We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of The Blarney

The Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$14
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I spent 4 days in this beautiful little town during the month of October. My first port of call in the town was the Blarney Inn for a bite of food on arrival. I was greeted by a smile and friendly conversation by the owners Tom and Ger. The food was excellent with a wonderfully simple yet tasty menu to chose from and the beers were even better (particularly recommend the Mahouuuu).
I was so impressed I returned to the pub every morning for the breakfast and every evening for a few pints, each night I was greeted with the same level of friendly service and quality drink and food. I would highly recommend a visit to this pub during a visit to this region as it much more than your standard Irish pub.
Thanks to Tom, ger and little Tommy junior for providing such great service and giving some of the best memories of my short holiday.
ps a great spot to watch a match with free wi fi and 3 televisions with sky sports.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Declan.
We are a bit slow on the responses, we have a few new staff now so we are making sure to take the time to do it now. We had to get new staff.... Tommy Jr is off having a ball in Sydney so we have 2 Scottish girls helping out now.
Declan I have to say we are so overwhelmed by your review, sure it was great having you in and we were delighted to see you coming back. Ger is over the moon with all the compliments.
I'm sure you already know but you are welcome back any time.
We hope to see you again,
Tom and Gerry ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for The Blarney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Loved The Blarney for lots of reasons. Really friendly staff, Ger & Tom are the two friendly owners, Remember customers names on every visit. Very welcoming! Food is lovely, would highly recommend the baked potatoes, delicious, and you have got to try Ger's homemade brown bread! Free wifi in the bar and out on the terrace. They accommodate customers for any kind of sport on tv! All round good find and will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Looper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Well ..... Looper :)
Thanks so much for the review, come back any time for a Baked potato and a slice of brown bread ;)
We look forward to seeing you:)
Tom and Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited La Cala as a large family group plus friends and headed for The Blarney Irish Bar where we found the new owners Tom and Gerri to be one of the most welcoming friendly couple we have ever met. The Meals were amazing and the atmosphere in the pub was fantastic. They have free wi fi and sky tv for the football.. Even when games clashed they were kind enough to set up all games on different tvs nothing was ever too much trouble for this couple they made our holiday special..We would like to thank them for their hospitality and wish them all the best for the future of the bar..We will definitely be re visiting next year xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Nicola,
Sorry for the slow response, a massive THANK YOU for the great review, we were glad to be part of your holiday:) All going well since, summer is already kicking in, its getting hot hot hot.... nothing a few cold beers can't fix ;)
Give our regards to the family ;)
See you soon ....???
Tom and Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Simple food, but very nice, friendly service. Can be tricky parking up in La Cala, but keep trying and you'll be rewarded with plenty of good eateries. You wont be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

H Robisaa :)
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us;) '
We are glad you enjoyed the food.
Tom and Ger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very friendly owners, simple food but very tasty. Open all day so you have the choice of breakfast, lunch or dinner. The kids really enjoyed the food and we had the added bonus of watching the All-Ireland Hurling Quarter Finals!

Thank babsrIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Owner at The Blarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi Babs,
Thanks for the review, imagine its almost GAA seaon again !!.
I wonder who will be in the finals this year ..... ;)
Glad the kids enjoyed the food and yourselves of course :)
All the best,
Ger and Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blarney also viewed

La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to The Blarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing