We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Ridge Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
US$1,470
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$524
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa(Five Islands Village)
US$605
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coconut Beach Club(St. John's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
577
384
122
51
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
384
122
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaveda spainfinity poolshuttle servicesushilocal beachesbeach shuttlenature walkcarmichaels restaurantall inclusive optionall inclusive plannest beachfree shuttlesteak nightmain restaurantbreakfast plansheer rocksland rover
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the Sugar Ridge for one week 6th to 13th February. The staff were attentive and very pleasant. The room was lovely and comfortable and well equiped, stayed in Room 20 which had a fantastic view across the lagoon to the sea. When we checked in our room had Hibiscus flowers placed around the room and bathroom a beautiful touch. Particularly liked the private plunge pool. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. The breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. Something for everyone. We also ate in the Sugar Club restaurant and Carmichaels both of which were very good with attentive service. We like to sample the local restaurants all of which were very good especially Shellys fish and chips! Will definitely stay at the Sugar Ridge again if travelling back to Antigua.

Room Tip: The rooms with a private plunge pool are great.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caz1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sugar Ridge does a great job in giving you that feeling you want when you're visiting Antigua. The ambiance of the place, it's design, layout, location, everything seems to be purposefully done to be easy on the eyes and make any weight you may have ease off your shoulders. The high point for me was the customer service. You do feel the staff make every effort to help you in every way and it never seems to be a bother, even when you may be a little "pokey." Janine at front desk was exceptional in her positive representation of the hotel and by large the island. Her warmness and calm efficiency help iron out any possible inkling of an issue. Dinner at the fine dining restaurant Carmichael's was pretty good. The food was very tasty and came out in time and the wait staff, in my mind, were very good. All in all a fantastic spot to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher part of hill provide more privacy and panoramic views. Room 60 is one of the best.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Sugar Ridge is in a lovely setting half way up the hillside with great views. It has only 60 rooms and felt more personal. We thought the environment was great even though not on the beach and the grounds lovely. Commenting on the specific aspects:
Accommodation: Our room was very comfortable, really well equipped with a huge verandah. We opted for the deluxe without plunge pool and that was the right choice as the views were great. I must admit I felt a bit disappointed when we were allocated our room as I wanted to be higher up the hillside and more separate from other properties but found out later that the hotel pictures must have been of the private houses further up and actually most of the blocks of 4 rooms are just further round the hill. However, our room still had a great view and was actually more convenient for the main sugar ridge facilities.
Food: we consider ourselves to be foodies and found the food to be good overall. Carmichael's is more refined food than Sugar Club and has a nice atmosphere (apart from the supermarket Muzak which we recommended they changed!). quite a few items have a supplement if all inclusive which is a bit annoying and cheeky on things like prawns which you can have at the Sugar Club restaurant and more of them! At the SC we found plenty to choose from, sometimes the food was very good and sometimes just ok . . . Am not sure why this was a bit inconsistent .... Maybe the chef on duty? Breakfast was a bit mediocre apart from the omelettes and pancakes which are made you to order.
Facilities - the two pools are not the largest but for us perfectly adequate... The one up at carmichaels is very small and there is limited room but the views are fab. The gym is a good standard and there are some very challenging classes if you want to push yourself. The spa and hairdressers are also great to have on site. The transport to the beach is a via an old open sided landrover but make sure you find out when the cruise ships are in as it can get a bit crowded... We tried both nest and turners and liked them both but turners is finer sand and felt more spacious.
Service: almost without exception People were really helpful and friendly and service was good.
Having read lots of reviews in advance the hotel lived up to our expectations and In some respects was better. I think it's important that people remember that this is 4 star and Antigua is expensive. It is true that there are some steep steps to climb but you will probably benefit from the exercise.
My recommendations for the hotel would be - make sure you maintain the buildings, steps and pool Beds, tables etc, review your menus and focus on quality.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CandPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We are just back from a fantastic week at Sugar Ridge.

We opted for B&B, and probably spent a little more on our holiday than the all inclusive option, but ate out in a variety of fantastic restaurants. We found the food at the Sugar Club and Carmichael's a bit hit and miss (hit - sesame seared tuna with wasabi mash on seafood night, miss - mahi mahi in a very bland tomato broth at Carmichael's). However, the service at both was very good and the setting at Carmichael's overlooking Jolly Harbour and the coast is pretty hard to beat.

Without doubt though the highlight of our stay was spending two full days at Jacqui O's 'love beach' just down the coast at Crab Hill, and eating at the fantastic restaurant there. While the Sugar Ridge shuttle takes you to a choice of local beaches, these tend to be inundated with people on cruises and island tours, the restaurants are pretty standard (and expensive), and there is a steady stream of often very pushy beach vendors. Jacqui O's on the other hand is peaceful, secluded and stylish, despite the slightly cheesy name and Sandals-esque roadside billboard. You can hire a double sunbed 'pod' complete with retractable sun hood, for 10US a day if you eat at the restaurant. Friendly, polite staff can deliver cocktails to your sunbed. There's also a rather lovely freshwasher shower attached to a palm tree (no showers at other beaches). The restaurant (Hamptons beach house style - whitewashed floors, clapper board etc) was top notch, if relatively expensive (about the same as Carmichael's only far, far better). With pineapple gazpacho, followed by crab salad for lunch, with a bottle of rose and impeccable service, I've never enjoyed the last day of a holiday more: this is beach perfection.

Back at Sugar Ridge, the best things for me was the stylish decor (including comfortable rooms) the setting (stunning gardens, lush Antiguan hillside, view out to sea), and the very friendly service. Setting aside the fantastic breakfasts, we would probably have got a bit bored eating in every day and would have missed out on the variety available in other nearby restaurants, in particular the amazing Jacqui O's. I can understand why no one at Sugar Ridge mentioned it to us, but would have been very disappointed to have missed it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We just finished a week at Sugar Ridge and were delighted with the accommodations and accoutrements. The rooms are modern and well maintained. We opted for the plunge pool room though I didn't get much us of that did most of my swimming and sunning at the beach. They run shuttles to a couple of the beachs on a schedule but getting back and forth could be a bit hit and miss. Turners was by far the best beach. We were on the breakfast plan only we sampled their restaurants the Sugar Club once (great steaks 2 for 1 on Wed) moderately priced and Carmicheals twice excellent food but very expensive. One of the great things about this place is most of the staff come from the local community so they are very helpful in getting you around and making suggestions on what to try. One thing I would highly recommend is Vorn's (also the shuttle driver) morning nature walk through the bush out into a back valley and through a local community. It leaves early a few times a week but gets you off the beaten track and gives you a bit better sense of Antigua.

Beds were comfortable, almost ideal. If I come back though I will ask for a room a bit farther around the hill as the night club tended to play a bit later than I did. If I had another week I would have been there with them, but only one requires more recharging. First few night I found the air conditioners a bit noisy, but the white noise blocked out the night club entertainment.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ottawa_uhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews