We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent perfect hotel we stayed here for silver wedding anniversary and had fantastic time thr breakfast had a good choice for everyone staff polite and extremely friendly they couldn't help you enough wood recommend clean good food

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anjie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    486
    127
    47
    24
See reviews for
295
771
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The landscaping of the gardens is lovely. The boat suites are carefully placed and there are ponds and statues in the grounds. Having come from a hotel with individual villa's, I was worried about the noise, but didn't hear anything at all from the rooms either side or above.

The boat pool is large and warm but we spent most of our time in the other pool as it was nearer to our room. The beach is very shallow so it takes quite a while to get out to swimming depth but this means that it is very warm.

We arrived before the designated check in time but were immediately offered our room. Our credit card wasn't swiped for 3,500 baht as it was at the previous check in. The room had twin beds and we had requested a double so they pushed them together the next day and made us one enormous bed. The breakfast has a good selection to suit everyone. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel as there is a road full of excellent restaurants right out the front of the hotel.

Orchid is an excellent restaurant with lovely food and service and cocktails for 79 baht (under 2 pounds.) The Krua Thai is another good one and serves very large portions. The only two meals I couldn't finish came from there. Typically a main meal in one of the restaurants on the road will cost you around 130 baht (under 3 pounds.) Cocktails are generally 125 baht in the other restaurants apart from the Orchid. But the Orange Peel bar does them for 79 baht until 11pm. Charlie Chaplins has a very nice ambience and lovely food, but the portions are on the small side.

There is a 7 Eleven about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. Lots of stray dogs but the restaurants and hotels let them wander in and out which is nice and they don't bother anyone.

Try the Football Golf which is out of the hotel and turn left and walk for about 20 minutes. It is an amazing course and has 18 holes that are all landscaped. Each hole is named after a professional footballer and some are very tricky. An excellent two hours. About 750 baht from memory but I have never heard of another one in the world so it's a once in a lifetime.

Excellent location. Choeng Mon is so small and friendly. I got to browse in a shop and try on 6 dresses at leisure with no hassle.

The fishermans market on a friday night is well worth a visit. The hotel will take you there for 100 baht (2 pounds.) Lots of bargains and cocktails for 60 baht!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Hobbit_On_Tour537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After three frantic days in Bangkok, the relaxed environment at the imperial boathouse was exactly what we needed. The beach was beautiful, the sea and both swimming pools all as warm as a bath. The beautiful sandy beach shelves very gently into the sea making it very safe for children and non swimmers. There are plenty of places to eat just outside the hotel, offering local food at very cheap prices, or you can eat in the hotel but it is significantly dearer. All the hotel staff were approachable and friendly without being over familiar. We upgraded our room and found it to be comfortable and clean, we were on the ground floor and did not find ourselves bothered by Mosquitos as we feared we might be. We had a brilliant time.

Room Tip: There are no lifts at the hotel, we had ground floor and we're not bothered by Mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

IBH was our second choice last year, we loved our first choice(sala) but decided to give IBH a go this year,and we were not dissapointed. We arrived 3 hours before check in but were shown to our room within 10min, gotta love that! Stayed in a 1st floor pool view room, which is to the back of the resort and we found it very peaceful, with the pool right outside our balcony. Some have mentioned that the rooms are a bit dated but we found them perfectly adequate, good size and housekeeping was excellent, beds were comfy, seating area inside and on the balcony, plenty of hot water, and adjustable aircon. Pool areas and the beautiful gardens kept spotless. Breakfast had the usual choices, lovely fresh fruit,cereals etc and the good old egg station. We had a few in house meals and they were delicious. Because we stayed at the back of the resort it was a short walk to the beach but you get to walk through the lovely gardens. Plenty of sun loungers, we didn't find the towel card system a hassle, although if you lose the card there is a 500 bht replacement cost so it was kept in the safe when not in use. All of the cleaning and garden staff were lovely, Reception staff always helpful. Shops in front of the hotel, so you don't have to walk too far in the heat of the day, money exchange across road from hotel also chemist and small supermarket. Wednesday night is night market so head there for really cheap and delicious food most dishes were 50bht.The shuttle bus is free in the mornings but having been to chewang before had no incentive to go there again. Shopping is a little more expensive in choengmon, We shopped in Bangkok (chatachuk is super cheap but be prepared for the heat!) We loved our stay and will be back next year.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ground floor room( so close to pool) but maybe because of mossies that love me, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is on one of the nicest beaches which is a real bonus. Lots of beautiful beach bars/restaurants with shops close by. Food good quality and very polite staff. Swimming pools are great especially the one near the reception is my favourite as it's so private and tranquil. Perfect place for couples or families as no noisy bars/clubs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TONEMALONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Choeng Mon is a lovely place to stay and the beach is great and the hotel was excellent. It is a short taxi bus ride to Chaweng if you like the noisy night life. The hotel and staff were top rated, the food was superb. There were two pools and chairs on the beach. There were lots a families staying at the hotel and they seemed well pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here in Jan '14 as part of a trip round Thailand with my husband. This Resort has great potential as Cheong Mon Beach is lovely; fine white sand and a gentle drop off into the water; a range of places to eat and drink; and lass commercialision than Chaweng meaning you will not be bombarded by the "you want massage?" tagline so often heard. What lets the Imperial Boat House down is the decor. It was very clean, staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, rooms were big and breakfast was tasty and plentiful, but the place just felt like it was just a bit old and tired. It felt like we were at Kellerman's 25 years after Baby Houseman and Jonny Castle had been there. They are trying to relive the old days when this place was the jewel in the crown, but somewhere along the road, the magic was lost. Like I said, HUGE potential. Time to get the designers in and modernise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornamcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Property: Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing