I wonder who will be in the finals this year ..... ;)
Glad the kids enjoyed the food and yourselves of course :)
All the best,
Ger and Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and lovely owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Ate breakfast most days of our 2 week holiday here. Fantastic home cooked food. The owners Tom and Geraldine were so welcoming and friendly.
Would highly recommend whether for food or a few drinks.

Sky tv and free wifi too. They put on whichever football I requested which was most appreciated too

Will definately be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Realrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi Richard,

A very late but heat felt thanks for the review :)
Hopefully see you soon for breakfast ?
All the best,
Tom and Ger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A REAL IRISH BAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The owners in this bar are retired publicans from Naas.(Kildare)
Tom & Geraldine (Tom & Jerry) :P
Lovely people who welcome you in and chat if you want to.
Food top notch.
Prices great,
I went back to ensure they had charged me enough as it was so reasonable. (They had)
Air Con, free parking, Free WiFi.
Thank you guys, see you on my next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hi John,
Thanks the review, ...... we have been thinking of a response for the last 10 months !!! We are finally catching up , but seriously thanks so much :)
I suppose its nearly time for you to be back again?
Hopefully see you soon,
Tom and Jerry ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blarney also viewed

La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to The Blarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing