We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great modern quiet hotel”
Review of CalaMijas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CalaMijas Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great modern quiet hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

A short walk by bridge over the main road will have you on a large sandy quiet beach lined with cafes offering barbecued sardines amongst other spanish fare. the hotel itself is small (60 rooms), modern clean and has friendly and helpful staff. the rooms are arranged in 7 small blocks around a large pool and a splendidly manicured garden. you need to have your beach towels at the ready if you want to reserve your lounger at the weekend. the hotel had a good mix of locals and foreign holidaymakers when we stayed. the hotel has a hotel and tourism college attached and often in the late afternoons groups of students would also access the pool. the resort itself is small and peaceful. great if you want a quiet relaxing holiday but not the place if your after a clubber's paradise. all that is available just a few kms down the road. the bus that runs on the main road connects you with Marbella and Malaga so gives cheap access to a wider range of options. would certainly consider returning for another quite chilled out break.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    114
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
126
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the sole reason that it is the nearest one to my home. ( I had a burst water pipe on Friday 1st July and couldn't get it fixed before Monday.)
I was allocated a good sized room with a very comfortable king size bed, generous wardrobe space, safe inside the wardrobe was free and easy to operate. There was also a desk with writing materials supplied, a small table with a couple of chairs, flat screen television and complimentary water and soft drinks in the fridge which were replenished daily.
The bathroom was spacious with toilet, bidet and a good shower over a full size bath.
Complimentary shampoo, shower gel, body lotion, soap and shower cap are provided but unfortunately no conditioner :- (
Both bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean and linen and towels were good quality.
I ate in the restaurant on the first night. Service and food were both excellent but the a la carte menu is maybe a little too restricted to eat there every night. Drinks prices very good for a four star hotel, E2.50 for a large glass of red wine.
Breakfast was very nice also. Wide selection of fresh and dried fruits, juices, cereals, yoghurt, cured meats, cheeses,breads, croissants and pastries, scrambled eggs and bacon. The coffee was good and there was a selection of teas, infusions and hot chocolate.
All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who could not do enough for me on the second night when I had a problem with the air-con. It turned out to be affecting the whole hotel and not just my room but was resolved in a short time.
Although my stay was through necessity and not choice I would certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a tranquil, modern hotel.
The only downside is that the upper level rooms in the pavilions require climbing a flight of 20 stairs, no lift, so if you have a lot of luggage be warned! If possible try to get a room overlooking the pool area as there is no view to speak of, the hotel being surrounded by tall trees.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Nice little hotel, beautifully clean and well appointed rooms. Plentiful toiletries in bathroom. Fantastic breakfast choice loads of things to pick from, so enjoy and fill up for the day!
Enjoyed the swimming pool, a bit chilly tho, it even comes complete with a pair of friendly ducks lol. Nice outside pool bar area too.
Only stayed 2 night B n B but would not hesitate to stay again for longer.
Certainly worth a visit and booked direct - good prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Rooms good, Air con excellent. Great for B/B as buffet breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety. Would not recommend Half Board as menu was very limited and very, very small portions. Nouvelle cuisine as the presentation was great to look at. Would say the hotel was mainly for business folks but would be great as a base for touring if you have a car. However there are bus stops very close to the hotel to go in either direction and the prices are not too high at all. Resort itself has not too much to offer although they do have an excellent beach. Extremely quiet. Pool in hotel was freezing, although plenty of loungers available, probably because there were not too many guests. Bar area was very quiet too.
Although we are in the mature age group we found it to be too quiet. DEAD!!

Room Tip: If you wish to pay more for Sup. Room. Not needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maybarMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights, rooms good size and very clean. Good location for beach, bars and restaurants only 5/10 minutes walk from hotel. Ideal for trips to Marbella and Puerto Banus.
Easy to find if you just research on Google Earth.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prestoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Firstly expedia overcharged us on this trip. The hotel was booking for 50 euros per day and expedia charged us 75 GBP per day. The hotel is two stars in my view. The staff could not speak any English and the hotel is very hard to find. Its hidden behind a hotel training school. The rooms have no carpet which makes it uncomfortable and the rooms are like spread out in random fashion. The breakfast was okay. I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic 4 day & night at the Calamijas Hotel, and we have nothing but praise for the place. We checked in at 10pm and were greated by a very friendly young man who spoke vey good English. We had booked a junior suite and we got a great, big, room with a balcony overlooking the pool.

The hotel is right alongside the A7 and is easily visible when traveling from Malaga toward Marbella, and is located directly behind the Ciomijas Catering College. It turns out the hotel was actually built so that the students could do their practical training on site, and means you are assured of the highest standards of service as the students are supervised by professionals at all times.

There are 2 pools at the hotel, a decent sized kids pool and an adults pool. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi however it was empty during our visit. There is a ppolside bar that is open between June and Mid September - which would complement a beautiful pool setting perfectly. Even in October the pool area was perfect for some nice relaxed sun bathing and book reading!

Breakfast was probably the only mediocre part of the experience, but that was from the perspective of people who like a good Scottish Fry first thing in the morning. If continental is your thing you shouldn't be disappointed!

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the beautiful sandy beach, village centre and associated selection of bars and restaurants. One point to note here is that you do need to cross the A7 motorway via a foot bridge, but this is accessible via a ramp.

Although we were just a couple for this visit, we had left 0u 4 and 2 year old at home on this occasion. But it is our intention to return to Calamijas with the kids in tow next year, as both the hotel and surrounds are perfectly suited to families!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeking1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 27 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CalaMijas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CalaMijas Hotel

Property: CalaMijas Hotel
Address: Carretera A7 Km 201 La Cala de Mijas, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Hotel Class:4 star — CalaMijas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CalaMijas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CalaMijas Hotel Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing