We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sisters' Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sisters' Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Property and helpful staff form the perfect backdrop to fit any type of vacationer. If you want tranquility, it's everpresent in this natural hillside setting with great views. Loved the poolside (especially on top of hill) experience under pergolas with only the sound of birds and waterfalls. If you're looking for a beach experience, several are close by and the property jeep will provide roundtrip service upon request (if on the all-inclusive plan, you can also eat "for free" at some of the beach cafes). Loved the variety of experiencing several beaches. If you're looking for adventure and exploration, several good day tours are available. Don't miss the Sunday Jump-Up at Shirley Heights. Pre-book transportation at front desk. If you enjoy nightlife and dancing, this is your big opportunity! Nights get quiet very early at Sugar Ridge. We also enjoyed the excursion to Barbuda and the Frigate Bird Sanctuary, concluding the day with a meal and time on the untouched pink stretches of sand. Only go on a calm day as the catamaran ride is lengthy out on open seas. Room size is rather small, but the patio space makes up for it. Food was good and offered enough variety to wholeheartedly recommend the all-inclusive package. Loved the intimacy of the resort and ability to get acquainted with fellow travelers, most of whom were lovely people from the UK. GM - Keith went all out as our flight was delayed. We arrived at 1 am starving and without luggage and he was kind enough to open up the gift shop for sundries AND travel to the only local establishment still open and deliver some jerk chicken to our room. We were well cared for from start to finish!

Room Tip: Not worth the added expense to get a room with pool on patio unless you have children and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOB83113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    339
    106
    44
    26
See reviews for
97
677
74
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a last minute choice and we enjoyed ourselves.
We particularly liked the positive and friendly attitude of the staff and the openness of Keith (the GM).
The Island's General Election took place three days after we left but the buzz and enthusiasm of all the people we met to take part will stay with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Positives:

* Fantastically well maintained & clean
* Pools are a lovely temperature
* Shuttle/carts to & from beaches/hotel rooms with flexibility on timings
* Great food when it did arrive
* Certain members of staff are obviously in their element working here & that came over very well

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Negatives - Primarily Housekeeping & Sugar Club Restaurant staff = bad attitude:

* Our 2 person daybed had only one pillow - when we asked for a second one it had been dumped on the outside table as it seemed to have been too much effort for staff to actually walk that extra one step to put it on the daybed

* Only one mug provided for the coffee machine....for double occupancy room

* When we tried to use this accessory, the coffee-pods didn't fit the machine so we questioned staff as to whether we were doing something wrong to be told, "The correct machines are still in Miami". Upon relaying this to keith (GM) he explained that the *pods* were still overseas but reassured us it was OK to use these larger ones. He also then sent up some of the true-sized ones. Surely HK should have picked up on the fact that the correct pods were indeed on-site & that 2 mugs were needed?

* Balcony light not working

* Minibar fridge was empty despite intro welcome letter saying it was fully stocked. We were charged $5+tax to have it filled which apparently is standard as we were "out of season". NOTE: We had to complete a form which we waited 4 days to receive in order to have fridge stocked - this finally happened when we approached Keith about it. If reception staff knew it was empty, why did we get a letter contradicting this?

* TV screen not visible from bed - no sofa or armchair provided

* Breakfast on 2nd day was a disaster! Upon ordering I explained that due to medical condition my eggs could not be runny. They arrived runny so I explained that we needed them hard as was noted originally. They came back to me waterlogged & tasting of nothing but vinegar. Inedible. Despite asking 3 separate waitresses for butter, this never materialised.

* B/fast on day 3 = worse! Fruit ordered never arrived. We ordered a German Pancake each, waited 45 mins so then asked staff the situation (especially as the fruit hadn't come!) We were told that the Chef had not used the raising agent so had thrown them & started again BUT that as he had only made ONE on this second attempt, my husband & I would be sharing one!!!!
Another 45 mins later & still no food at all, we were told that we would have to order something else off the menu.

* No decaf coffee available in restaurant in evening after dinner on one occasion.

Husband & I had strong feeling that as it was now low season, we were on the back-burner & certain members of staff in Housekeeping & Sugar Club Restaurant had the wrong attitude. Such a shame as apart from these, the other members of staff are irreplaceable & totally passionate about their "new friends" ie new guests.

If Janine from Reception, Keith the General Manager & Carlene B from Sugar Club set up their own establishment, I would be there without hesitation.

Made a great small group of friends too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarRidge, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind remarks in respect of specific individuals and for the positive comments you made about many aspects of Sugar Ridge. As can be seen from your review and as we discussed at the time of your stay – there were a series of very unfortunate incidents which arose especially at breakfast on two consecutive days during the week you were with us. As you know I also spoke to those concerned in Housekeeping and Sugar Club and as I recall you said afterwards the magic dust had worked a charm. I am extremely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced which I know did on those occasions you mentioned did not reflect the normal high standard of professional service we are accustomed to providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I spent a full week at Sugar Ridge for our honeymoon and it could not have been more perfect! We went from 19-27 May and in my opinion it was the best time to travel since it was the beginning of low season. It was wonderful being able to relax and not have to worry about crowds either at the resort or any of the beaches. The staff at Sugar Ridge is unmatched...they are super friendly, always willing to answer questions or give rides in the golf cart or in the shuttle to the beach. The accommodations are the best I've experienced anywhere in the Caribbean! The villas are beautifully appointed with high ceilings and gorgeous furniture and the bathrooms are very well done. I couldn't believe how spacious it was and the patio area was a lot bigger than I expected! Being at the top of the hill in the best villa at the resort the views from our patio were stunning!! The infinity pool at Carmichael's is both beautiful and affords the same stunning view. The day we arrived we were greeted warmly at the front desk, offered a refreshing drink, and taken up to our room where we found a complimentary bottle of champagne and a coupon for a free couple's massage (spa was WONDERFUL!!). We opted to forgo the all inclusive and just got the breakfast only plan. It was perfect! Breakfasts at the Sugar Club are delicious and there are so many options to choose from. We ate at the Sugar Club for dinner once and Carmichael's twice and thought the food was very good...other than that we found places off the resort. Sheer Rock is nearby and while expensive is a truely unique dining experience...you're literally sitting on the edge of a cliff overlooking the water! There is an Italian place in Jolly Harbor whose name escapes me now but they make the BEST wood fired pizzas! The fish and chips bus across from the resort is not to be missed either...truly a unique dining experience! And of course Shirley Heights on Sunday night. Best jerk chicken I've had! We really liked the Nest beach and got some tasty beer battered coconut shrimp and jerk chicken for lunch at the Nest beach bar. Took a tour around the island on the Treasure Island catamaran...would definitely recommend this but just be aware you go out into the ocean on the north side of the island and the waves get a bit choppy. All in all it was a perfect trip :) Out of all the islands we've been to Antigua is our favorite and we would love to go back and stay at Sugar Ridge :)

Room Tip: If possible get a room higher up the hill because of road noise. We lucked out with the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed just 3 nights at Sugar Ridge and wished it could have been longer.
The beds and especially the pillows were so comfortable. We had the breakfast option which was very good and quite extensive from a fruit plate to the full works. Carleen made our stay very memorable. I would also like to mention Jackie who runs the exercise classes, what a lovely lady and very good at her job. Very bubbly, encouraging and enthusiastic - everyone should try and do one of her classes. On a downside, when we met with friends with a 3 month old baby for lunch, there is no access for buggies/wheelchairs and no baby change facilities. I know they are promoted as a boutique hotel, but it does somewhat limit their clientele so please give the baby change facilities some thought as this could easily be implemented.

Room Tip: All rooms are on a hillside which are all accessible by a hotel golf buggy service but if you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I just visited Sugar Ridge last week. We had such a wonderful time. The resort staff was super friendly. We especially loved Carleen for breakfast and Glave up in the bar at Carmichaels. The property was beautiful and we actually liked that it was not right on a beach. They have a wonderful guy named Vaughn that runs a beach shuttle and will take you one of 4 or 5 beaches. We enjoyed the option and not just stuck on the same beach each day. We did the breakfast option instead of the all inclusive and we so glad we did. They are so many great places around the resort to go to that we didn't have to stay on property to get our money's worth. We had a 1st floor room with our own private plunge pool, highly recommend that! It was a trip of a life time and Sugar Ridge and the staff made it unforgettable. Take a sunset cruise one of your days as well. Call Miramar Saling and ask for Kevin he is awesome. That was the highlight of our trip. A private cruise on 47 ft sail boat with Champagne and a private cove to snorkel in and explore!!!!! So awesome! We really loved our time and would definitely go back to Sugar Ridge if we are able to.

Room Tip: Room number 38 is awesome. Private with it's own plunge pool and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

So lovely! I took my mother to Antigua for Mother's Day and we stayed here for 3 nights after 4 terrible nights at Tranquility Bay.

This definitely was the complete opposite of T.B......in an amazing an awesome way. We had a king size room on the ground floor of our little bungalow so we had our own plunge pool. The room was beautiful. The grounds amazing. The staff was superb.

We also went for massages at the spa. While my mother loved hers I walked away sad....probably one of the worst massages of my life. I would go back but just make sure I didn't have the same lady.....I can't remember her name but it started with a T.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarRidge, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Sugar Ridge and that you would want to return. We were also pleased to read that your Mother very much enjoyed her spa treatment, but that your treatment was very disappointing. All our therapist are Aveda trained, and in most cases have been with us for more than three years and I am extremely sorry that on this occasion it would seem that we failed to deliver. I have drawn you complaint to the attention of all our therapists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.2 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,646 reviews
0.5 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
0.9 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Property: Sugar Ridge
Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing