We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exclusive Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Exclusive Touch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I spent an absolutely fabulous 4 days at the SALA resort. Our pool suite was very private, spotlessly clean with a really fun private 1.5 metre deep pool. (Caution for those with small children who can't swim)The beach is in a bay with quiet seas and not too crowded. Staff were very helpful and always trying to please. If you are like us and want the real taste of Thai food you need to ask as dishes tend to be somewhat westernized. With many steps the facility is not handicap friendly. Loved it, we are staying longer next time.

Room Tip: The pool suites are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear signature "Nuken",

Thank you for your positive review, and we are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay, and that you are planning to come back. We have taken good note of your comments on the Thai food, and we are looking forwards to welcome you back to SALA Samui !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    330
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
1,455
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Sala Samui Resort for 4 days. We usually stay in Four Season, Six Senses or Banyan Tree. This is my 1st time visit to Samui and overall comment is good.
When we checked in found the resort is pretty small, we stayed in Sala Pool Villa and it has all we need but room is smaller than I expected.
Room is nice and we have our own quiet time mostly. One day for half morning, we found pretty annoying, a worker washed the floor with jet spray for non stop 2 hours outside our room and it was very noisy.
Our room door lock was broken, and it was repaired in 2 hours and surprisingly hotel GM gave us a bottle of champagne, very sweet though!
Breakfast is good, we tried the BBQ seafood buffet is just OK no lobster and dessert all look like homemade trials still taste good . Restaurant staff is sincere but some are not quite well trained as noticed some hardly able to hold 3 plates on their hands.
Has shuttle every hour goes to market and also has lot of restaurant choices within 10 mins walk.
Spa is comfortable. Also has some local massage on the beach which is 1/4 of price but we didn't try.

It's worth to re-visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iwmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear signature "lwmw",

Thank you very much for your positive review of SALA Samui. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would consider a second visit,

Kind regards & welcome back,

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Sala Samui.

Our first impression in Sala Samui was not nice and not what we were expecting from a 5* hotel.
The entrance is very poor, with lack of gloss, with cars and motorbikes parking
literally next to the reception and located next to a main road. Also
the main road that goes down to the beach it is also a pedestrian
pathway for locals. So there is not feeling of privacy.

The rest of the installations are nice but there is some gloss missing
on it. The gym is out side the hotel, facing a main road and not at
all what you expect for a 5* hotel.

We stayed in a private villa with swimming-pool. The rooms are very
pretty. Exactly as they seem to be in the hotel website.
The staff is the best point about the hotel, really friendly and
helpful. We had a problem with the hot water and the fixed it in a
couple of hours and send a bottle of champagne to our room for the
inconvenience.

Over all, if it is your first time in Koh Samui that hotel may cause a
good impression, but if you compare it with other 5* hotels as
Anantara where we previously stayed, Sala Samui unfortunately can be a
bit of disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canalbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear signature "canalbox",

Thank you very much for submitting a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that you did no like the entrance to the resort, and you are correct that it can be full on the small parking at times.

The reception could however not be anything but what it is. It is a SALA. The architectural structure of a SALA is a part of the Thai heritage, and as innate to the Thai culture as the hospitality, smiles and friendliness of its people.

A SALA is a freestanding building with 4 posts, and open sides without any walls, and they are present in all levels of Thai society. In it’s most humble form, it’s the rice farmers hut where he seeks shade and shelter during the hottest or rainiest parts of the day. It is present in noble houses and palaces for welcoming guests and for social entertainment, and you also find it in Buddhist temples where they are commonly used for meditation and prayer.

There are probably many more uses for a SALA, but the most common uses are as protection from rain & sun for travellers and farmers alike, an area for welcoming guests & entertaining, and a place to seek piece of mind.

As a personal comment, I find the entrance SALA at SALA Samui very beautiful, with natural sandstone, noble wood, resting upon pillars within a lotus pond, -but no, there is no gloss.

But whereas design is a question of personal taste, the most important is the attention from our staff that you will receive in the SALA, -and we are genuinely pleased to read that although the architecture was not of your liking, you did experience the warmth and hospitality of our staff.

Kind regards, and most welcome back,

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect beach, great villas with individual pools, the food and staff was super, weather fantastic, quiet, which suited us well. A great choice for a relaxing and rejuvenating break. Good quality hotel. Of particular note were breakfasts. Staff service good as well. Relatively pricey but absolutely worth it. Not hyper- 5 star but a really relaxing and informal place. Outside the hotel there is not much at all so best if you enjoy the hotel. A good vegetarian menu choice. Full marks from me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SNRinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear signature "SNRinLondon",

Thank you very much for your great review ! I believe you give a very accurate description as a "relaxing and informal 5 star resort", -that is what we would like to be perceived as, -a place to relax where the focus is more on friendliness and personalized attention than on formalities.

We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent 3 nights here. I had requested for an early check-in and was granted the same. We were welcomed by General Manager, Dick + a welcome drink which really did hit the spot! Overall, the staff was very pleasant, welcoming and helpful.

Umm, though we had mentioned that we are honeymoon couples, we weren't provided any frills :-( ... like a free spa etc. Lol....

The room (Garden + pool) appeared smaller than what is displayed on the web. However, the extended area -- pool, garden, bath -- makes the overall property big! Lot of privacy around the pool and open bath with 7 feet walls + bushes all around.

Apart from private pools, the resort has 2 other pools. You need to get into the black one! Great feeling to be inside it.

The breakfast spread is not something to boast of but it ain't bad either.

About the location -- it seems to be perfect place for honeymoon couples. Choeng Mon is not as commercial as Chaweng, but it has enough restaurants to enjoy a different cuisine daily.

Overall, I would rate this as a very good resort (a little pricey though)

Room Tip: Rooms are not cleaned daily. Hence, choose a room away from the beach. You will avoid sand in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apploader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear signature "apploader",

Thank you very much for posting a positive review on Tripadvisor, and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us !
I am not sure if you hung the "Do not disturb monkey" on your villa door, -but the rooms are cleaned daily, and there is also a daily turndown service, whereby the rooms are cleaned twice per day. With regards to the honeymoon benefits, they apply for reservations of minimum 4 nights. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the Garden Pool Villa, and as with most of our rooms, the focus is more on the outdoor areas with relaxing areas both in the sun and in the shade according to preferences. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have stayed in Sala Samui for 4 nights for our honey moon. It is such a peaceful, relaxing and romantic place that now whenever I feel a bit unhappy or stressed, I dream of the days we have spent there and I chill out. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. They did their best for us to enjoy our honeymoon. They even gave us a honeymoon present (massage in the spa) and it was the massage therapy I have ever had in my life.
The rooms have their own pool and the bath is outside where you have both privacy and open air. The breakfast was like a fest, you can enjoy the open buffet and also order from the menu. It includes both local tastes and international cuisine.
It is totally a perfect experience to be on a tropical island far away home and Sala Samui makes you feel as comfortable as possible in the most elegant way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank İrem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear signature "Irem S"

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor on your recent stay at SALA Samui. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the resort, and we would be delighted to welcoming you back in a near future,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at the Sala Samui on Honeymoon and we loved it! Sala Pool Rooms were a little smaller than it looked online (room and pool), but the service was still great. Hotel is walking distance from one of the strips and a 5-10 minute ride from Fisherman's village. Typically not big on breakfasts, but the breakfast spread was scrumscious! Especially the home made papaya jam! Took a Thai cooking class and had a scrumscious private dinner at the hotel. Would definitely come back again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NadaKharusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear signature " NadaKharusi",

Thank you very much for your positive review ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the resort, -in particular our breakfast. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back in a near future,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Property: SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing