We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIK Gran Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VIK Gran Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Went to this Hotel last November, going again this November,Excellent Hotel very clean, friendley staff.Food good couldnt fault it.All incusive.The Hotel is only a short walk from the Town and is right on the Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool as balconys catch the sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Billy,

We highly appreciate the time you have taken in order to send us your positive review of your recent stay at our hotel.
Your opinion means a lot for us and we take all comments very seriously.
It gives us the chance to get to know our weaknesses and make them to our strengths.
It is a pleausre to know that you were fully satisfied with your holidays at our hotel.
It makes us proud to know that you already booked your next stay at our hotel.
Thanks for your recommendation to other travellers and for valuing our cleanliness, the friendly staff, the location and our good choice of food.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards from Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    429
    350
    160
    119
See reviews for
321
529
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinver
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the VIK Gran, all the staff are very hard working, very polite and language is no barrier, the whole of the hotel is spotless. Yes it is possibly a 3* plus not 4* and it is in need of an update but that might spoil it, of course if you want to be picky the towels are thin but are refreshed everyday, there are queues at times but you have 2.5 to 3 hours to fit in each meal, the queues only seem to happen to the folks that leave it to the last minute, queues at the bars are soon reduced by the hard working staff, some of the fod was luke warm but again wait abit and the staff refresh them and there was a good choice of freshly cooked from the grill, only critism would be that most of the salads have meat or fish in them, it would be nicer to have these as an addition for guests to add as required. Brilliant hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Try and get room 528 or 526
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Graeme,

Thank you very much for the kind comments especially about our staff which is the soul of our hotel and for awarding VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol your top score.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay completely at our hotel and had relaxed holidays here.

Thank you for your comments and appreciation for our team´s standards as well as our facilities and services.
We appreciate the suggestion about the towels and will study it carefully in order to find a quick solution.

We are hoping to welcome you back next time you visit the Costa del Sol

Kind Regards

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Could see the hotel from AP-7 but proved difficult to find the correct turn-off. If one is hiring a car be certain of your directions. Once in the area of the hotel there was plenty of free parking.
Hotel reception was very efficient and we were in our room in no time! First impressions of the room were clean, spacious, good sized bathroom and side view of the beach/sea - albeit with a drainage track running parallel. Wifi is free and very good.
Food proved to be good but a bit tiresome by day 5. The waiters were definitely 4 star material. The hotel pool seemed rather small and shallow for the size of hotel but was always full! However this leads directly onto the beach if one requires a bit of privacy and can hire 2 loungers for 9 euros/day.
The outside bar offered snacks, lager, cocktails etc which proved very enjoyable late afternoon.
A short walk from the hotel are bars, shops, cafe's, markets all at a reasonable price.
We used the hotel as a base to travel the region, particularly Ronda and Gibraltar which were excellent.
My wife and I enjoyed are stay and would visit again. Between a 3 & 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mr. Steve Mak,

Thank you for taking your time to send us your review of your stay at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol.
Your opinion is very important for us and means a lot for us. You help us to get to know our weaknesses and we have the chance to make them to our strenghts.
Therefore it is a pleasure to know that you were satisfied with your holidays and will come back soon again.
We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable, clean, spacious and great views of your room.
Thanks for valuing our good food, our ideal location and our friendly staff.
Our hotel is situated just a 5 minutes walk from the ciry centre of Cala de Mijas away.
Cala de Mijas is a lovely small town which provides a tipical spanish atmosphere where you have the chance to relax completely.
It is good to know that you had enjoyable afternoons at our pool bar.
We are always trying to fulfill our clients whishes in order to offer a relaxing holiday at our hotel.
We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Would say this hotel is definately only 3* given the fact that is it very dated compared to a lot of hotels in the med these days. It doesn't appear to have had a face lift at all since originally built. Everything about the hotel is basic although very clean. some staff were very friendly and others, a rude woman at reception who spoke to you as if you were stupid if you could not speak fluent Spanish. Mijas itself is a lovely safe area and the hotel's location is very good on the beach. Food very limited and I did have a jippy tummy the day after eating the luke warm seafood paella. Definately stayed in much better 4* hotels and would say the only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Evening entertainment again very poor and the daytime was same old

Room Tip: Ask for sea/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asykes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear appreciated Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us.
We take our guest comment very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.
I was pleased to know that you felt our ideal location on the beach for your relaxing holidays was satisfying you, but naturally disappointed that you felt our service was not a high standard.
I understand your frustation regarding the misunderstanding you had with our reception staff.
I can assure you that it was an exceptional case- as our staff is always friendly and very welcoming. It is our priority to fulfill our clients wishes and make them a comfortable stay.
I also want to apologize for the inconveniences you had with our offer of food and our entertainment programme.
This is a point that we ware extremely passionate about and work at daily to keep on improving.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind Regards and once again we want to thank you for your suggestions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

There were 3 adults and 4 teenagers a 7 and 8yr old in our party we have just returned.
I was very impressed with the hotel warm greeting very informative for local buses etc.
our room had a side sea view and was always cleaned and beds made and fresh towels.
Food was brilliant something for everyone and plenty of choices the whole time we were there .Never went hungry , snacks and drinks and icecreams served all day at pool bar. Staff friendly and helpful, especially as there were 9 of us to seat at meal times .
Entertainment varied, but my party enjoyed the leisurely sunset walk along the beach which was a few steps from hotel into the town of La Cala .Just right for myself friends and our kids.Plenty of water activities our kids enjoyed pedalos and jetskis .
All in all can not fault a week of all inclusive at this hotel and i would go back in a heartbeat :)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your time in order to send us your opinion about your stay at our hotel.
Our guests opinionis very important for us - as it helps us to improve our services.
We get to know our weaknesses and have the chance to make them to our strenghts.
It is a pleasure to know that your were completely satisfied with your holidays and that you will come back as soon as possible.
Thank you also for your recommendation to other travellers.
Thanks for valuing our friendly and helpfull staff, our big variety of good food and our brilliant location directly on the beach and just a few minutes walk from the city centre away.

Warm greeting from sunny Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On arrival in our room after a warm reception from front of house staff, we were disappointed to have to dust all work surfaces and drawers and then we had to clean the bath before taking a shower as there was hair in the bath (room 507). The towels were very old and thin however they were changed daily. There was a great selection of salad in the dining room and the staff in there were actually running as they were very busy. There was always a fish dish which was great for me however vegetarians would struggle to find variety as event he scrambled egg and rice had ham in it. A plentiful selection of cakes and pastries for those with a sweet tooth and the soup was generally very good. Lovely location and not too far from the local town and bust stop (in front of petrol station) for trips to Fuengirolla and Malaga.
Negative points: There was only one pool bar (which closed at 19.00) and there were very often queues of 20 or more and often only one person serving. If you wanted a soft drink there or alcohol you had to queue in the same line. It was only possible to get a hot drink at breakfast or wait in the queue in the heat during the day when all drinks were from a machine. If you have your own tea bags it was not possible to get hot water and cold milk. Another bar open during the day either inside or out would be helpful. There were also long queues for the dining room at all meal times. In previous all inclusive holidays I've had there has always been bar snacks for those who miss breakfast or only want a snack rather than a meal. Snacks were available in the restaurant only. It gave us the feeling of being herded at meal times and there was little flexibility in choosing when and where to eat and drink. The outside toilets were often blocked and would not flush which meant having to keep returning to the toilets in reception from the beach or poolside area. The pool was great for children and there was a good selection of children's games. For those of us without children the pool was very shallow and obviously crowded with children. Basically not bad hotel, bit dated, (we kept getting locked in our room or the door wouldn't lock which took three requests to fix) could do with a refurb', food OK with good salad and soup, dining room staff were very hard-working, good location, close to shops, bus stop and amenities. Another bar/drinks machines would help and a god family location. Keeping the pool bar open later for those who don't want to watch the cabaret show in a very hot room would be a real bonus. After 19.00 the only option was to sit in the large function room or go out into town if you wanted some fresh air and a drink outside.

Room Tip: No rooms have a full sea view however the rooms overlooking the front entrance on one side can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Gel,

Thank you for your time in order to send us your personal opinión about your stay at our hotel.
Our guests opinión is very important to us as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you were happy with our friendly and helpfull staff, with the big variety of desserts, the pool and our perfect beach location.
We feel sorry that you had the impression that the room was not clean enough.
Each of our 300 romos get cleaned daily. Concerning the hot drinks I can inform you that you have the possibility to take a coffee or a tea in the first floor 24 hours a day.
I can assure that we have no queues in the restaurant, It could be that you have to wait 2 minutes but not longer.

However we thank you for your comment

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Me, my husband and our 4 year old daughter stayed here for 2 weeks in early June. We enjoyed every bit of the holiday. We were all inclusive and the food was great(very fresh & lots of variety).The hotel location was brilliant, right on the beach front. The cleanliness of the hotel was of a high standard, When hotel cleaning staff serviced our room this included change of bedding everyday, and beds were also pulled out for the floor to be cleaned on daily basis. Service was very good, very polite and helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VGHCS, Director de Recepción at VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you very much for your time to put down your opinión about our hotel.
Our clients opinión is very important for us - as it helps us to improve our services.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you recommend our hotel to other travellers.
Thank you for valuing our fresh food and our helpfull staff.
Our helpfull staff is one of our strenghts.

We are looking forward to see you soon again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
1.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
6.1 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
4.0 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel Monarque Fuengirola Park
13.3 mi away
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
Gran Cervantes by Blue Sea
#33 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,084 reviews
14.0 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#15 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol

Property: VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
Address: Calle Butibamba S/N, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol is a 4 star hotel in Cala de Mijas (Malaga), located on the beachfront of Cala de Mijas with breathtaking views out over playa de la Butibamba. The hotel is placed only 15 minutes from Marbella and 10 minutes from Fuengirola , with big shopping malls . Sun , beach , golf and relax !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol
Hm Gran Mijas
VIK Gran Hotel Costa Del Sol Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing