We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sala Samui is AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sala Samui is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Sala Samui during our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The entire staff is genuinely friendly and helpful. We had a few other stops in Thailand but found the service and staff at Sala Samui to be the most outstanding.

We loved having our own plunge pool as it gave us ultimate privacy. The accommodations were also great - the outdoor bathroom was heavenly and everything in the room and bathroom was kept very clean and organized. We really can't say enough about the staff at Sala and how wonderful they were.

The restaurant was great - we had all of our meals here and never felt the need to leave the hotel. The breakfast was consistently good - there were so many options, they certainly had something for everyone! We ordered room service one night but it seemed like the hotel hosted a theme dinner every night that was always very good and some type of entertainment. We did take a cooking class which was good - the chef was really fun/friendly.

The beach was very nice and nicer than other beaches we saw in Koh Samui. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTraveler721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear "TXTraveler721",

Thank you very much for your positive review, and we are happuy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    324
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
261
1,445
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
470 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading so many positive 5-star reviews, my husband and I had very high expectations for Sala Samui, which were sadly not met. We stayed here recently in one of the top level villas. We were met at the airport and taken by private car to the resort. The driver was well presented and friendly enough however he kept making jokes about our surname. This was not funny after 15 minutes. Check-in was efficient however there was some miscommunication about our arrival and we missed our welcome drinks. The lady who checked us in also promised some welcome canapés in our villa but they were not delivered.

Our villa and grounds were nice enough with our own outdoor dining area and 3m x 5m pool. It also provided views of the beach (if you opened the gates). We had the villa that is used in much of the hotel's advertising. The villa building itself was small, the advertised size was 176sqm but this must refer to the entire villa grounds not the building. The villa building (the bedroom and the living area) was only approx. 4m x 8m. The villa was very cramped inside with no place to comfortably put a suitcase. Also the wardrobe/cupboard doors were not able to be opened properly as they hit the back of the bed. Very cramped. (The standard villas must be very small as they are advertised at 106sqm). The bathroom was completely outside. This is a interesting idea in theory however in practise with so many villas squashed onto the resort's grounds it is not a good idea. We could clearly hear our neighbours using their toilets (yes, everything) so I can only assume they could hear the same of us.

We enjoyed a couple treatments at the spa. Although very expensive for Thailand, the treatment costs were around European prices and the treatments themselves were to an excellent standard. The lovely masseuse Aoy gave me one of the best massages that I have had. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a beach massage hut on the edge of the hotel which also gives good massages for a cheap price. Go to the one on the southern side of the hotel.

The villa that we were placed in was in between two villas with young children. Why the reservations staff would put a couple in a villa between villas with toddlers is in explicable. And yes, unfortunately for us we did have to listen to toddler tantrums many times.

The food and beverage service was mixed. The breakfast service was excellent and offered choices too numerous to list here. Just believe me that breakfast was great and exceeded expectations. Dinner however was disappointing. We dined in on two occasions, both times at the beach restaurant. One night we had the seafood BBQ, which was not bad however there seemed to be an issue with the restocking of the seafood. On the other occasion we had a Thai sampler menu which was really disappointing. We asked for the food to be spicy but it simply was not. It really lacked taste. Also some of the sampler dishes were a little undercooked so we did not eat them. I have previously lived in Thailand and I understand Thai food, and sadly what we were served was not up to standard.

The beach bar was great and the happy hours were good value. A special mention about the bar staff as they were always very happy and friendly.

The beach itself was OK. If you walk 50m south of the resort you can enter the water without rock/reef and have a nice swim.

There is a fitness centre located just outside the resort which guests are welcome to use for free. It is pretty soulless (even for a fitness studio) but adequate.

The level of service by the staff was generally very high. The service level dropped on the day that we checked out. We were not delivered the daily paper as per usual and we received a fairly direct phone call at 11.55am telling us to be out of the room by 12 noon. This was completely uncalled for as we had already organised an onward transfer with Sala, so therefore they knew we were leaving the villa at noon anyway!

I would probably not stay here again as I was disappointed with the villa. It was too small and showing its age, especially for the price that we paid. Also the resort layout did not offer a secluded feeling as all the villas were laid out rows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear "runsammie",

Thank you very much for your extensive review, and we have taken very good note of your constructive comments. With regards to the Villa, the measures ( in your case 176 m2), are the surrounding walls, and includes both gardens and the swimming pool. All Villas are beeing completely renovated every 3-4 years, and we also have a program whereby they are "touched up" on an average 2-3 times per year, and the specific villa you where staying in, is due to be completely renovated this year. We are sorry that wee did not meet your expectations, but we would be delighted, and raise to the challenge should you wish to return.

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary for 5 nights at Sala. We were welcomed with a special message on our bed and dessert in the room. Booked the early bird rate so received a couples massage and dinner. I did months worth of research before choosing this resort. We wanted something smaller and more authentic - not like we were at a marriott. I must say the online photos accurately represented the property. We had a private pool villa. The pools gorgeous. The beds were comfortable, the ac good, the food delicious. The drinks outstanding. It is an oasis. We personally enjoyed walking through town and taking taxis to other parts of the island. We only ate dinner 1 night on-site. We walked to the laundry mat. You pick up clothes next day. We only got our couples massage. The beach massages looked great but honestly it was too hot. I hate the heat and humidity but we did not want to come during rainy season. I still enjoyed this trip and we agreed we would stay here again in a heart beat next time!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear "Shannon B",

Thank you very much for your excellent review of SALA Samui, and we are happy that we could live up to your expectations. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We really had the most amazing time at Sala Samui. Their rooms with adjoining private pool were an absolute delight and the service with a smile was an absolute joy.Even the security guards are so nice!
Breakfast overlooking the beach was something to look forward to every day as the choice was endless.
We spent 5 days here at the end of a holiday but when I come back to kogh Samui or indeed any other part of Thailand I shall look at whether I can stay at a Sala !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear "Sara T",

Thank you very much for your excellent review of SALA Samui ! Should you wish to visit any of our other properties, we are present in Phuket, Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Khao Yai, and are opening up in Ayuthaya in August this year. Should you wish to return to SALA Samui, the entire team will be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 weeks at Sala Samui during Dec '13/Jan '14. The service was excellent from all staff. We were upgraded from a garden balcony room (which was pretty large and very comfortable) to a garden pool room which was fantastic. My wife suffered a serious back injury on the footpath in the main road of the town. (Be very careful where you walk at night, as the pavements are pretty dodgy!! My wife fell into an uncovered manhole!!) ). Dick, the hotel manager, and all of the hotel staff, were extremely caring, helpful and considerate during this difficult time. The hotel restaurant was excellent, and the pool/beach staff provided very good service. We can highly recommend this property, and hope to get back there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Garden pool rooms are fantasic. However, if not affordable, the upstairs balcony garden view rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear "Claricky",

Thank you very much for your positive review ! From the entire team we sincerely wish that your wife is fully recovered, and we would be looking forwards to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I chose the Sala Samui for our seven-day honeymoon. We are happy to say that the experience was wonderful! We are experienced travelers and usually take the time to explore the areas we travel, but our goal for our honeymoon was to splurge on a nice resort and completely relax. We loved the pool villa that we booked and admit that we rarely left the resort area as we spent most of our week reading/sleeping/sunbathing in our personal indoor and outdoor space. The resort staff was extremely friendly and we felt like they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. The breakfasts were particularly loved - there was a lot of selection and an assortment of healthy fruit juices, coffees, Bloody Marys, etc... we were very happy with the start to each day. We will definitely return and highly recommend the Sala Samui to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islasadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear "Islasadat",

Thank you very much for taking the time tom post a positive review of SALA Samui, and for recommending us. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is heaven on earth. We were on our honeymoon and the staff did everything possible to make it the most amazing experience.

Upon arrival the staff were polite, friendly and informative. We had an ice cold welcome drink waiting for us (much needed, it was HOT!) and they gave my new husband a bouquet of a dozen red roses to give to me. Such a thoughtful thing to do!

We had a garden villa with private pool and it was beautiful, bed was ridiculously comfortable, pool was deep and clean, garden was gorgeous, with jasmine and frangipani (it smelt amazing) and the shower was a huge rain shower, so lovely and refreshing.

The breakfasts were delicious, and the smoothies were yummy (and I don't even like fruit). Also, the girls were absolutely delightful, so friendly and genuinely seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Nothing was too much trouble.

The beach was stunning, the service impeccable (towels, complimentary iced water with frequent refills and slices of cool watermelon brought over without even having to ask!). Sand was combed everyday so was always clean and soft.

The spa was very nice and relaxing, although quite pricey. We did have a few massages at the hotel, but once we were done wanting luxurious couples massages, we went out of the resort and there are about twelve different massage places that are very cheap so if you can always go there.

The hotel organised a few tours for us, we did the 4 hour island tour which was well worth doing. The driver (Sala Samui employee) had cold drinks and cool kaffir lime infused towels waiting for us in a cool box which he offered whenever we got back in the car. May not sound like much but it was boiling and this attention to detail and consideration to guests is what makes Sala Samui so unique.

Speaking of attention to detail, the handwritten personalised notes from the chef along with freshly made traditional Thai sweets delivered every night were a wonderful touch. Made us smile whenever we got back to the room and saw them waiting for us :)

I could go on and on but to sum up this place is AMAZING!! Thank you everyone at the Sala Samui, we had a perfect honeymoon :)

Room Tip: We were considering the pool villa but couldn't see a huge difference between the pool and garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug110705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear "travelbug110507",

Thank you very much for choosing SALA Samui as your honeymoon destination. We are genuinely happy to read that you fully enjoyed your stay, and that the resort lived up to your expectations. On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back in a near future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Property: SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, Destinology, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing