We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Reviewed 21 November 2013

After reading some of negative reports on trip adviser we were obviously apprehensive about what was in store for us, but we had no reason to worry as the hotel was great. I booked the hotel as a last minute mini break for my husband’s birthday. We went for the all-inclusive option, which was excellent value for money via Easyjet holidays. We arrived at the hotel 3 hours before check-in and were offered our room straight away.
Room – this was on the fourth floor, the room was spotless and large, with plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom large with a good supply of toiletries. We also have a large balcony with views of the sea and street.
Food - The food was in abundance with a great selection of fish, meat, salads, pasta, rice, vegetables and desserts (the rice pudding was especially nice).
Drinks - were local brands but you could upgrade at a discounted price. The orange juice for breakfast was partially week but I worked out how improve it by added cava and having a bucks fizz!!
Location – on the beach, and close to shops, bars and restaurants. We had hired car and visited Marbella, Torremolinos, Fuengirola, Benalmadena & the beautiful small village of Mijas (which well worth a visit) You can take a cable ride up the mountains at Benalmadena for 13 euros (but not recommended if it is windy as we had a near death experience!!!)
Pool - can't comment on this as it was November and really in use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flowerpot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment and high valoration of our hotel.
It makes us very happy that you were satisfied with your stay and that you recommend our hotel to other travellers. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with your husband here. Thanks for appreciating our main strengths like: "good valuing money", "large room", "large balcony", "abundance food", "perfect location".
It makes us very happy that you were satisfied, it motivates us to keep on working hard.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,277)
There are newer reviews for VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Myself an my partner booked this hotel via On The Beach for a short autumn break in early November as a base to explore the local area - Mijas, Marbella, Fuengirola and Benalmadena. We liked the location which was on the beach in a quiet residential area. We hired a car from Hertz which was prebooked and collection was straighforward from Malaga Airport. The journey by car from was about half an hour and the hotel was easy to find having checked the map on Google before we left home. I was very happy with the size and quality of the room (2nd floor with a nice side sea view although the drainage culvert was not attractive) which had a fridge, a hairdryer and a full range of complimentary toiletries, including a razor kit and toothbrush set. There were also some British channels on the TV. We did not use the hotel parking as it was 10 euros a day but found parking close by. The restaurant was a bit dull as it was on the lower ground floor with no windows, the food was average but the staff were very helpful and friendly. Useful to be able to charge the room with reasonably priced drinks and settle at the end. The market on a Saturday morning is worth a visit and easy to get to taking the walkway over the A7 carriageway. A pharmacy and Lidl supermarket and petrol station are all nearby. The chair lift from Benalmadena is well worth doing for superb views along the Malaga coast and about 23 euros for two of us return, as well as a visit to the charming village of Mijas. The Malaga area is a great place for enjoying warm autumn sunshine - we were lucky to enjoy 25 degrees and clear skies.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if possible but either side of the hotel I think you would probably get a good...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Diane,

Thank you a lot for your time and for your comment about our hotel.
Your opinión and experience is very important to us as it helps us to improve our services and weaknesses.
It is a pleasure to know that you were happy with our excellent central and first beach line situation and the spacious and clean room with his sea view.
Thank you for your detailed review.
We hope to see you soon again

Kind Regards from sunny Spain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the VIK Gran Costa del Sol hotel at the beginning of this month. Our room number was 128 which was perfect, it was right at the pool so just sat on the balcony. Weather was fantastic for this time of the year each day was in the mid 20's. Hotel is situated right at the beach which was ideal. If you venture onto the beach right at the hotel be prepared to pay nearly 5 euros for each sun bed you take. The pool at the hotel isnt that big but its fine because you are right at the beach.

Staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful. Room was good comfy beds, extra pillows and blankets if required. Room had tv in it also radio which was controlled from a panel on the wall and a fridge.

We were all inclusive for the 1st time ever and it was enjoyable. Would struggle with all inclusive for more than a week as food was bit repetitive but didnt go hungry. The house wines spirits etc were not that great so my husband stuck to beer which was Amstel and i was on the cocktails (Pina Coladas) . Each time we went to bar we got 2 drinks each as well as bottles of water so having the fridge in the room was ideal to keep the water cool.

The town itself is quite small but had everything you needed restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy and bars. We ventured out on our 2nd night there to a pub called Legends which was good they have singers on every night. The couple who ran the pub were very welcoming and helpful.

Looking to back here next summer for 5 nights when we will take our 7 year old daughter with us and will go all inclusive again definitely worth it.

Hotel is classed as 4 star but would say its more 3 star. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 128 was ideal for a couple. Right at the pool so no need to sit at pool can sit on balcony if y...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niamh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Niham,

We appreciate your time for let us know your opinión about your stay here.
It is lovely to know that you were satisfied with yor stay and that you will come back soon with your husband and your daugther.
It is nice to know that you were gladfull with your spacious room, the perfect situation and especially our friendly staff. Your opinión motivates us to keep on working hard.

We hope to see you soon
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a week in this hotel at the beginning of October and found it to be ok value for money. The food was plentiful but fairly basic buffet style with not a lot of variety on offer. Wine came in three colours and you had no idea what you were getting, although it was cheap. I think generally this hotel caters for large coach parties on all inclusive deals and that really tells you what to expect. It was a bit like sitting in a canteen to have your meal. The rooms were ok and I liked the toiletries pack. The rooms were spacious and the small fridge was very useful. Close proximity to the beach and nice pool. Beach much nicer at Cabopino. Overall ok as long as you don't expect gourmet food or a wine list! Never ventured up to the bar or went to any entertainment so can't comment. It really was just a base for us and ate out on several nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Sally,

Thanks to your for your comment about your stay at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
It helps us to improve our services and it let us know our weaknesses.
It is satisfying to know you were very happy with your spacious room, toiletres pack and the excellent situation of or hotel.
I feel sorry that you had the impression that our restaurant is like a canteen.
Our always friendly and helpful staff is trying to créate a positive atmosphere in the restaurant so that our clients can fully enjoy their meal.
However we thank you for your comment and hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel looked a bit dier from the approach to the hotel but once inside the hotel it was very nice
The room we had was on 2nd floor right opposite the pool which had the beach not 50yds away! (Access through gate which opens with your room card key) BRILLIANT! Food very good,Buffet style meals hot and cold, plenty of choice(Excelent if you are a big eater like me)!
My only gripe is the barman running the pool bar such a happy man!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Dave,

We are very greatful for your time to let us know your opinión, it is very important for us as it helps us to improve our services. Furthermore it let us know our weaknesses which is a first step for improvement.
It is a pleasure to know that you were very happy with your room, our perfect situation, the plenty choice of good food in the restaurant and especially with our friendly staff.
Your opinión motivates us to keep on working hard.

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just retuned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We had a super deal through Travel republic travel agents, on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel is situated well in Cala del Mijas. The room was a good size, clean, the bathroom a good size also. We had a sea view room. We were staying to meet up with family who live in the area. We found it handy for getting around. The only downside was the breakfast. There was a variety of items, but the coffee and tea was not nice, the sausages bland. Orange juice was tasteless. One morning we went to Snack Attack to have breakfast, which was better. But we would stay at the hotel again and there are plenty of good places to eat round and about.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Client,

Thanks for your time and for let us know your personal opinión abour your stay here.
It is very nice to know that you will come back soon, thank you also for recommending us to other travellers.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at your big sea view room with a very spacious bathroom.
Thank you for your suggestion about our breakfast, we will study it clearfully in order to improve our services.

Looking forward to see you soon

Kind Regards from sunny Cala de Mijas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Decided to go on holiday with the family as a last minuite and wanted somewhere near and hot.
Weather great, check in great arrived in afternoon, room was also good. Extra pillows, blankets etc if you needed them. Fridge in the room also helpful especially if you have young children.
Bathroom towels old rough and very small which just covered your behind, otherwise bathroom was good and a toiletry box full of shampoo, showergel etc, beds comfortable enough.
Just the look of the food told me what lay ahead for the rest of the holiday. Looked like slops of food chucked on trays piled high, salads, You could tell from the grated carrot and beetroot that it was off and had changed colours, not sure how many days it had been lying around!!!
Pasta well done with cheap sauces, pork, pork and more pork, I piled my plates in the hope of finding something i could eat and it always ended in the bin, plate after plate after plate. The wastage of food could be looked at and money put in to decent food. The hotel needs to look into this. One night they put rotting pineapple on the dessert area, Absolutely disgusting. On several occassions i did not feel great stomache wise, but was not sure what it was. Restaurant staff rude huffing and puffing, making facial expressions, rolling their eyes at you just for asking something, Some staff need customer service courses to learn how to deal with the paying customer.
Breakfast was probably the best because you cant go wrong with eggs, crossants, pastries and fruit. Bacon was the cheapest bacon possible, (10 rashers 1 Euro) in the shop down the road. Just shows you the quality of food being offered. We went to several supermarkets and saw on offer amazing produce which was not being offered at the hotel.
We missed lunch on several occasions and also missed dinner as well and ate out. so when you add all the extra you pay for eating out the holiday does not really work out a great deal...

Carpark empty as you have to pay 10 Euro a day to park there, Really, not only are you a paying quest but you also have to pay for parking!

Pool Bar closed on 1st November so if you are at the pool all day there are no drinks to hand and you have to go in and go to the 1st floor for drinks, bar man very rude and sarcastic. Should not work there if can not be polite. Drinks on offer were limited, coke, 7 up, orange, beer, 3 cocktails and spirits. crisps and nuts. Anything decent you would have to pay for it.

Snacks (NOT FIT FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION)

I would not expect to pay anything more that 50 Euro per day, anyone payng 100 per day has overpaid for this holiday.

I would definately go back to Cala de Mijas, would i go back to this hotel, NO... I definately would not. I have had better quality food from a 3 star hotel in spain, why pay all inclusive when you cant have anything to eat or drink? give this one a miss and choose somewhere else unless youget this at a very good deal and dont mind eating out.

Room Tip: If you got that good deal!!! Make sure your room is poolside with the lovely views over the ocean an...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rojo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director General at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comment about your stay at our hotel.
It is very nice to hear that you were happy with your room and our extra service of mini fridge, toiletry box and our great situation.
I feel sorry that you did not enjoy our tipical spanish food.
I can assure that this was an excepcional case. Our staff is always friendly and very helpful I think it was a misunderstanding. I cann assure that our kitchen staff is cooking daily with fresh and national ingredients.

We hope to see you again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
4.0 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,486 reviews
7.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,285 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Roc Costa Park
Hotel Roc Costa Park
#20 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: £47 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing