We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“The nicest and cosiest cottage we ever booked...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property
Leave the world behind and relax at Le Fournil
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Leave the world behind and relax at Le Fournil
Le Fournil vacation home, enjoy the stunning panoramic views of the Pyrenees from our patio Charming master bedroom, super kingsize bed, convertible to 2 single beds, ceiling fan, blinds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
20 reviews
Leave the world behind and relax at Le Fournil
Le Fournil vacation home, enjoy the stunning panoramic views of the Pyrenees from our patio
Charming master bedroom, super kingsize bed, convertible to 2 single beds, ceiling fan, blinds
Sunny and bright kitchen, fully equipped, all mod cons, incl. dishwasher and washing machine
10x5m private pool with stunning views, sun terrace and solar shower
Cosy second bedroom, full of character, standard double bed, ceiling fan, blinds
Cosy sitting room, comfy sofa, chair, wood stove, TV/entertainment system, free Wifi, books, games
Snuggle up with a glass of wine by the log-fire in the cooler months, how cosy!
Modern bathroom with fully tiled shower unit, wc, bidet, sink and towel radiator, and hair dryer
The private patio at Le Fournil: just sit down with your morning coffee and enjoy those great views!
The view from our front garden: the church of Loudet with the Pic du Midi as a backdrop
Join us for a nice cool drink in our beer garden
Some of the snow capped peaks are in Spain! We can see three different départements from our house
Too hot to do anything? Take a book and relax in the hammock, in the shade under the Cadalpa tree
Enjoy the French way of life here at Le Fournil
Stream bordering our land. Step out onto the footpath, a wonderful walk straight from the house.
One of the many walks around Loudet, there's always a view of the Pyrenees.
Montréjeau, our closest town, with restaurants, cafes, supermarkets. Weekly market every Monday
Chateau Valmirande at Montréjeau, a stunning place to visit
Saint Bertrand de Comminges, medieval cathedral and surrounding village, roman remains, pure history
Spend a romantic Christmas break in our cosy cottage, enjoy a glass of wine in front of the fire!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montrejeau, Haute-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leen-366
Ninove
1 review
“The nicest and cosiest cottage we ever booked with a marvelous view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful time in this beautifully restored cottage. When relaxing at the swimming pool, you can enjoy the sight of the mountains. The beds are so good, my back never ached and it's so quiet. A really relaxing place!
I can really recommend it to everyone.
We also had the best hosts, Marianne and Brian, we really felt at home.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: There are no remarks, everything was perfect
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it gives us great pleasure when guests enjoy their time here and go home totally relaxed. Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spookandd...
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Gite - Modern facilities mixed with French rural charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The owners Brian and Marianne welcomed us to their gite with open arms. We had corresponded by email prior to our visit – the communications were excellent and we were given excellent directions to the gite. Brain and Marianne are a very friendly welcoming couple, without being pushy or overbearing! They showed us around the gite & left us to unpack, with the offer of a glass of wine if we wished. There was a “welcome pack” in the gite with essentials such as milk, coffee, tea, sugar, and a few home comforts, also supplied are washing up liquids/powder, kitchen roll, & other sundries, from experience I know that not all gite owners are this considerate.
The gite is furnished to a very, very high standard with close eye to detail. The furnishing are a mix of some modern and some rustic – keeping the French charm yet being practical. We were very impressed by the variety & quality of the utensils available - a good selection of baking tins, high quality cooks knives, all of the crockery and cutlery, the kettle, coffee percolator, cooker, dish washer and washing machine even kitchen scales were of a very good standard.
The bathroom is of very high standard all fittings are of high quality.
The TV is a computer based TV with a good selection of English channels, a film and a music library – giving you plenty of entertainment should you need it. There is a good selection of information at the Gite about the surrounding area - general info in a folder including directions, telephone numbers and opening hours for the local supermarkets, information about the markets in the area, doctors, dentists and all of the other general info you might need in an emergency. There is a good selection of information leaflets about attractions and things to do in the area, there are also books, and road and hiking maps of the area, all very useful!
There is a BBQ on the terrace with beautiful views of the Pyrenees in the evening. It is a very peaceful, beautiful setting. Brian and Marianne are currently finishing the swimming pool – which will be in their large private garden. The garden has a few mature trees, offering shade from the midday summer sun. The town of Montrejèau has a selection of Supermarkets & shops it is about 10 minutes easy drive from the gite.
I can honestly say this is the best gite we have stayed in to date. It was very homely, and we really didn’t want to leave. If you are looking for a real peace haven – then look no further.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The high qualitiy finish of the gite and the furnishing
Liked least: Leaving it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your kind words. We have tried to incorporate our own experiences of staying in holiday cottages and Gites to turn Le Fournil into a home from home. It was our aim to create a comfortable and cosy space, a space to relax and unwind whatever the season, with great attention to detail, so that relaxation starts as soon as guests walk through the door. It's nice to see that it works!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lachouett...
France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gite in the Pyrenées”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Brian and Marianne have lovingly restored and converted Le Fournil, the former bakehouse and grain store at their farmhouse property in the stunning French Pyrenees. They have retained plenty of original features such as the bread oven, beams and wooden staircase, but at the same time have equipped the cottage with modern comforts, including a sophisticated entertainment centre and free Wifi and a splendid and modern bathroom. The self contained cottage is cosy, warm (the log burner is wonderful!), spotlessly clean and so, so comfortable.

The two bedrooms are simply but tastefully decorated and furnished, the beds super comfortable but above all, the peace, quiet and darkness allow you to sleep like babies.
Outside, the garden is south facing and just the place the laze away your days, admiring the ever changing stunning views of the Pyrenees. The new swimming pool will be finished for 2014, which will surely add to Le Fournil's attractiveness.

If you want to know anything about the local area, just ask Brian and Marianne who are very knowledgeable about things to do and see, and are very welcoming hosts.

We look forward to returning to this beautiful area of the country and this wonderful gite.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
Thank you, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Le Fournil and would love to welcome you back here any time. Maybe next year to try the new pool? Look forward to seeing you again. Brian and Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey N
Doha
1 review
“Very Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Le Fournil in August, but due to our schedule were only able to spend four nights in this lovely accommodation. The property has been renovated to the highest standards with every room tastefully decorated and finished. Brian and Marianne were charming and helpful throughout our short stay and made us wish that we had found time in our schedule to stay longer. The location of the property is wonderful and the views of the Pyrenees truly memorable. This was our first trip to The Pyrenees, but it wont be long before we return and Le Fournil will be top of our places to stay when we do

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Quality of Accommodation and location
Liked least: Local amenities a little sparse
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2013
Thank you,
It's the nicest compliment for us when guests say they wished they could have stayed longer. We enjoyed having you around and look forward to seeing you all again, especially our little friend Ethan.
Best wishes
Marianne and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesprin...
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying in this beautifully recently restored gite. Brian and Marianne the owners have made a wonderfull job of the restoration and have created an excellant home from home. The attention to detail and quality of the decoration, furnishings and finishes dose them credit and every little detail has been thought of to make for your every comfort and need whatever the weather or time of year of your stay.
The location is very peacful rural village with excellant links for site seeing and the property has excellant views of the Pyrenees. I would highly reccomend a stay here and the prices are very reasonable.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2013
Thank you, comments like yours make it all worthwhile and are a great encouragement for the next stage of our project. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Le Fournil. Brian and Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire-lo...
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have done better myself....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

After leaving it a little late to book our weeks stay in the south of France we started looking for a gite/house that would be suitable for my family, to my surprise we came across this little place. Fortunately it was available as it had not long been added to our search site, so we snapped it up. The price was good, the location was ideal and it looked from the pictures, nicely decorated.

When we arrived we were greeted by the owners Brian and Marianne who lived in the adjoining house, they were friendly and extremely welcoming. They had left a lovely welcome pack, fruit, milk, wine, cake and other bits, that was a nice touch.

We were shown the cottage and all of us were very pleased with what we saw, my little girl was over the moon to have her own double bed and I was more than happy with the idea of no washing up for the week as the kitchen was well equipped and had a dishwasher.

After unloading all the belongings we had a little explore of the cottage, it was well dressed, large and had enough mod cons to keep any young family happy. Everything from a BBQ, private terrace, ceiling fans, fully kit out kitchen and lots of land to ride bikes and play on. Being newly finished everything was immaculately clean and tidy, i liked this as I am a bit of a house proud lady. hehe

The location was perfect, close enough to the main road (about 10 mins drive) but far enough away to be quiet, the views from the house were amazing, a stunning backdrop of the Pyrenees. The village was quiet but jump in the car and there are several bigger towns and supermarkets around for all the basics.

The owners were brilliant, we had plenty of questions and they did their best at all times to help, we enjoyed drinks with them in the evenings under the stars but when we wanted to have our own space they were happy to let us be. Both were very educated and we enjoyed the conversation and chit chat with them.

We used their knowledge to our advantage and explored some Tour de France routes, my partner also enjoyed trying out Brian's home made beer, which I believe went down well.

My daughter (8) enjoyed the hammock in the garden and chasing the numerous lizards around. She would also disappear off to chat with the owners who were very accepting of her.

Our car was kept secure in the barn that joined the house and cottage and the bikes were tucked away safely too.

Overall we could not fault this property, it has the original charm of beams and french design as well as being super clean and useable.

We would recommend this is anyone, couples, families etc. The whole process of booking, paying and staying was a delight.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Thank you, we really enjoyed having you stay with us, and are glad that you all had such a good time here. We miss our little chats with Louise! Come back any time :) Brian & Marianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reowulf
Dorking
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have been coming to this part of France during the last twelve summers
and though we are familiar with the area we do like to try new places to stay. Le Fournil was completely new with no reviews but ideally located for us. A warm and helpful response to our enquiry persuaded us to give it a try and we were not disappointed. The accommodation was exactly as described but even more charming than we expected.
Watching the light fade over the mountains as we sipped a glass of Brian's home-brewed beer set the seal on our first day at Le Fournil; a perfect start to an enjoyable stay.
Like most of France the weather had been poor before we arrived but we were lucky. If we had been house-bound the excellent TV and WiFi set up would have kept us entertained. Marianne gave us tips on where to do our food shopping and the kitchen equipment was first-rate. Care had been taken to make the bedroom and sanitation look and feel like home rather than a display room in IKEA. Not much else to say. Full marks.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Charming situation
Liked least: Rickety gate at bottom of drive.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay at Le Fournil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing