We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Muang Samui Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baywater Resort Samui(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deva Samui Resort & Spa(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)
US$45
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panya Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White House Beach Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
72@Samui Hotel(Choeng Mon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
571
207
63
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
207
63
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice zoneprivate poolfamily pool villacave spasister hoteljacuzzi bathfamily vacationwhite sandgarden viewfree shuttle servicebeautiful beachvery nice hotelchaweng beachfloating marketrooms are hugestar resortchecking out
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Second week of Honeymoon stayed here. The property itself is amazing.Beautiful and massive rooms, amazing pools and impeccable service. The location is average, you will find yourself always heading back to Chaweng... so you might as well stay at Chaweng.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ and get the room with the private pool. It was so worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We moved to Muang Samui Villas and Suites after we were dissatisfied with our original hotel in Lamai. Muang Samui was about 2x the price but SO much better and definitely worth it!

Pros:
- Spacious, clean, nicely decorated rooms
- Comfortable beds
- Large bathroom
- Great private balcony, kind of nestled in greenery even though neighbors are pretty close
- Beach - We explored Chaweng and Lamai and thought the beach at our hotel was much better than either of those.
- Nice pool and pool chairs
- Shuttle service to Chaweng
- A couple of good, local restaurants within a couple of blocks
- Location - While Chaweng is the "center" of the tourist activity with a lot of restaurants, bars and shops, it is pretty noisy (kind of like a spring break atmosphere) so it was nice to be able to go visit and walk around but then head back to our hotel area.

Cons
- The whirlpool tub in our room was broken. They came the 1st day to fix it but it still didn't work.
- The info in the room said they had a DVD collection at the front desk but when we asked about it (multiple different days), they said they were all out. On a later day it then seemed like they didn't actually have any. It was kind of hard to tell.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but my guess is they're adequate but a little overpriced. A taxi to/from Chaweng was 500-600 baht and, despite what I read in travel books, the drivers wouldn't really negotiate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at muang villas, couldn't really fault anything but nothing really blew us away either... Our grand deluxe room was huge and very nicely fitted out, the pool area is lovely as is the beach. Breakfast is nice and the staff in the restaurant are welcoming and friendly. The drinks from the pool bar are quite pricey for Thailand but there are a few nice little beach front restaurants / bars close by that are more towards the average thai prices... Out front there are a couple of supermarkets over the road, we found it better to stock up on waters and drinks for the room from there as plenty of room in your fridge! Also there are lots of little bars and restaurants nearby to give you some variety, we really liked the honeybee which is authentic thai food for not a lot of money.. The Orange peel bar is good for a drink and shows whatever premier league footy you want on!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed for a week at the end of a ski holiday (early 2014), so we were looking for pure relaxation.

From the moment we walked in the lobby everything was taken care of with speed and with a smile. The staff always went out of their way to do what they could to help.

The facilities were great, the room was spectacular (we stayed on the top level with our own pool), the buffet breakfast was outstanding (fresh fruit, pancakes, pastries, eggs cooked to order, juices -- pretty much anything you'd want at that time of day) and the location was excellent.

We spent most of our time down on the beach or by the pool, drinking cocktails and taking in the sun. There are a few resorts that share the beach so there are a fair few people wandering around but that was never a problem. There seemed to be some regular vendors walking the beach selling food, drinks or clothing. They certainly weren't pushy, but they always encouraged you to take look at what they had :)

The only issues we had with the hotel was the food at night and the language barrier. Let me clarify by saying that we certainly don't expect to hear perfect english while travelling in another country, but when you're dealing with/catering for english speaking tourists, I think it's a fair expectation that a good chunk of your service staff should be able to understand/speak a very basic level of english. The bulk of the time this was fine, but we did have a few issues here and there where our staff member had absolutely no idea what we were asking/requesting.

The food issue was related to our dining experiences on the one and only night we ate there. Throughout the day, the lunches and snacks we ordered were perfect, but things changed at night. The tables were setup on the beach (which they seem to do once a week) which was nice, but the rest of the experience was terrible. The initial service was fine, but the food was tasteless and over-priced and my partner was giving an incorrect meal which we attempted to have replaced only to have it taken away and returned 5 minutes later exactly the same, just colder. When it was obvious nothing else was going to be done, she ate what she could and left the rest. Once we all finished I spoke with the manager to find out what happened and resolve the issue and after much talk and back room discussions with the staff we determined that the waitress wrote down the wrong order. Eventually this item was taken from our bill, but the whole experience was less than ideal. Don't worry though, there are heaps of great places to eat close by, the first being Charlies across the road :)

Don't get me wrong, the overall experience was outstanding, I just want to bring up the 2 minor issues we had in the hope that they are eventually fixed because if there were this hotel would be perfect. We will most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our first hotel was at Muang Samui Villas and Suites right next to Choeng Mon Beach and a 15 minutes drive from the airport. Like most tropical resorts, you can choose to travel around the villa in a golf cart or by walking. The villa is also located right next to the beach which is a 10 minute walk from your hotel rooms. The villa also has its own swimming pool and restaurant, so you can pretty much spend your whole vacation there. In addition, there will also be a night market once a week outside the streets of the hotel with tons of exotic merchandise, jewellery, food, and souvenirs.

Since I went with my family, we booked the family suite located at the top of each villa with a private swimming pool, two bedrooms, one bathtub/hot tub, and an outdoor mini kitchen. Our villa was a 5 minute walk from the restaurant, public pool, and beach so we didn't need to call the golf carts at all.

Dining at Muang Samui Villas and Suites

The only restaurant at Muang Samui was Spice Zone Beach Restaurant which had an impressive menu of Chinese, Thai and Western cuisines. Since our stay was short at Muang Samui, we basically stayed there to eat since we weren't so confident about street seafood. At Spice Zone, we also enjoyed dining on the beach at night and I got to do something on my bucket list: let go of a floating lantern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonmhfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews