We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Deva Samui Resort & Spa(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Muang Samui Villas(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panya Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
White House Beach Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
72@Samui Hotel(Choeng Mon)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,297)
Filter reviews
2,297 results
Traveller rating
1,830
353
85
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,830
353
85
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomgarden pool villaour honeymoondeluxe balcony roomblack poolday beda la carte menuturn down servicejuice barchef nickpillow menusparkling winecouples massagecooking classmain restaurantmosquito coilsthai night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
907 - 912 of 2,297 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent 7 days and 6 nights at Sala Samui and couldn't have been happier. From the front desk staff down to the facilities maintenance folks, everyone was helpful, friendly, smiling and warm. We were greeted at the airport by a fantastic driver who made us feel welcome immediately. That hospitality continued throughout the trip. The grounds and rooms were very clean and well maintained. This was especially true for the beach. After walking down the beach past the neighboring resorts, it was obvious they took great care to keep the beach clean and tidy. We found the food to be very good and well-priced. We planned to eat off-resort at some point figuring we'd tire of the food. But that never happened. Our only complaint was the volume of the music during the "Thai Night" which had local musicians playing traditional Thai music. A very small bump in a very enjoyable road.

We contemplated staying at a more expensive resort, but couldn't stomach the 2 to 3 times increase in rates. We are very happy we didn't choose another more expensive location. I don't know how our trip could have been more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleSeattleUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear signature "SeattleSeattleUSA",

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui, and we are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Sala Samui for our honeymoon in December 2013. The villas were amazing to say the least. Our very own private pool, outdoor bathroom, extremely comfortable bedroom and remarkable attention to detail made the stay special. But then again, these are the things you expect when you check into a relatively expensive resort. However, the hotel policy that TRULY DELIGHTED us was their 'all day in-villa breakfast policy'. We were basically on a very lazy vacation and essentially slept in, mostly waking up after the 'buffet breakfast' timings were over, so when we found out that the resort offers all day COMPLEMENTARY breakfast in bed we were JUST amazed beyond belief. I have travelled all over the world and stayed at 100s of hotels; but have never come across such an amazing policy. For us this is what vacations are all about; doing things on our own terms as opposed to following strict schedules and time tables. Sala Samui made that possible for us and for that very reason we will surely recommend this place to everyone! p.s. The service in this resort was surprising fast as well!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shehryar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear signature "Shehryar A",

Thank you very much for your PERFECT review ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the breakfast arrangements. We serve breakfast in the restaurant until 11 AM, with full buffet, incl show cooking but there is also an extensive a la carte menu to choose from, and a breakfast bar with plenty of choices to make a fresh start of the day. ...and should you oversleep, - after 11 you can still order the breakfast served in your room at any time ! On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back in a near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and taken care of. The staff here is what makes this place special, the attention to detail, the service and warm smiles we will miss. We chose to stay in a pool villa, which we loved, and only steps away from the restaurant, pool and beach. The open bathroom is a delight, the day bed and sun loungers, and the private pool a treat. The bed very comfortable a roomy.
We ate at the restaurant for every meal, and were very happy with their vegetarian/vegan options. Breakfast is easy and relaxed. A great juice bar with fresh juices made to order. We particularly loved the espresso coffee. For lunch we often ordered a salad, spring rolls, chips and laid on the daybeds by the pool with a cocktail. Lovely. Dinner is also very relaxed, everything glows and is furnished in white which looks beautiful at night. Every evening we would find a hand written message and a little gift from the chef, made us feel very welcome and was thoughtful.
All in all we would return to Sala, loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere quieter away from the busy Chaweng beach with great service and a pool villa.
The position of the resort is good, you can walk into the small town if that interests you. The beach was a bit rough, but still lovely all the same. Always enjoyable to walk along any time of day. We had several massages on the beach. Great for couples or family's.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear lovely. We had a pool villa which we would choose again and recommend if you are looking for some privacy away from the resort pool and beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunloverKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear signature "SunloverKaz",

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the services and the ambiance of the resort, and on behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back in a near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved this resort went xmas 2013 and new year, would recommend you have breakfast inc because it's lovely ,the staff are fantastic and it's all the little touches.

We had bottle bubbly on arrival, and nibbles, we had a xmas present each villa, free spa, and free meal in the hotel.

Would recommend pay a little extra have pool villa , we had garden lovely was in it every night , immaculate cleaned every day , the maids were fantastic to , everything you asked for they got .

Each villa cleaned top to bottom everyday , inside and out , staff fantastic, other bonus is your just minutes walk from choeg mon resort , lots of bars resteraunts cafés little shops ,and buses into cheweng and lamai but remember barter with the drivers don't pay first price.

We would loved to have gone back this xmas but it meant move ing villas , as we left it to late

Highly recommended , as I've said not cheapest but you only get what you pay for fantastic resort, but also opt on booking not to go to xmas and new year evening dos we saw it last year by 11.30 pm it had finished not even at midnight and very expensive just a tip .

Room Tip: Don't book xmas and New Year's Eve dos expensive not worth it. Book garden pool villa fab , not splash pool proper pool , fab villas , Have b/b breakfasts lovely ,
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venetia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear signature "Venetia A",

Thank you very much for your lovely review of SALA Samui, and we hope to see you back in a near future ! Thank you very much for your feedback on 2013:s festive events ( we had similar feedback /impressions), and we did make significant improvements and reduced the price slightly for 2014, and I dare to say that it was a spectacular New Years Eve, and we would be delighted to celebrate New Year 2015 in your company,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Upon arriving to Samui and finding my luggage did not make the trip with me; I thought my vacation was doomed from the start. I was touched by the helpfulness and extra gesture May and the GM Mr Simarro; who personally welcomed me and put me at ease by lending me a sarong and making sure that my villa was ready so I could rest (and wait) until my luggage arrived 10 hrs after. The intro to the villa's amenities ( choice of soaps, pillows, etc) were a nice touch; and the pool was completely spotless - not a weed / leaf / insect were found on the surface!
The hotel grounds were well maintained, the two pools (one for laps, other for relaxation) was a great touch. The beach was a hop away, and the beach attendants were ready to hand out cool glasses of water to keep us hydrated under the sun. The gym was near the roadside but had a good variety of equipment and weights. The Spa menu had a wonderful choice of treatments and their staff were very professional.
Breakfast featured a great assortment of fresh fruits (mangoes) and western/Asian style dishes, but the main draw was the a la carte menu and the mixed juice / health drinks that you can order at the bar. In the evening the same restaurant featured a wonderful mix of thai/fusion dishes that were extremely flavorful. I recommend the tuna appetizer and the devilish chocolate dessert.
The only awkward moments was that housekeeping times were erratic, maybe it was my own fault for not arranging at the front desk - at times the room was made up when I was away at breakfast, at times it was not done until after noon. The bathrooms were "outdoor" but not awkward to get to; but the toilet may be a bit temperamental- so call housekeeping if you think the water is not flushing fast enough (and to avoid floods, which thankfully did not happen)

Room Tip: Pool villa
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHYL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear signature " CHYL2013",

Thank you very much for your thorough and positive review of SALA Samui ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you had mentioned what time you preferred to have your room done to front office, that would have been arranged. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back on a future occasion !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro

General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews