We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the whole we enjoyed ourselves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“On the whole we enjoyed ourselves”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great sea view room and useful to have a fridge for cold drinks etc. What a luxury to have someone clean up after you so no housework for our month's stay! Food wasn't as good as last year and didn't always correspond with the published Menu for the day (never did get the promised Baked Potatoes I was craving) but the menus are 4/5 years old now so I'm sure tastes have changed. I was really disappointed that all the vegetables (including beautiful baby carrots and peas) came drenched in garlic - especially on a couple of days when I had a dodgy tummy and all I wanted was some plain food. Great if you love pasta, salads or something with chips, but much of the food was getting dried up on the buffet and wasn't always hot, although there was a microwave you could use. Breakfasts were great and I could have eaten 3 a day! Unfortunately, toward the end of our stay, the hotel was full3 times with coach tours and it became a mad-house. On our last day, while sitting on our balcony enjoying the last sun of our trip, a man drinking with his friends decided to walk over to the car park and urinate by the side of our car, when he could have easily gone into reception where there were loads of toilets. Not the hotel's fault, but really not what you'd expect in a 'so called' 4 star hotel. One day 6 coaches arrived at the same time and the road was blocked so nobody could get into the car park and getting into a lift was chaotic. Add to that having to queue for a table in the restaurant (? cafeteria as it was totally self-service?) and guests like us, who'd been there for weeks were a little unhappy! Also we paid for a moth's parking but on one occasion someone had parked in our space and we were issued with a new one, but with no key - when we left they would not return our key deposit. Would I go again? I don't think so. Would I recommend? Yes but with advice as it was good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmsnewemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We take our guest's feedback on a serious note and certainly will take corrective steps to improve any shortcomings.

Hoping that you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your trust in VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    412
    340
    154
    114
See reviews for
307
508
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here end July 13 for 2 weeks - my husband booked this holiday & we expected it to have a kids club of some sort but unfortunately It didn't. We mostly stayed round the pool every day it was very hot some days & during our stay we woke up to smog of some sort around the pool area. Some days it just didn't clear up, it was quite bizarre sitting around the pool with all this smog. The food in the hotel wasn't great & I struggled to have a nice meal there & it was luke warm as mentioned in other reviews. Entertainment was a bit dull a couple of good dance acts & a magician but a bit repetitive. Lots of different nationalities stay at the hotel & it did get quite rowdy with a group of Spanish youngsters but they were good fun & danced with our daughter so she was happy. Apart from coming down with a throat infection myself & spending 2days in bed it was an ok holiday. Our room & view of sea was brilliant but if you have a room around the other side overlooking "the swamp" then you're unlucky as it's just a dumping ground & not a pretty site. If booking ask for a poolside or sea view. Further down the beach are a few restaurants & a children's trampoline on ropes so nightlife gets quite buzzing later on a few market stalls with various nick nacks further along the path & some outside gym equipment to have a laugh on when you've had a few. A lot of the bars have a play area next to them so you can relax with a drink while the kids play. Our hotel also had a large play area bang opposite with a bar & also a kids go cart track - great to keep the kids entertained! Mijas is really lovely very family orientated but this hotel was a bit of a let down & a bit dull really. I wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebScottDarcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your time and your opinión.
Our guests comments gives us the possibility to improve our services.
I am glad that you were satisfied about the location and about the lovely city centre.
Thank you for appreciating the great sea view you had.
I feel sorry that you expected that we have an kids club, actually we have no kids club.
Our animation team tries to fulfill any kind of wishes of our client with different activitiy programme. As we are an international hotel of course we have guest from all over the world.
Probably the next time it is better to inform the reception if you had problems with other guests.
So we could find a fast solution to solve the invonvinience.

Thank you very much

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner and I went here from 20 - 29th December and all in all we were very happy with this hotel. All of the rooms face along the beach where the hotel is situated with fantastic views and the sound of the ocean drifting in through the patio doors. The room was a good size with plenty of storage space and also had a small fridge which was great. Most of the staff were very pleasant, although some of the restaurant staff could do with a lesson on how to smile. The restaurant food was plentiful with lots of choice, but the hot food was sometimes (in fact most of the time) not very hot which was a bit of a worry, although you had the choice of having food from the so called hot hold area or go to another area with a chef on hand usually serving a meat dish and a fish dish cooked on the spot at each meal time. We loved the area around here, the little town of La Cala was beautiful, not touristy at all, but with plenty of bars and restaurants, and little shops. We would probably not go back to the hotel we were in but would self cater as there was a small supermarket in the town and also Lidl and a large Supermercado to hand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Joyce,

Thank you for your time and for your opinión which helps us to improve our services.
It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thanks for appreciating the big room, cleanliness and our staff.
Thank you for your suggestion about the tempreture about the food, we have it in our mind and we will try to find a solution.

Thanks

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have never encountered such rudeness!! We had our confirmation email, showed it to receptionist, and he wouldn't except reservation unless we had printout (i know i should have done this, but never needed it in the past). The two other staff girls at reception looked mortified by his behaviour. We had to walk 15 minutes to internet cafe, print out our booking sheet and photocopy our passports (reception wouldn't do this either).
When we got back to two girls at reception apologised for the managers behaviour saying 'he isn't usually like that' This simply wasn't good enough!!

Hotel very dated and basic, wouldn't go back if you paid me.

On the plus side, the bar had wifi and barman was very kind, making a non alcoholic cocktail for my niece

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DingoDublin1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear client,

Thanks for your time and for putting down your personal experience about our hotel.
I am very sorry that you had these kind of problems with our reception staff.
I can assure you that this is an exceptional case which will not occure again!!!
At our reception you can find a computer with a printer where you can print everything you like at any time of the day. The copies of the Passports makes our reception staff.
I can only suppose that at your arrival we had technical problems and due to this facts the staff asked you to print your booking confirmation in a photocopy shop.

Once again I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had.

We hope to see you again to show you that it was an exception.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Cala de Mijas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ikast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I have booked this hotel from 17/12 till 21/12. Arrive 17/12 at 22,00 and leave the hotel on the 21/12 at 06,00.

On the day of our arrivel the reception told us that we had to pay for all inklusive for 5 days even i told them that we had only ordered for 3 days. He would nor give us any key if we did not pay for all inclusive for 5 days but told us that we could have our money for 2 days bac when the director for the reception was back next day.

We paid for 2 doublerooms with all inclusive for 5 days and expected to have back the next day what we have paid to much.

The next day i contacted the reception but they just told me No money back and if we would not accept this we could leave the hotel immediately without any pay back.

This is simpel, they stole from us.

Furthermore, the good was miserable, so again Don' use this hotel.

Karl Mørup

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Karl,

Thanks a lot for your comment about your stay at our hotel. Like every hotel in the world has rules we also have rules. And one is that if you book all inclusive it has to be for your whole stay.
You can not stay 2 days with full board and then the last 3 days with all inclusive.
I am sorry but this is not posible as we can not control this.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

location is very good - love being right on the beach - and if you have a car very easy to get around. The rooms are very clean and the staff are wonderful the entertainment varied but the food can sometimes be a litle like canteen fare, however there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. We will be staying again as such good value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigangirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamGranhotel, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor and your lovely comments regarding hospitality of our staff who were more than happy to welcome you.

We look forward to serving you soon and please do let us know if you require any further assistance in regards to your future stay.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am just back from a 3-night weekend in this hotel and was accompanied by 13 other women. We had 2 triple rooms and 4 doubles and were all located on the 5th floor, which was great with the better views higher up. We paid approx £90 each for the 3 nights half board, which we all thought very reasonable. The man who checked us in spoke great English and was very friendly, the girl who also worked reception didn't speak as well and was not as warm and welcoming. Rooms were good though space is tight in a triple with the 3 beds in there but plenty of wardrobe space and a good bathroom with bath and shower. We were also delighted to find that a cupboard was actually a fridge! We had a view of the car park / pool and some beach from our side of the hotel, the view in the odd number rooms was better. The balcony is great and the temperature was warm enough for us to have our door open constantly. We missed two nights dinners due to being out and losing track of time but the one we did get we enjoyed. Breakfasts were ok, good variety but food could be cold although there was a microwave to heat it up. They probably could have done with more staff to top up items that were running out. The coffee in the breakfast area was not nice, the free coffee on the 1st floor bar was much better. Breakfast wine for free made up for the coffee!!! We had an issue with a smell of sewer in our room and asked on the Friday night for assistance. The nice man on reception sent someone to spray it and said we could move if the smell came back. It returned overnight and when we asked the less friendly girl on reception she told us we could not move as the hotel was full. The hotel did really pack in on the Saturday and it was only during the night the smell got really bad - it seemed to be stagnant water so it was fine if we ran water through the bath for ten mins or after we showered. Towels were very thin and skimpy in the room but this was hardly the end of the world. There was a good bathroom kit but no soap in it. We had no issues at all with the bar, other than closing earlier than hoped on the Sunday evening. It was busy on Saturday night and there was a dance show and bird show, good craic. We tipped well and between 14 of us, spent plenty so we were offered free shots as a thank you. The hotel is right on the beach and walking distance to shops, bars, other restaurants and to the bus stops for Fungeurola and Marbella. We went to Marbella for the day which was 2,20 Euro one way on the bus and 32 euro for our taxi back that night. The town of Le Cala de Mijas is lovely and I would return to both the town and the hotel for a weekend again.

Room Tip: The top floors have better views naturally and better rooms, and the view on the odd numbered side i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your time and for your comment.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you will come back soon.
Thank you for valuing the room with his wonderful views, our friendly reception staff and our animation programme.
I feel sorry to hear that the dinner was not satisfying you. I apologize for the problem with the smell you had in your room.
We will study your suggestion carefully.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#13 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
1.6 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
13.1 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing