We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As we travelled on a cheap deal, this hotel was more than we expected. The situation is perfect, the bedrooms are very roomy. We were on a breakfast only basis and that was just ok. Plenty of choice but the quality was not great. I certainly was not tempted to eat any other meal at this hotel. The staff were very nice. Our room was spotless if somewhat dated. The showers were poor and while towels were changed every day, they had seen better days. Certainly 4 stars seems to be a very generous rating.

Room Tip: Most rooms are side views to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanelizabeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Le quiero dar la gracia por dejar su comentario sobre nuestro hotel.
Me gratifico que las habitaciones eran muy amplias y que la situación del hotel es excelente.
También me hace sentir orgulloso que el personal era muy amable.
Siento que las toallas y las duchas no eran a su satisfacción.
Le agradezco su opinión que nos ayuda a mejorar nuestros servicios y instalaciones.

Muchas Gracias
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Some friends and I visited this hotel for a long weekend. Ideal for beachlovers and thoae who prefer a more relaxing atmosphere. Super size rooms, we were fortunate to have a view of the sea to our left and the beautiful mountains to our right.
Buffetmeals ok, good variety and a daytime and evenibg entertainment programme.
A short bus ride away allows you to visit Benalmadena, Marbella abd Puerta Banus for the more livelier of us!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Elizabeth,

Muchas gracias por su comentario sobre nuestro hotel.
Me hace sentir feliz sabiendo que tuvo una estancia agradable en nuestro hotel.
Gracias por su valoración de las habitaciones que tienen vista al mar.

Muchas Gracias

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited this hotel in April, having got a great deal on Last Minute. I can only reiterate what others have said - this is not a 4 * hotel. OH was so surprised at the difference between it and another 4* on Lanzarote that we stayed in last year (ok, different place but still same country, continent and EU 'rules'), that he Googled for the hotel criteria.

So, what the hotel does well:

•Location - it's excellent. Not only next to a lovely beach with walks in either direction but a 5 min walk into town (which is lovely)
•Room size - very good. Plenty of room for storage which isn't always the case, even in high end hotels
•Bathroom size - I'm no expert but would suggest as big as single bedroom at least. Lovely!
•Staff - mostly very good. Friendly and helpful. One exception, a young man on the bar. Rude and unhelpful but perhaps a bad day?

What could definitely be improved:

•Drink quality. we were on a short break AI. Didn't expect to have branded drinks as in Lanzarote but, ready mixed from a tap if you ordered a cocktail? What was that about ? And, what was the explanation for a Tequila Sunrise when the main ingredient had run out and we were told, 'it's still the same without it'?

•Food. I'm sorry but I'm one of those boring people who wants their food to be at least warm. At other hotels, I've tracked down a microwave, assuming one is available, and heated my food to a temperature suitable for 'hot' food if necessary. This time, I was amused to see that not only was OH doing the same after a couple of days, but that others were too. What I couldn't understand was that the vast majority of guests were happy to eat their food, at best, lukewarm and, more likely, cold. How can they enjoy it, particularly as seafood was involved sometimes?

•The restaurant generally. We like to eat quite late when on holiday but accepted that as it wasn't high season, we would have to eat somewhat earlier. That was ok but what wasn't was the fact that food restocking seemed to stop quite some time before end of service. Not only that but on at least two occasions we found ourselves surrounded by a strong smell of bleach due to the cleaner coming into the restaurant and mopping around diners. This was before end of service and accompanied by lively discussion with other staff across diners.


Two other things that somewhat spoilt our break. One was the recklessness of two women who left their quite young children unsupervised and running around the edge of the pool. True, the pool wasn't much more than a paddling one in places but, given the size and age of the children, there could easily have been a dangerous situation. Sorry, may be old fashioned, but adults under the influence of alcohol aren't a safe combination for little ones.

The other thing was the 'cherry picker' that arrived without warning the day after we arrived. This was elevated each day to one side of the hotel and the workers on it then proceeded to drill out and re fix the fascia running along the balconies - as some of it had obviously come away and fallen to the ground (good job those children weren't there at that time, eh?). Each day, there was noise and dust until afternoon siesta. The dust and bits of mortar covered each balcony and access to inside the hotel was often extremely difficult due to the picker blocking the only way ( there is no access to the pool area from inside the hotel -see other reviews).

So, on the whole, a reasonable choice for a budget break but we probably wouldn't return. Shame really as Cala is a lovely town with genuinely Spanish bars and a lovely beach promenade. Any suggestions for other accommodation in the area?

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the pool: you get that, plus sea plus mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choc4basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped,

Agradezco su tiempo para enviarnos su comentario.
Su opinión es muy importante para nosotros.
Gracias por su valoración de la ubicación y de las habitación tan amplias.
Me alegra saber que la limpieza y el personal fueron de su agrado.
Cada opinión es muy valiosa para mejorar nuestros servicios aunque hay cosas que son difíciles para cambiarlas como por ejemplo los horarios de las comidas. Un hotel con clienta internacional no debería orientar horarios de sus servicios según su ubicación sino según sus clientes y la mayoría de nuestro clientes esta cómoda con los horarios.
En todo caso intentaremos en su próxima estancia mejorar puntos posibles para ofrecer una estancia inolvidable.

Un Saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

When to the VIK as part of a group of Golfers. Just got back, Ideal location, very good staff but could do with sorting out the cold food like Chips, Meats and the like, if you didn't get their when first out from the kitchen it was likely to be cold or warmish when you got it. Didn't sleep well though that might be just me at the end of the day I when to play Golf so it served it's perpose. Would have been disappointed if I had Holidayed their.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Paul,

Gracias por dejar su comentario sobre nuestro hotel.
Cualquier opinión nos ayuda a mejorar nuestros servicios.
Me alegro que le ha gustado la ubicación y el personal tan amable que tenemos.
Siento que la comida no ha sido a su satisfacción.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good location, very good to find peace with family hotel, we spent a wonderful week. Staff very polite and friendly. Rooms with large space and huge bed, something firm sheets. Nice hotel animation. Very full restaurant services, food good with plenty of choice and we are thrilled with everything about this hotel. I hope to return soon.
Un beau lever de soleil!

Room Tip: Chambre avec vue sur l'entrée de l'hôtel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Alfred,

Muchísimas gracias por su tiempo, por su comentario y por la alta puntuación.
Es un placer saber que tuvo una estancia estupenda en nuestro hotel.
Gracias por valorar nuestro personal, la comida y la situación.
Espero verle pronto de nuevo

Un saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The gran vik was a very pleasant hotel, the rooms were comfortable and clean. It isn't particularly fancy but it was nice for a week in the sun. Good transport links nearby. Male staff friendlier than female staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
3  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Amy,

Muchas gracias por su comentario sobre nuestro hotel.
Me alegro leer que le han gustado las habitaciones y la ubicación de nuestro hotel.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Returned to this hotel with a golfing party having stayed there last year with my wife. The Hotel was the same as the last time. The location is excellent being on the beach and minutes from the town. The food is adequate but unespireing. Small pool suitable for kids. Staff friendly. Only real complaint which I also made last time was the towels were paper thin and were wet before you managed to get dry. Noticed they replaced some of the broken loungers which was a problem last year

Room Tip: Odd number rooms sun in the morning, odd afternoon. Ask for third floor or above also high numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebrown1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

En primer lugar le quiero dar la gracia por su comentario tan positivo.
Me alegro saber que usted vino ya varias veces a nuestro hotel.
Me hace sentir orgulloso como usted valora al personal del hotel.
El problema de las hamacas estamos solucionando ahora.
Hamacas nuevas ya están pedidas.

Muchas Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
108 reviews
4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range: £35 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing