We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Carribean Getaway to Antigua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Carribean Getaway to Antigua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The staff makes this a very special place -- everyone was helpful and friendly, from the people at the desk, to the shuttle drivers, to the "golf cart" chauffeurs -- they all made the difference!.
Food and service at the Sugar Club were very good -- also the music!
We highly recommend this spot!
H & H from Maine

Room Tip: Lovely rooms, marble floors & walls, rain shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oceansiders1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    340
    106
    44
    26
See reviews for
98
677
74
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved this place. Booked on Secret Escapes. The staff were just incredible - friendly and funny and polite. I will always have such fond memories of this place, the views from the top restaurant are incredible as is the food.

There are two pools one at the top and pool with great service at the bottom of the resort. Yes the place is a little hilly but there are buggies if you need them but we always walked no problem.

Vaughn is a legend - go on his nature walk it wont disappoint. The beaches are unreal, white sand green tinged water. We loved them.

The manager seemed a little aloof at times but the rest of the staff were superb, and the all inclusive scheme at the beaches was a little unclear. When we queried it they made us a fantastic picnic with beers and lots of ice to keep everything chilled as we headed to half moon bay and English Harbour.

Antigua is a magic place - you should go.

Room Tip: Any would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grahamdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Loved this hotel, the views, the food and the staff were wonderful. Enjoyed the free shuttle to some of the most amazing beaches on the island. We never stay full board as we enjoy eating out but the meals in the sugar club were very good so we ate here several times. Enjoyed the stay so much we would return here. Big thank you to the talented band (foreplay) who made my birthday extra special. :) Loved cocktails by the infinity pool at sunset, seriously missing the Pina Coladas; try the gorgeous English Harbour Rum. Circumnavigation by sea-cat with snorkelling is worth every penny, loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here! Staff were so nice and friendly from check in to check out. The rooms are clean, spacious and very plush. Loved the views and plunge pool on the balcony and sunsets. Located within steps to jolly harbour and great beaches on the island. The gym is great as well with very up to date equipment! Food was not bad as well to my surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyPrincessC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 10 nights at Sugar Ridge and really cannot fault a thing. Our room was lovely with a large bed, well decorated bathroom and plunge pool on balcony which got the sun late afternoon. Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Some stairs but always staff available to shuttle you around if too tired! Food was excellent in the Sugar Club and Carmichaels too. All staff very helpful and happy, with a story to tell! The shuttle to the beach was good for a break from the pool area and Vorn was helpful in choosing a quieter beach. A wonderful honeymoon trip in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichelleM1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

the rooms were more than lovely- perfect for romantic getaway. the staff were amazing- always willing to make our stay comfortable in any way. plenty of great beaches in the area- some walking distance, some you'll need the shuttle. Good restaurants. Can't say enough about this great fine.

Room Tip: I read about the stairs and they are a little steep/take some care to maneuver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just home from the most wonderful trip away to Antigua - way beyond my expectations.

I was travelling alone and arrived at Sugar Ridge feeling disorientated, recovering from the flu and a 12 hour journey. It looks a lot shabbier than in the website photos with stained chairs in reception etc so I initially felt disappointed. That soon changed. Nafuna checked me in and was so helpful, warm and kind and was consistently so throughout the 9 days. Janine was also brilliant on the front desk. Loved these ladies by the end of the 9 days.

It is great being able to go to different beaches and see different parts of the Island rather than being stuck at one beach resort. Dark Wood Beach is beautiful and surprisingly not one of the options highlighted by the hotel but easily my favourite. Vorn who drives you to the beach is a brilliant character with a great philosophy and sense of humour. His morning nature walk through the fields over to Bolans village pointing out different plants and meeting local people was one of the highlights. This made the trip for me and so loved the warm-hearted relaxed spirit of the people and relaxed and started to enjoy the holiday much more as a result.

Carmichael's is brilliant for sunset - amazing view. Clive was always attentive. In fact I didn't bother with the main pool at all as the design of it isn't great - two small pools with a seating bit on the middle - get rid of the seating area and have one big pool you can swim in. Food is a bit bland at Sugar Ridge so I was glad not to be all inclusive and make my way around to different local restaurants.

Loved my room being set in the hillside - dawn and dusk on the balcony looking over Jolly Harbour were particularly peaceful. Great size bed and shower. Always cleaned really nicely and felt looked after. Really enjoyed the flowers and landscaping too.

I had my haircut in the Aveda Spa. Vlada, the hairdresser is absolutely brilliant - one of the best cuts I've had! Friendly and welcoming. Wish I could visit every two months for a haircut :)

Left feeling really relaxed, grateful for such a magical time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road. It meant I was higher up and could enjoy the views. Highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatByles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Property: Sugar Ridge
Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing