We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CalaMijas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CalaMijas Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel in June for a week,we booked through low cost and everything was sorted VERY easily, our flight was delayed on the way into Malaga meaning we arrived after dinner had finished, but the hotel offered us lunch the next day for free too witch we were very happy to accept, when we arrived at the hotel at about 1:00 am and we're welcomed with a smile and a hello, to which we were told about the layout of the hotel, the times of all the amenities and the number of our room, by this time we were very tired and we slumped to our room, now, when we booked we asked for a ground floor room with a pool view, when we got to our room it was not this, so I rang reception and told the lady about the problem and at a click of the finger we had a new room on the ground floor with a pool view.

The first impression of the hotel was beautiful, clean amazing layout and the beds were amazing, then breakfast in the morning, it was lovely fresh food, fresh coffee or tea. The gym was great, a bit small for me and didn't have any big weights, but it was good enough, does need a water machine in there though, the pool was always clean and lovely to just dive into, the reception staff were always helpful and gave us a great rate on renting a car. Right then, the food for dinner. Oh, my, god it was just amazing, perfectly cooked, great selection and looked beautiful, amazing fine dining food that actually fills you up!

The staff were superb, they actually wanted to speak to you on a personal level, not just to keep a good image, they had passion about places in Spain we were visiting and they made the trip very pleasant, the facilities are again superb, with the spa, gym, bar and pool table. We were there whilst the FIFA World Cup 2014 was on and it was on every night in the bar area, although it was Spain got kicked out so the town wasn't to happy.

THE BUS STOPS: you may find this helpful, the bus to fuengirola (the local town with all the shops in and an AMAZING beach) stops at a bus stop in the heart of the little town you will be staying in, you come out the hotel and turn left, walk all the way down the road until the roundabout / island turn right and walk straight, you'll walk into the small town and they'll be taxis lined up on the left and an Irish bar on the right, keep going straight across the road and there in the bus stop, the bus is €1.55 single, bus 202 (I think)

It's a 10 minute walk to the beach and it's lovely, there's a lidl up the road from the hotel a 5 minute walk away.

Amazing hotel! Thank you so much!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor room with pool view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zak Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    114
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
125
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This this the second time we have stayed in the hotel. We booked in for 2 days and then stayed for four! The room is comfortable and spotless. The staff is very friendly. We opted for B&B; lots of choice with the tortilla and brilliant fresh orange and pineapple to be recommended! Lovely ' fresh' pastries too. The hotel is good for the weekly Wednesday local market and is also good for visiting all Costa resorts as there is a bus stop 5 mins walk away. Bus costs 1.55 euro each way! Lots of local restaurants.
The swimming pool was refreshing for June/ July ; lots of comfortable sun beds with no need for reserving them. Wifi good. The pool- side snack bar was very popular serving tasty food. Would welcome a better UK tv Chanel as the world news was just that. Not a big issue as tv not a must on holiday; it would have been good to watch the football matches in English though?
We will return!

Room Tip: If you need to ask for a ground floor room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHughes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My fiance booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday. On arrival we were greeted by reception and were told our room wasnt ready but we could use all of the hotel amenities and could leave our suitcase behind the desk. We went and sat by the pool while we waited which looked lovely, we had a drink at the pool bar which wasnt too expensive either. When we finally got our key we went to the room to unpack, the room was not huge, but it was an ok size and didnt really need to be any bigger just to sleep. There was a tv but we could not manage to find the english channels although others have said that they have, we had a usb which we used to watch in the late evening anyway. There is a bath and shower, a hairdryer, shampoo and soap supplied. Fresh towels were left everyday as well as toilet roll when the maids came everyday. There is also a safe available and a small fridge free of charge with bottled water also left for free every day! We were on the bottom floor which was nice as our room led straight out on to the pool area. The only two faults i had with this hotel was firstly the gym, which was limited and what was there could probably do with replacing, it felt flimsy and like it could break easily! The second was the food, the breakfast was lovely and i enjoyed it everyday, however the lunch menu and evening menu is exactly the same! The food on the menu is lovely but you would have to like every item on the menu to have a good choice if you ate there for lunch and dinner. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and I would definitely like to recommend walking accross the bridge and taking the first left on the corner and you will find a Chinese called 9 dragons, couldnt get better service. I would also like to recommend Snack Bar La Costa on the beach, its brilliant prices, food, cocktails and atmosphere!
Location is ok, lidl next door which is good to fill the mini fridge up with drinks etc, about a 10 minute walk to the beach maybe slightly less, everything is just over the bridge!! Nice and quiet location though and the most noise you will get is from the cute little duck family that likes to visit the hotel!!
I would ask for a ground floor when staying in this hotel to benefit walking straight out onto the pool!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Its not a 4 star hotel in my opinion, but the room was clean, the location was fabulous, breakfast was adequate, the seating area around the pool, although they could do with a few more sun loungers was lovely, the family of ducks made for great entertainment, although mummy duck woke me at 3am quacking so bad I was so worried she or her ducklings were in danger from a cat or a fox! A group of lads there on a golfing holiday were a bit inconsiderate with their loud music and when they got back in the early hours but all in all we will be back for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPearcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is the second time we have visited this hotel and once again we were not disappointed. we went with friends this time and they really enjoyed it and thought the same as us that it is clean,quiet and great value for money the staff were really first class. It's the little touches that just make it stand out like the free water every day in the fridge and free wifi go to this hotel you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have searched for a reasonably priced accomodation for a couple of days, while visiting out friends in Marbella. Hotel Calamijas had good revies here and on elsewhere, so we've decided to give it a shot. Hotel itself is nice, with blocks o three floors buildings spread over. From our room there was a nice golf course view. Room was clean and comfy, A/C and escpecially heating at the moment worked efficient. Bed was of average quality, nothing special but good enough. They are pet friendly hotel, so we had no problem with accomodating our yorkie with us. Breakfast was OK, nothing special, but again quite good.
Overall, taking into account the off season price and location - it was a very nice a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshmyglya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is attached to the catering college, this is in fact a great bonus. As a result the students who use the hotel to train try really hard and the result is excellent service. We had 2 rooms, 67 and 69 a standard room and a suite, standard rooms are a little small but the suite was large, modern and very comfortable. The hotel has a great pool, very clean, plenty of beds , towels come from reception at 1 euro, plus 1 euro to change for clean ones. Parking is very easy and free. There is a big Lidl next door for all your provisions, it is very cheap compared to the Uk. Check in was excellent the staff on reception were helpful and very efficient. Highlights , staff, food, pool and peace and quiet. A real hidden gem, really good hotel for the money. Reid family, 11 to 18 June.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowdropLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cala de Mijas
0.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
1,174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
86 reviews
6.0 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CalaMijas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CalaMijas Hotel

Property: CalaMijas Hotel
Address: Carretera A7 Km 201 La Cala de Mijas, 29649 La Cala de Mijas, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > La Cala de Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in La Cala de Mijas
Hotel Class:4 star — CalaMijas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CalaMijas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CalaMijas Hotel Mijas/La Cala De Mijas, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing