We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

There were 3 adults and 4 teenagers a 7 and 8yr old in our party we have just returned.
I was very impressed with the hotel warm greeting very informative for local buses etc.
our room had a side sea view and was always cleaned and beds made and fresh towels.
Food was brilliant something for everyone and plenty of choices the whole time we were there .Never went hungry , snacks and drinks and icecreams served all day at pool bar. Staff friendly and helpful, especially as there were 9 of us to seat at meal times .
Entertainment varied, but my party enjoyed the leisurely sunset walk along the beach which was a few steps from hotel into the town of La Cala .Just right for myself friends and our kids.Plenty of water activities our kids enjoyed pedalos and jetskis .
All in all can not fault a week of all inclusive at this hotel and i would go back in a heartbeat :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your time in order to send us your opinion about your stay at our hotel.
Our guests opinionis very important for us - as it helps us to improve our services.
We get to know our weaknesses and have the chance to make them to our strenghts.
It is a pleasure to know that your were completely satisfied with your holidays and that you will come back as soon as possible.
Thank you also for your recommendation to other travellers.
Thanks for valuing our friendly and helpfull staff, our big variety of good food and our brilliant location directly on the beach and just a few minutes walk from the city centre away.

Warm greeting from sunny Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    411
    340
    154
    114
See reviews for
307
507
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On arrival in our room after a warm reception from front of house staff, we were disappointed to have to dust all work surfaces and drawers and then we had to clean the bath before taking a shower as there was hair in the bath (room 507). The towels were very old and thin however they were changed daily. There was a great selection of salad in the dining room and the staff in there were actually running as they were very busy. There was always a fish dish which was great for me however vegetarians would struggle to find variety as event he scrambled egg and rice had ham in it. A plentiful selection of cakes and pastries for those with a sweet tooth and the soup was generally very good. Lovely location and not too far from the local town and bust stop (in front of petrol station) for trips to Fuengirolla and Malaga.
Negative points: There was only one pool bar (which closed at 19.00) and there were very often queues of 20 or more and often only one person serving. If you wanted a soft drink there or alcohol you had to queue in the same line. It was only possible to get a hot drink at breakfast or wait in the queue in the heat during the day when all drinks were from a machine. If you have your own tea bags it was not possible to get hot water and cold milk. Another bar open during the day either inside or out would be helpful. There were also long queues for the dining room at all meal times. In previous all inclusive holidays I've had there has always been bar snacks for those who miss breakfast or only want a snack rather than a meal. Snacks were available in the restaurant only. It gave us the feeling of being herded at meal times and there was little flexibility in choosing when and where to eat and drink. The outside toilets were often blocked and would not flush which meant having to keep returning to the toilets in reception from the beach or poolside area. The pool was great for children and there was a good selection of children's games. For those of us without children the pool was very shallow and obviously crowded with children. Basically not bad hotel, bit dated, (we kept getting locked in our room or the door wouldn't lock which took three requests to fix) could do with a refurb', food OK with good salad and soup, dining room staff were very hard-working, good location, close to shops, bus stop and amenities. Another bar/drinks machines would help and a god family location. Keeping the pool bar open later for those who don't want to watch the cabaret show in a very hot room would be a real bonus. After 19.00 the only option was to sit in the large function room or go out into town if you wanted some fresh air and a drink outside.

Room Tip: No rooms have a full sea view however the rooms overlooking the front entrance on one side can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Gel,

Thank you for your time in order to send us your personal opinión about your stay at our hotel.
Our guests opinión is very important to us as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you were happy with our friendly and helpfull staff, with the big variety of desserts, the pool and our perfect beach location.
We feel sorry that you had the impression that the room was not clean enough.
Each of our 300 romos get cleaned daily. Concerning the hot drinks I can inform you that you have the possibility to take a coffee or a tea in the first floor 24 hours a day.
I can assure that we have no queues in the restaurant, It could be that you have to wait 2 minutes but not longer.

However we thank you for your comment

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me, my husband and our 4 year old daughter stayed here for 2 weeks in early June. We enjoyed every bit of the holiday. We were all inclusive and the food was great(very fresh & lots of variety).The hotel location was brilliant, right on the beach front. The cleanliness of the hotel was of a high standard, When hotel cleaning staff serviced our room this included change of bedding everyday, and beds were also pulled out for the floor to be cleaned on daily basis. Service was very good, very polite and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you very much for your time to put down your opinión about our hotel.
Our clients opinión is very important for us - as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you recommend our hotel to other travellers.
Thank you for valuing our fresh food and our helpfull staff.
Our helpfull staff is one of our strenghts.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is very impressive as you approach and then you realise that it is built at 90 degrees to the beach, no room has a full sea view, if you look hard left or hard right from the balcony you can see the sea (a little). You also have to walk out of reception and along the front of the hotel to get to the pool area. As I say just a bit disjointed.

The room we stayed in was great and kept very clean. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and varied. The bar area had several alcoves which gave personal space, pillars in the room do tend to obscure the stage area a liitle though.

I'm quite impressed by the management (reception), I had to sort out the transfer back to the airport, I asked for assistance and they [reception] said that they had already done this for me and I would be picked-up at ... (it's the little things; very good!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iamyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Lamyan,

En primer lugar le quiero dar la gracias para su tiempo y para su comentario.
Me satisfecha leer que su habitación era estupenda y muy limpia. Además me alegro que la comida era abundante y variada.
Siento que desde su habitación solo se vía el mar un "poco".

Gracias y saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great location and staff were great, however the food was not the best buffet food I've experienced. Some things we're suprisingly nice and some were....not.

However the hotel itself was very clean, modern and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. Most rooms have a sea view which is nice. A very relaxing holiday overall! Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank piniwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

En primer lugar le agradezco su estancia en nuestro Hotel y su opinión hacia nosotros.
Siento que nuestro buffet no haya sido de su agrado.
Me alegra saber que la habitación y la limpieza ha sido a su satisfacción.

Gracias por sus sugerencias que nos ayudaran a mejorar nuestros servicios.

Un saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We’ve just returned from a three night break in La Cala de Mijas staying at the VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol. We had a wonderful time and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel and its location.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped with mini fridge, air conditioning, TV, hair dryer and personal safe.

The hotel’s location is right on the beach and for 9 euros per day you can hire a pair of luxury sun loungers and parasol. Alternatively you can stay in the hotel grounds, lounge by the pool and keep topped up with your favourite drink at the poolside bar.

La Cala de Mijas is a lovely location, quiet yet well catered for with bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. On this occasion we were away without the children but we noticed a great park and play area near the beach which would have kept them entertained for hours.

We did a little exploring and had a great day out at Marbella and Puerto Banus. There’s a local bus service that runs every half hour, costing only 2.20 euros one way to Marbella. From there we took the Fly Blue ferry on to Puerto Banus. It was only a half hour trip up the coast and whilst not the full Catamaran excursion we’d hoped for (which did not run that day) we had a great time with the sun shining bright and a glass of cava in hand.

On the last day I spotted the Hotel Manager (I recognised him from the promotional video on the hotel’s website), he was thrilled to get good feedback on his hotel and the video. A very genuine and generous man indeed.

Thanks to all the staff (particularly José and José in the poolside bar) for making this little break a trip to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScubaBob70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped,

Agradezco su tiempo para enviarnos este fabuloso comentario. Su opinión es muy importante para el hotel.
Gracias también por su alta valoración.
Me alegra saber que tuvo una estancia agradable entre nosotros y que el hotel, la limpieza y el personal fueron de su agrado.
Además me hace sentir orgulloso que volverá seguramente a nuestro hotel.

Un saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit to this hotel, and pleased to say they have got Some new sun beds. The food is good and plentiful, but found it to be repetitive, but not a problem as plenty of choice. The rooms are very clean and we've always been lucky to have a front facing room over pool and beach.
Most of the staff are pleasant enough, there is one member of staff that's a total misery and usually on the pool bar, not so nice when your having to deal with that all day. What I would say is if your going to a family hotel anywhere is have some respect for your neighbors at night when you return to your room, remember it's there holiday too x

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Yvonne,

En primer lugar, gracias por hacernos saber que vino la tercera vez a nuestro hotel y aun esta satisfecha con la habitación, la comida y el personal.

Estudiaremos atentamente sus opiniones sobre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
1.6 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
90 reviews
13.1 mi away
Marconfort Griego Hotel
Marconfort Griego Hotel
#21 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing