We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was a fine place to stay to explore beautiful...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
mcta2015
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was a fine place to stay to explore beautiful Antigua”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I don't normally write reviews, but am doing so because I felt the need to counter the previous one. I just returned home from a stay at Villa Splendid with my two young adult children. We were looking for a base from which to explore a beautiful Caribbean island - and the villa worked out perfectly for that purpose. We were comfortable, and had all that we needed. Perfect? Perhaps not - the paint was chipped in a few places, and a few light bulbs were not working - but so what? We were not looking for perfection, but for a nice, safe, comfortable place - and that is what we found. Everything was clean and functional (AC, internet, plumbing, etc.) Joy and others at Typically Tropical Villas were quite helpful. I would like to also recognize Glenmore Colbourne Taxi Service - a father and son operation - they shuttled us various places around the island, answered all of our many questions about Antigua, and made us feel very welcome and at home. We were very sad to leave Antigua, and hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterplay...
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely NOT Splendid”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
13
people found this review helpful

This is the second time I have had to post this review. The owner apparently has deleted his listing of this villa where I originally posted it.

Make your own judgement, but what does that tell you?

Here is my original review:

My wife and I are avid travelers, we really enjoy our vacation time together. We work very hard for most of the year, so when vacation time comes, it is a big deal for us. We had visited Antigua a little over 2 years before in 2012, when we got married. We absolutely love the island and the people. We loved it so much, we wanted to return and thought we would try to get a little closer to the real "feel" of living on the island by renting a villa. After many hours of searching, and many debates between ourselves as to which villa sounded the best from the descriptions and photos, we settled on "Villa Splendid". After all, it was described as "luxurious" "executive" "perfect for a relaxed holiday". (Descriptions from the 3 different listings)

Everything was set, and we went ahead and booked it for the 2 weeks beginning January 11, 2015. It seemed a little strange that there appeared to actually be 2 or 3 listings for this villa, but didn't really notice until it came time to pay our first installment. After we had booked it through Holiday Lettings and the owner Neil, we were contacted by the second listing which was actually Typically Tropical Villas. They had sent us a quote as well, and it ended up being about $250 cheaper. When we asked the owner Neil, he said it was because we booked through Holiday Lettings. I advised him that it said nothing in the listing about one being cheaper than the other, but in the end, Neil agreed to pay for our taxi ($24 USD) and arrange for us to be met at the airport. OK, it wasn't exactly $250 but we accepted in good faith and were very excited.

Finally, the day arrived and we departed for Antigua. We arrived at the airport, no one was there to pick us up. We figured there must just be some delay, and that someone would be along shortly to get us. We waited for an hour and a half, before finally arranging for our own taxi. No one ever did show up. We got to the office of the property managers, Typically Tropical Villas, and told them what had happened. They apologized, and offered to pay for dinner for us one night. Fair enough - we were just tired, and wanted to get settled in to the villa.

The next morning, it became very apparent we had made a horrible mistake in booking this property. It is situated on the main street heading into Jolly Harbour, and is also close to another main street. The endless honking of horns and loud vehicles was relentless from about 5:45am to around midnight. There was no escape from it. Sitting out on the deck by the pool, you are overlooked by the 2 story apartment building across the alley. No privacy whatsoever.

Inside the villa was just as disappointing. There was dirt on the walls from hand prints, there was paint peeling from the trim, and trim missing from a window all together. Some of the furniture was worn out from use, the seats on the chairs in the dining area were so dirty, we couldn't sit on them without putting a towel down first. The stove had one element that was just sitting there and didn't work, the barbecue was rusted and only one side of it actually worked. The sheets on the bed in the master bedroom were torn, and tattered.... literally. Some of the furniture on the deck was falling apart, and another lounger was broken and just sitting in the corner. The lighting on the deck was half burnt out when we got there, and after 3 days was completely gone. All the bulbs had burned out. The locks on 3 of the windows didn't even work, we had to wedge some random pieces of wood in to secure them.

Are you feeling the "luxurious" and "executive" descriptions yet? How about the "perfect for a relaxed holiday"?

There was an "emergency" phone number given to us by the property managers, to call from the phone in the villa if there were any problems. Well, on the Sunday, our water went out. Nothing but air coming out of the pipes. We tried to use the phone in the villa to call, well it was broken and didn't work. My wife had to use the skype on her phone to call the number. Guess what? No answer, but we left a message on the machine. Nothing.......crickets..... no return call. After about 6 hours we figured we were on our own.

That was the final straw. We couldn't take it any more, we actually had to leave to try to salvage what was left of our 2 weeks. We had to find alternate accommodations and were left with no options.

Neil the owner contacted us 2 days later, to say how surprised he was that we had left. We didn't respond to him until we had returned home, we were so upset, we didn't want to ruin what was left of our holiday. When we did respond, we didn't ask for any money back (although as a business, it certainly would have been the right thing for him to do - but he didn't offer), we asked for one simple thing..... to change his description of the villa, so that other unsuspecting people would be in a position to make a more informed decision on where to spend their hard earned money. He simply denied there was any problem, deflected and refused to change anything. He had the nerve to say that we never told anyone of the issues with the villa itself (obviously there would be nothing they could do about the noise), however my wife told the staff at the property managers on 4 separate occasions, and nothing was ever resolved.

Potential guests just be aware, this villa is NOT all it is made out to be. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and we will gladly forward you the pictures we took.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmariecel...
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you're not into the hotel thing, enjoy your privacy and would like the option of cooking your own meals, well this is for you. Just pack your clothes and move right in, everything else is provided for you. Loved the outdoor space (mini pool, garden and deck. Few minutes walk or short drive to a wonderful beach. If you're a health nut like me, a gym is walking distance on the Jolly Harbor compound for a $29 day pass. 7 days of fun in the sun!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane G
Listowel, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The villa was within walking distance of the grocery store & several very good restaurants. Also just a nice walk to the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review of Villa Splendid.
Athough just outside Jolly Harbour...within a stones throw to walk into.
We are so pleased you had the most wonderful time.

Kind regards
Amy and Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review...we are so pleased you enjoyed all the amenities Villa Splendid has to offer...however.... Villa Splendid is just outside the gated community of Jolly Harbour...the road leading to the villa is a main road...the carts are not licensed to be driven on main roads only in the confine of Jolly Harbour but you can park at the top of Jolly and a short walk around the top will take you directly to your villa.

Thank you so much

Kind Regards

Amy and Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Apr 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so pleassed you haad a wonderful vacation.
The majority of the villas in Jolly Harbour are 220 volts..we do have a few 110 volt villas, but i think it clearly states on the web site the voltage...most phones and i pads, lap tops are dual voltage.

Kind regards
Amy and Margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mallorca
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Agreed Villa Splendid really has everything you need for that perfect vacation....we are so glad you had a wonderful time.

Kind regards

Amy and margot
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing