We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
630
223
68
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
223
68
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the cottages outdoor shower our honeymoon sunset cottage fish jet ski beach vendors every meal kerry ann amazing views sand flies rustic charm main beach turquoise sea the cliff pool cottage
Filter
Updating list...
413 - 418 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Coco's on our honeymoon, to be honest it was the only thing within our budget that was up to my standards with a direct flight and a beach, after planning a big wedding we were broke and just wanted to chill out. Antigua itself wasn't very nice, especially St Johns which was dirty and extremely poor. Coco's couldn't have been more different from the rest of the Island. Breathtaking views from the outdoor restaurant and our gorgeous cabana with an outdoor shower. Our massive terrace with hammock was the best way to relax after a day at the white sand and crystal blue water private beach. The view from the cabana and bed of Church Valley Beach was unlike anything I have ever seen before - absolutely stunning. As honeymooners we received complimentary breakfast in bed with sparkling wine and two complimentary massages in the Zen hut - amazing, I almost fell and blacked out afterwards because I was so relaxed. The Carribean food took a few days to get used to, but by the end of the trip I was eating four course meals regularly - delicious, something new, fresh and local everyday. The staff are lovely and warm, much friendlier than the other residents on the island - to be honest, they made the trip for us. Highly recommend Coco's to couples looking for a relaxed, intimate and romantic trip. Great value for money.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are glad you had an amazing honeymoon experience with us.

Regards
Cocos Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros:
-Can not give enough praises for the staff. made us feel like a local and a friend instead of a paying customer
-Drinks were amazing and has a fresh one in your hand before you had finished your last. Bartenders took pride in what they did and were not short on conversation
-Views were outstanding! Stayed in a premium room and the porch was incredible. Room was nice and they stocked the mini frig with anything you would like.
-Beautiful beach with easy walking access to some shops and a grocery store right down the beach.
-Amazing value. Bit rough around the edges at times (hike to room, older furniture, ect.) but are really great at the important things. Great for the $$
-Outdoor shower was great
Cons:
-Water was murky so not great for snorkeling but made for amazing ocean views
-Limited guidance on local activities. Had to be proactive to get activities set up. Primary focus of staff is to relax you and make sure you are comfortable where you are.
-Tables in eating area could get a bit close to other guests. Bc you eat all meals there you get to know those staying at the resort with you well. Easy to make friends but but hard to avoid them after you do :)
-Food was so so. Did certain dishes really well and missed the mark on others. Smaller portions which was fine by us. Will bring you 2nds if you would like.

Room tip: premium plus views were worth every penny
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your reviews, thank you for vacating with with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Cocos Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We picked Cocos as we hate big resort hotels with loads of restaurants and entertainment and prefer boutique accommodation with a local feel. Cocos was perfect. The accommodation in individual cottages makes for a real Antiguan feel and all of them have wonderful views. Our standard cottage had a lovely view of the pool, garden and beach and involved very few steps. The staff are wonderful - so friendly and helpful and their laughter is always ringing out around the place and is very infectious.

Another reason for choosing Cocos was the a la carte menus. Apart from a selection of dishes which are always available there are daily specials for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit and daily fish specials. The food is always tasty and perfectly cooked. A barbecued selection is also available one evening. The included (Chilean) wines are very palatable but others are available to purchase. Filtered or bottled water is provided in abundance.

We enjoyed the bonfire on the beach although the DJ might do well to get some new tunes - the first few chilled reggae songs were being enjoyed by everyone but then things got a bit hardcore and everyone disappeared back to their rooms. We also felt that we didn't need the entertainment that was provided on a couple of nights (a steel band and a singer) but that's just our preference - we were happy just listening to the sound of the waves and the palm trees.

The beach is lovely, plenty of nice big beds and parasols. We enjoyed taking one of the kayaks round to Valley Church beach where we were the only people and we also walked as far round the bay as we could to the last little beach where we enjoyed swimming. Chilled pineapple/lime/strawberry/coconut drinks seem to be delivered just as you are thinking you could do with a cold drink and rum-based cocktails are available whenever the desire takes you. There are regular visits on the beach from locals selling trips and niknaks but they are all friendly and don't pester you if you say you are not interested.

It's an easy 10 minute walk to Jolly Harbour for the ATM (EC dollars only) and also to the marina from where a lot of the boat trips depart. There are a few shops but it was low season and quite a lot is closed this time of the year (which we liked as the beaches were almost deserted).

We would highly recommended Cocos - for its location, ambience, food and staff. As our driver said "why would you want to stay somewhere where you can hear the elevators going up and down?" Quite!

Room tip: If steps are a problem then our cottage (Number 10) is a good choice but the big sea views/sunsets are to be had further up the very steep hill.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shezerado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we continually strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and have an enjoyable stay.

Regards
Cocos Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was just about the perfect start to our meander around the Caribbean. Exactly what we needed (and even more so in hind-sight when compared to places we stayed on other islands). On arrival we sat in a reception area offering a picture-postcard view over a turquoise sea with a 'welcome' rum punch provided. Staff came and introduced themselves, it was friendly but not obtrusive, and immediately put us in a holiday mind-set. Then we walked up (and I mean UP - it was a steep climb, but so worth it for the views) to our cottage (no. 18). Our bed was set facing doors that opened out over a roofed balcony and then looked straight out to sea. Every morning we pulled up the nets and sat in bed just agog at the view: Wow. Summary of the best bits:

- Cottage: Very comfortable, decent size. Plenty of places to stores clothes. Outdoor shower with hot water. Big bed, good mosquito nets (tho' we hardly saw any), hammock on the balcony. Cottages are spaced out on different levels so you feel separate, and have your own space. I wasn't aware of anyone else round us at any point.

- Grounds: Beautiful. The hotel blended in perfectly with the environment. There were trees and flowers everywhere but not too manicured. It all looked cared for but established

- Food and drink: Great. We went all inclusive as this was our first stop and we wanted to chill our and we ate a LOT! The variety was good - there tended to be a set menu and then plenty of specials including different breakfast juices - I loved cucumber and kiwi. I ate coconut-crusted tilapia (my new favourite fish) and the breakfast pancakes, local saltfish and Johnny cakes were excellent. They even served tea on the beach in the afternoon! There was a served drink service on the beach and the guy in the beach bar could really make cocktails! We drank Chilean wine in the evenings, which was decent.

Facilities and entertainment: Excellent. Places to sit and chill out while waiting for dinner, a lovely dining space, a nice pool by the beach, lots of beach loungers and a beach bar, a cordoned-off swimming area and places along the beach you could hire jet skis, kayaks etc. Nicely, we didn't have to deal with a deluge of hawkers on the beach. It was minimal, and polite. We had a steel band one night that was amazing. I'd have put them in my suitcase if I could have! Marina a short walk away with places to shop and a supermarket (cashpoint in the supermarket)

Wildlife: I loved all the hummingbirds - there were 3 species (green throated and purple throated caribs, and crested hummingbirds) and they flew round so fast they looked like jewel-coloured insects. I stood for ages watching them hover round plants. We also saw frigate birds, lesser Antillean bullfinches, bananaquits, brown pelicans, grey kingbirds, white-crowned pigeons, zenaida doves, broad-winged hawks etc.

Staff: Gave us a proper, warm, Caribbean welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. In fact, I was hugged by the manager (Jennifer) when we were waiting for our taxi to go to the airport. I can't over-state how lovely it was to see the staff so happy. It set the tone for everyone else. The staff is a huge, huge asset to this place.

We had a minor issue with the air-con in our room that was fixed efficiently, and our towels were occasionally a bit late being changed, but this was near-irrelevant against all the positives. We booked through Trail Finders and our transfers (through Bo Tours) were timely and comfortable. We met with a charming rep (Jelani) who made us feel very welcome.

Room tip: We had cottage 18 which we loved - we paid a little more to be up high for the view and it was worth it.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo64adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate all of your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little bit of paradise in the near future.

Regards
Cocos Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great time here for a 10 day break. The hotel is a very personal boutique hotel which styles itself differently to a chain - thus it has a more laid back feel.

Not enough can be said about the staff and how great they are, you can see that they are all happy in their roles and so that reflects in the attitudes with customers. From the receptionist to security everyone wears a smile and are all very approachable

The rooms have a rustic feel but don't have enough power outlets in convenient places. But the rooms contain an aircon unit, which if you keep it running through the day keeps the room refreshed. There is also a plethora of candles and bug spays left in the room for you to combat nature.

The food is excellent, with a wide range of items on the menu for breakfast, a smaller menu for lunch and then usually three options and a special for the evening starter and then separately the main meal. All are very high quality with great presentation.

The hotel runs a twice weekly bus to St Johns for a very modest price. You are free to move around in the capital for a few hours but there is very little there other than what is geared towards the passing cruise ship passenger.

In addition a weekly beach party is held with a fire on the sand.

Should you be missing the outside world the wifi signal is good on the beach.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank s61blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocosSalesManager, Director of Sales at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for your review about our small boutique hotel. Our staff take great pride on making the guests feel welcome and relaxed. We look forward to seeing you back at Cocos Antigua soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews