We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not the worst of places but think twice before staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kirati Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Choeng Mon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We waited a bit too long with making booking and we were left with limited choice so Kirati seemed a good option. It is ok but think twice before booking it.
1. If you are not a family with very small children do not go there- Kirati is in Choeng Mon and generally dead - nothing to do there. Consider if it is worth going to Chaweng or Lamai each time you want to do something or see nightlife in the evening.
2. If the tide is high the beach is disappearing and what's left is taken by restaurants or other tourists or is in shadow because of the trees. We were there in December and the tide were high almost every day and was only widening after dark..
3. There is no swimming pool or a ground when you can rest if the beach is too crowded/windy/ in shadow because of the trees - the only little space is usually taken by the staff who dries towels there.
4. If you don't ask you will never know that the hotel has beach towels(although they have seen better days)
5. Rooms are nice and spacious although cleanliness is inconsistent- we have accidentally spilled tea on the bed and in the evening the quilt's cover was just turned on the other side..
6. We ended up buying our own soap as when the one provided run out it was not replaced until the day before we were leaving. Coffee and tea were replaced daily
7. Cleaning the room takes ages- usually the room was not cleaned till 3-4pm
8. The air condition is placed on the wall next to the bed so if you turn it on it blows the cold air on you and it is very loud
9. The safe box is very small- nothing bigger than the tablet won't fit plus it is not fixed so if there is a robbery thieve could just take it.
10. Internet is VERY bad.
11. Do not use their restaurant- it is overpriced, portions are small and not tasty. We had once breakfast there- each set costs 220BHT.Even though in the menu it was saying that it would be accompanied by glass of juice and 2 cups of coffee/tea we had to specifically ask for it. First we were given the coffee with nicely warmed milk, for the other cup(after asking) we were firstly not given milk and the they brought cold one. Juice was from the box- the worst I've ever drunk( in Thailand the juice in boxes are usually not good at all- taste is very artificial). Strange as the fruits are very cheap and available everywhere. portions was small(I had porridge with fruits)The second time we went for lunch - as we were tired of Thai food we ordered spaghetti and each of us had a drink. Spaghetti was served cold and the sauce(tomato) was disgusting- not sure what it was it is the dish that is usually quite hard to go wrong. Portions were tiny. For the drink juices from the box were used- the worst one I had in Samui. For food use different restaurants in town or go to the Captain's cabin- also placed on the beach but food is tasty and much cheaper.
12. No fitness center- it is not something I can't live without but the only one cross trainer was standing in the reception..
13. There is nobody at the reception after 10pm - not even security...we felt generally safe there but if you have question or need assistance- it would have to wait till next day.
14. Doors to our room(we stayed in main building) were very difficult to close as the dumpiness caused them not too fit to well to the frame.

Generally it is not a bad place- rooms are quite nice but annoyingly there are plenty of little things that are missed(some I've mentioned above) that are spoiling the pleasure of staying there. Staff is nice and generally helpful and you can get a nice massage just at the beach but think twice. We are young couple and we weren't expecting luxury but just consider everything. We will be booking a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hi there,
Thanks for your review! I am disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback. We'll be looking into all the points that you've mentioned and trying to find solutions for them. Please note all of our rooms are serviced on a daily basis, if there are any additional cleaning requirements please just let our friendly staff at reception know and we'll be there in a flash.Happy travels! Kind regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Kirati Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Clean and luxurious room in the hotel, was the biggest room in our stay in the islands. The beach is also the most beautiful with warm shallow waters. Had no bad experiences here. Only peaceful bliss at a very good price. About 50 steps on to the private beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hello,
Thank you for leaving us a lovely feedback. We love to hear that you had a great time and everything was as expected for your stay! We hope to see you again real soon.
Kind regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We did not stay here but ate at the restaurant, the food was unremarkable, overpriced and portion size was small and did not match the description, management more interested in chatting amongst themselves than dealing with customers, much better options on the beach available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Havey_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hi,
Thanks for your review! we really appreciate it. Sorry about the inconvenience!Now we have renovated the restaurant and updated the menu. Sorry to hear staff wasn't very helpful to you! I will make sure to discuss this with the team. Please note now we have some live music at the restaurant in every evening. Can't wait to see you back really soon.
Kind regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

To be noted, we came during the "low season".
1- We were received by a herd of sick mongrel dogs who pooped everywhere in the hallway, and barked at night.
2- Extremely poor service and almost no attention given to the guests in the beach or at the bar.
3- We were woken up on the first morning by the garbage being burnt in the "garden". Our swimsuits were drying in the balcony and still have a smell of grilled trash.
4- The beach is nice in a general way but quite polluted, very shallow and swampy at touch when you walk on the shore (lots of dead jelly fishes, rocks, busted shells underneath the sand). It is quite a deception because you can't really enjoy swimming in it.
5- Rooms are ok but the hotel in general is in an austere condition. Isn't worth the shot, there are much better places on the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manufarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Hi there,
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us the review. I'm really sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay and we couldn't meet your expectations! Please next time come to the reception for any problems we are happy and available to help. We're always listening to guest feedback and working hard to improve.
Happy future travels,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed in Choeng Mon several times and wanted to stay there at the start and end of our visit to Koh Samui and surrounding islands.We tried all the hotels on the beach and either they would not let a family of 4 stay in one room or the price was hugely inflated. We found the Kirati via the internet and they confirmed they had family rooms. The rooms were huge and had one double and two single beds, the rooms were very clean and just set back from the beach. The top floor rooms have a view of the bay. We had breakfast included. All food was excellent. You can have your meals with a seaview or actually on the beach, bliss! We lost my son's cuddly toy of which they have found and are sending back to us.
The Kirati was difficult find via the web and to book directly. I suggest they update their website because they are a little gem waiting to be discovered.

Room Tip: Family Room are huge and excelleny value.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hi,
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Please be aware that if there is absolutely anything you need we are glad and available to help and to make your stay memorable! Thanks for recommendation to the website, it's really helpful. Hope to see you again in Samui :)
Kinds regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Kirati does have a feel of being in a small Thai village. There is a pond and Thai bric a brac scattered around. The bar and restaurant are very rustic.

We went for a deluxe wooden hut, which was again very old Thai, teak floors and furniture with a massive bathroom. Our bungalow was the closest to the beach which we liked as you could seat on the veranda with a sundowner and watch the world go by. The bungalow was also closest to the bar and kitchen, but we did not hear a thing.

The only draw back for us was the noisy A/C. Ear plugs for the light sleeper.

Choeng Mon must be the only place that has improved with the massive development of Ko Samui. We last stayed there 7 years ago and there were a few eateries on the beach, but now the main road (5 min walk) has loads of restaurants and a few bars, prices to have improved being away from the beach.

We eat at the Krua Thai (Main road) twice and it would of been 3 but it was packed. Brilliant service and fantastic food and great prices. We eat a few doors down on night 3 and it was not in the same league.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beachfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hi!
Thanks a lot for your review! Great to hear you liked the atmosphere, the room and everything was as expected for your stay :-)Sorry about the noisy A/C, we have checked it. Please note we have some more live music now at the restaurant in every evening. Hope to see you again really soon :)
Kind regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed 11 nights at Kirati Resort and found it to be super quiet and relaxing. We stayed in a cute bungalow that was quite large, with air-con and a huge bathroom with rain shower. After trying many of the beach front restaurants, we came to the conclusion that Kirati's food was by far the best and has such a great view with the sea metres from the tables. Staff were nice, yet not intrusive - we like to be left to our own measures on holiday. A few improvements could be made, such as the pebbles in the rain shower. They were a bit awkward to stand on, so perhaps a wooden board could be placed in the middle to stand on, with the pebbles around the outside. Also, the curtains did not cover the windows entirely, so I ended up having to clip them together so people could not see inside the room. Kirati's beach was the best (and quietest) that we saw on all our drives around Samui, so if you are after a relaxing holiday then this beach is perfect. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraMcTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirati_kp, Manager at Kirati Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Hi there,
Thanks so much for the review! So happy you had an amazing time with here and everything was as expected for your stay! Thanks for the recommendation in the rain shower room. We will be consider to this. Please note that we have now replaced the curtain. We can't wait to see you next time in our beautiful city!
Kind regards,
Kirati Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Choeng Mon hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#4 of 10 in Choeng Mon
280 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirati Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirati Beach Resort

Address: 24/85 Moo 5, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Choeng Mon
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirati Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirati Beach Resort is a small hotel situated in the corner of Choeng Mon Beach, the place that you can find the natural sea and surrounded by the peaceful touch of nature's garden. You can enjoy a beautiful seaside restaurant, serving very fresh seafood and fusion food. You could have a relaxing moment with our open-air Thai massage - an unforgettably special way to relax. Whenever you are looking for a peaceful escape, come and stay with a warm welcome from us at Kirati. We understand just how important holidays are. "We had tropical plants, we had tropical temperature, we had seasons in the sun, we had sand, we had sea, we like to keep things simple, warm service and we will take care of you as a family member." Kirati Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kirati Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirati Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing