We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect honeymoon - faultless service and our own private paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon - faultless service and our own private paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our first time in Koh Samui for our honeymoon, and we hardly ever left the resort - it was AMAZING! Far better than we had imagined, and just sheer luxury. The service was faultless, the facilities in fantastic condition and well looked after. Being on our honeymoon, the bed was presented beautifully, we were given roses, champagne and some fresh fruit on our first night. Service is fantastic but also unobtrusive, and the pillows were AMAZING!
Breakfast... OH MY GOSH breakfast was definitely my favourite part of the day - a whole 4 hours of all you can eat with exceptional choice including menu and buffet style with a smoothie and omelet bar as well. We stayed in the SALA pool villa, and it was so beautiful, we rarely even left our villa. My husband and I will definitely be back!!

The only exception, is make sure you bring your own conditioner with you as the one provided didn't seem to do much at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,680
    330
    76
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
1,458
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Spent five days at the Sala mid May as a family of three in a Balcony Deluxe Room.
The hotel is located at Choeng Mon Beach which is set very nicely yet not the cleanest of Samui's beaches. The adjacent hotels are middle class and slightly run down.
The Sala itself is a very good resort attracting mostly (honeymoon) couples and families with younger children. The resort is well maintained, our room appeared a bit dated though.
There are two pools, one fun pool and one lap pool serviced by friendly and attentive staff. The beach is public and a bit dirty at times, service is great here as well.
The Sala has two restaurants, one at the pool/beach serving breakfast, lunch and dinner and one Italian restaurant at the hotel entrance that we did not visit.
Breakfast buffet is very extensive with daily specials and a juice/smoothie bar, it does not reach the highs of Six Senses Samui though.
Lunches and dinners are of very high standard and priced well, both the Thai as well as the Western dishes. Service is impeccable.
What we did not like was the area surrounding the hotel. Upon leaving the hotel you look at a derelict building site and a strip of closed down shops. Walking a few meters to the Choeng Mon main strip offers somewhat of an improvement but no real highlights. We recommend taking a cab (there are some right in front of reception) and driving to Chaweng or Bophut's Fisherman's Village for those in need of some shopping/bar hopping or beach restaurants.

Room Tip: The resort is quite small, so all rooms are fairly close to the beach and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrandMrsB_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We spent five nights in the Sala Pool Villa for our honeymoon and Sala Samui surpassed our expectations. From the moment we checked in we were greeted warmly and shown to our room straightaway even though we got there a few hours before check in.

Our pool villa was absolutely stunning from our first impression. We were offered a choice of pillow, soap and body lotion which was a lovely touch. Only an hour after settling in our door bell rang and we were sent a complimentary bottle of sparkling and chocolates for our honeymoon.

Our daily breakfast was a real treat with the option to order of an a la carte as well as the full buffet. They have a wonderful smoothie bar and on Sunday they have sparkling wine available on Sunday. Such a special touch! We ate lunch in the restaurant and in our room on most days and the menu is fantastic. Lots of choices and the caprese salad was my personal favourite. The fresh seafood BBQ on Friday night was incredible. The prices were no more expensive than the fishermans village but the quality was outstanding.

We had a great herbal massage and Asian combination massage, which while more expensive than beach vendors, the serenity and professionalism of the spa was unbeatable. We took advantage of the 2 for 1 offer and got two 90 minutes massages for about $115 AUD.

Sala is full of special touches, like every night a treat and a note was left on our bed for us to enjoy. The staff also untuck the sheets, put on the outdoor lights and light the mosquito coil. All of the staff are absolutely incredible even the security guards say hello whenever you pass them. The restaurant staff were always too happy to chat and ask what your plans were for the day.

Sala Samui will always hold a special place in our hearts as the most incredible hotel on our honeymoon. The only tiny thing I would criticise is that the shampoo and conditioner is very average and with a pool villa I needed to wash my hair everyday and it didn't live up to the five star standard. But only the smallest criticism.

I would recommend Sala to all our family, friends and travellers who want a stunning hotel with exceptional service. The only bad thing is we now have extremely high expectations of hotels in the future thanks to Sala!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PixieRose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our first trip to Koh Samui, and Sala Samui truly made it a memorable one. The resort was AMAZING - the view, the resort itself, the room, the service, and the staffs. We stayed at the Garden Pool Villa. It was beautiful, spacious, and romantic. We stayed for 5 days/4 nights and wished we would never have to leave. Sala Samui made us wanting to come back, and we are planning to do so!!!

From airport - 10 mins car ride.

Sightseeing - Can easily order taxi from the resort for reasonable rate.

Massage - Resort offers massage near the pool. Or if you are cheap like us, walk 5 feet out to the beach and you'll find locals providing good quality massages right on the beach.

Food - We only had breakfast at the resort, and it was simply amazing!!! Buffet stations offer both eastern and western cusines, juice station makes fresh drinks upon order, or you can choose from the a la carte chef's menu. The resort does offer different themes each night for dinner. Unfortunately we didn't get to join the Thursday Thai Night due to the storm.... There are also several local restaurants outside of the resort.

Stores - There are three convenient stores (2 Familymart & 1 7-11) located outside of the resort on the main street. There's also a pharmacy nearby on the street. Also make sure to check out the resort gift shop. The lady is very friendly and the gifts are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Garden Pool Villa is quite spacious enough for us. It has a King size bed, outdoor pool (6 feet dee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in a garden pool villa in Sala Samui Resort. It was more than fantastic for a honeymoon. Worth every penny spent there. Exotic, romantic, just gorgeous. I just wish we could have stayed more.
We were welcomed by a bouquet of red roses, a fully decorated room and a bottle of premium champagne along with chocolates. The room was awesome, the nature in the resort was beyond words can describe. We had our breakfast by the beach, delicious food extremely generous. The pools and the sea were stunning. Friendly staff, attentive to details. It was just a paradise, a dream coming true!

Room Tip: Just go for the garden pool villa. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaMghabghab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in a garden pool villa for 6 nights...we just wish it was for longer! It is definitely worth getting a room with a private pool - although the main pools are lovely, it's nice to have the option to just sit in your own garden relaxing. Our room had an outside bathroom which we loved, great novelty - you are not overlooked - only problem was a few ghecko's in the evening - but they soon run off when you put the light on.

We were on honeymoon and out of the 3 places we stayed in Thailand, Sala Samui gave us the best honeymoon 'perks'. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the grounds are well looked after and presented, and the buffet breakfast is lovely.

The restaurant has some nice food, but is expensive compared to eating out in town.

We would absolutely stay here again and recommend it - we felt so relaxed having spent a week here.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHSM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We are just about to leave after 5 fantastic nights in a pool villa at Sala Samui. The staff are so friendly and incredibly professional, discreet and yet attentive. Our pool villa was second to none the main pool areas just stunning and the food was spectacular. There are no downsides to this hotel! The spa was also very good, more expensive than in the town but still half the price of London prices. Very sad to leave!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Mon
4.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
11.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Property: SALA Samui Resort And Spa
Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing