We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy but pleasant. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Busy but pleasant. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a 5 night stay and left happier than when we arrived. Staff are polite an helpful but when we went for a walk to look around it was very noisy by the pool and beach and no beds left at all this was about midday! So you need to get there early if you want a bed. However there is another pool, the monkey pool. It is much nicer and quieter so go for this if you want some peace. Less kids!!

Rooms are dated very dated and not good enough for nearly £80 a night. Bathroom is acceptable for a 2 star but not any more than that with a noisy air con unit too! They forgot to put new towels in twice and on the second time when I rang reception they said I had to wait until 6pm...it was 3pm when I rang and I wanted a shower and was going out. This wasn't good enough.

The captains restaurant is expensive for Thailand. We ate lunch on the first day and then not again at all because it was so mediocre. If you want lunch there is a lovely Thai lady with a BBQ on the beach (it's better than it sounds!) for 50baht you can get a massive cooked corn on cob, whole pineapple cut up, other fruit, chicken, spring rolls. The queues she had because she was so cheap and popular. Great food.

Outside the hotel there are places to eat, try and stay on a Wednesday night because the market opposite is brilliant. Food for £1/£2 brilliant and tasty. Great gift stalls too. Lovely atmosphere

The hotel does a shuttle service in Chaweng which is busy. Any buses in the evening is 100 baht each. Shame they don't do a 6 or 7pm for free and then charge for the later ones. Chaweng is great in evenings. We didn't spend much time at hotel in the evenings.

So, an ok location and a busy hotel but rooms need redoing desperately.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    473
    126
    47
    24
See reviews for
288
749
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Imperial Boat House Hotel Koh Samui. Hotel is right on the beach and dry beach towels are available throughout the day. Plenty of choice at breakfast and lots of restaurants on the main street. Lots of cheap. massage businesses on the beach and the girls are all very friendly .Really like Koh Samui that we are returning again next year.

Room Tip: We were in room 265 which paced onto the swimming pool but would like to have seen inside one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the end of May earlier this year for a week with our 2 children aged 2 and 4. We booked a boat suite to give us plenty of room and to give us a separate living area. Entry to your suite is through a patio door from your deck. Straight away you are in the living area which has 2 sofas, tv, DVD player, fridge and small dining table. It is a pretty sizeable room. At the back is the staircase leading to downstairs. This was an area of slight concern as there wasn't much to stop someone particularly young children falling down the stairs. It pretty much was a hole in the floor. Down the stairs you enter the dressing area with plenty of storage area. Lots of hanging space, little cupboards and shelves. Also a foam sofa bed where the kids slept. Off this was the bathroom at one side and bedroom on the other. For us the layout was fine as both kids aren't really light sleepers but it may be an issue for others.
There were 2 pool. One a more 'ornamental' pool and another larger boat shaped pool. There was a kids shallower pool next to the ornamental one but I think this would have been better suited next to the larger pool as this was next to the beach and cafe and probably where you would spend more time. There is a 'kids club' but this was pretty much non existent. There was a room next to the beach bar with a few pieces of old soft play equipment and a TV but I never saw this staffed and the room was like a sauna. Too hot for any play.
The beach bar/ cafe had a great selection of food from pizza, chips and salads to pad Thai, curries and pastas. Plenty for kids and adults and happy hours where the staff went round to let people know it was on.
We didn't venture too far from the hotel apart from at tea time. Right outside the hotel are plenty of places to eat and drink and takeout food. Also a couple of 24 hour supermarkets. On the beach itself are a few restaurants too. We preferred these as it was much more pleasant to be eating on the beach in a cool breeze than the heat of the restaurants in the roadside outside the hotel.
The beach itself was beautiful. The water warm and clean and very shallow. Fantastic for kids.
I'd say the hotel was less than half full when we were there. It's very quiet but friendly and perfect for a relaxing week.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We spent ten nights at this wonderful hotel in Samui, the natural context in which the resort is located is something of phenomenal, it seems to be in the middle of the tropical jungle. Staff attentive and always smiling, good food and spacious rooms always clean. an experience that I can recommend it to everyone

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mcwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked this hotel because of the good feedback and we were not disappointed. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms were more than comfortable although please do expect to hear a small amount of noise from other rooms because of the wooden flooring! Don't let that put you off though- the facilities are good, you have a choice of two pools, a nice beach side bar and a lovely stretch of beach!
Yes you have the odd stray dog walking around but you will get that at most hotels and most of the streets- it's just the way of life and if you ignore them, they will do the same back!
The area around the hotel is quiet with a few nice little restaurants that you can get a decent meal at if you wish and there are a couple of reasonably priced shops to get certain essentials from.
If you want quiet but also do not want to be too far away from the hustle and bustle of Chaweng then I would recommend this hotel- we would definately go back!

Room Tip: If you don' t mind a small amount of noise from other rooms the standard rooms are good- if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camberley surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated and very clean but does need a bit of updating.The staff are great and the pool bar has views to die for. The breakfast was quite adequate. There were however a few stray dogs around but I think that applies to most places in Thailand.

Room Tip: The boat houses are nearer to the beach but probably not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
158 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Boatswain! You're needed at reception.
Upon arrival we were given a towel and juice and sat down to complete formalities. This took a while as a huge group on a cruise came in for lunch a few seconds after us to a huge fanfare, including a song, dance and traditional Thia chanting that must have been from the time General Gordon tamed the natives. The cruise lunch guests got full priority. In fact staff here are more like production line workers, going through the motions, which kind of isn't surprising given this is a really big place.
The room we had was fine but a bit tired. The bathroom hadn't been updated in years, although it was still in a reasonable condition. The balcony was large but the room we were given had a connecting door to the next room, which meant we heard everything going on in that room including an all nighter when the occupant brought in 2 young Thai girls for the night.
The main swimming pool is excellent. Large and very well kept. The bar by the pool is good and the food at the beach restaurant is fine.
We were a bit disappointed with the beach, having previously visited some places with fabulous beaches. There is quite a lot of muddy sand and boats and pieces of rope tied to metal things in the sea. It was busy though, and plenty of people were swimming.
We probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again, but we were glad for the great pool.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
2.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
7.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Property: Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing